Betfair Hurdle

Horses must be four years old or older to compete in the Grade 3 National Hunt hurdle race known as the Betfair Hurdle in Great Britain.

There are eight hurdles to clear during the race, which is conducted at Newbury over a distance of around 2 miles and a half (2 miles and 69 yards, or 3,282 metres).

It will take place in February every year and is a handicap race. There are currently a maximum of 24 racers in the field.

Find out more about the Betfair Hurdle:

Betfair Hurdle

Betfair Hurdle Odds

The Betfair Hurdle odds are listed below:

The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Betfair Hurdle Tips

The Betfair Hurdle tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Betfair Hurdle horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Betfair Hurdle Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2013 My Tent Or Yours 6 Tony McCoy Nicky Henderson
2014 Splash of Ginge 6 Ryan Hatch Nigel Twiston-Davies
2015 Violet Dancer 5 Josh Moore Gary Moore
2016 Agrapart 5 Lizzie Kelly Nick Williams
2017 Ballyandy 6 Sam Twiston-Davies Nigel Twiston-Davies
2018 Kalashnikov 5 Jack Quinlan Amy Murphy
2019 Al Dancer[f] 6 Sam Twiston-Davies Nigel Twiston-Davies
2020 Pic D’Orhy 5 Harry Cobden Paul Nicholls
2021 Soaring Glory 6 Jonjo O’Neill Jr Jonjo O’Neill
2022 Glory and Fortune 7 Stan Sheppard Tom Lacey

Betfair Hurdle 2022 Result

Facts about the Betfair Hurdle

  • The Betfair Hurdle is a Grade 3 National Hunt hurdle race in Great Britain open to horses aged four years or older.
  • It is run at Newbury over a distance of 2 miles and half a furlong; during its running, there are eight hurdles to be jumped.
  • The race is scheduled to take place each year in February.
  • The Betfair Hurdle was first to run in 1963.
  • The race was given its present title in 2004 when online betting company Betfair agreed to sponsor it.

Summary of the Betfair Hurdle

Thank you for checking out this Betfair Hurdle guide.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.