Anglesey Stakes

The Anglesey Stakes is a two-year-old thoroughbred flat horse race in Ireland.

The Anglesey Stakes takes place on Saturday 22nd July 2023.

Every year in July, it is run at the curragh over a distance of 6 furlongs and 63 yards.

Find out more about the Anglesey Stakes:

Anglesey Stakes

Anglesey Stakes 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Anglesey Stakes in July 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Anglesey Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Anglesey Stakes in July 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Later in the year, some of the horses in the Anglesey Stakes will compete in other races. Keep up with the horses and, if you want to bet on them, place ante-post bets.

Anglesey Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
1976ReadjustDenis LetherbyPaddy Prendergast, Jr.
1977SolinusTommy MurphyVincent O'Brien
1978Dickens HillWally SwinburnMick O'Toole
1979Snapper PointTony MurrayAdrian Maxwell
1980Storm BirdTommy MurphyVincent O'Brien1:20.70
1981Dara MonarchMark DwyerLiam Browne
1982CaerleonPat EdderyVincent O'Brien1:18.80
1983Gala EventKevin MosesTed Curtin
1984Law SocietyPat EdderyVincent O'Brien1:18.20
1985WoodmanPat EdderyVincent O'Brien1:19.30
1986Island Reef [a]Kevin MosesKevin Prendergast
1987Lake ComoCash AsmussenVincent O'Brien1:17.80
1988Corwyn BayStephen CraineTommy Stack1:19.20
1989Single CombatStephen CraineTommy Stack1:17.30
1990MalvernicoChristy RocheJim Bolger1:15.60
1991St JoviteChristy RocheJim Bolger1:15.40
1992BasimChristy RocheJim Bolger1:18.60
1993KerakaMichael KinaneJohn Oxx1:18.60
1994Smart GuestMichael FentonMichael Bell1:19.80
1995WoodboroughJohn ReidPeter Chapple-Hyam1:15.00
1996Air of DistinctionSeamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien1:18.00
1997Lady AlexanderPat ShanahanCon Collins1:15.10
1998NamidJohnny MurtaghJohn Oxx1:19.30
1999RossiniMichael KinaneAidan O'Brien1:16.60
2000Pan Jammer [b]Johnny MurtaghMick Channon1:17.50
2001JohannesburgMichael KinaneAidan O'Brien1:16.80
2002OntarioMichael KinaneAidan O'Brien1:20.70
2003One Cool CatMichael KinaneAidan O'Brien1:17.80
2004OratorioSeamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien1:15.70
2005AmigoniKieren FallonAidan O'Brien1:15.50
2006Regional CounselDeclan McDonoghKevin Prendergast1:16.80
2007MyboycharlieWayne LordanTommy Stack1:21.73
2008BushrangerWayne LordanDavid Wachman1:17.60
2009Walk on ByeWayne LordanTommy Stack1:20.82
2010Dunboyne Express [c]Declan McDonoghKevin Prendergast1:18.97
2011Fire LilyWayne LordanDavid Wachman1:15.81
2012GrafelliKevin ManningJim Bolger1:21.74
2013Wilshire BoulevardSeamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien1:15.78
2014Dick WhittingtonJoseph O'BrienAidan O'Brien1:15.33
2015Final FrontierShane FoleyJessica Harrington1:17.02
2016Peace EnvoyRyan MooreAidan O'Brien1:17.13
2017ActressSeamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien1:14.26
2018Marie's DiamondJames DoyleMark Johnston1:15.27
2019Roman TurboRonan WhelanMichael Halford1:16.79
2020A Case of You[d]Gary CarrollJohn McConnell1:22.14
2021Beauty InspireColin KeaneGer Lyons1:18.33
2022Little Big BearRyan MooreAidan O'Brien1:17.82

What Happened In The Previous Anglesey Stakes

Summary of Anglesey Stakes

Thank you for reading our Anglesey Stakes guide.

Check out our guides to all the other Irish Group 3 horse races.

Popular Questions

Where is the Anglesey Stakes held?

The Anglesey Stakes is held at the Curragh Racecourse.

Related July Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.