Chester Stakes

In Great Britain, horses must be three years old or older to compete in the Listed Chester Stakes flat horse race.

It is planned to take place every year in late August or early September at Chester Racecourse over a distance of 1 mile, 6 furlongs, and 87 yards (2,896 metres). It was run at a handicap until 2018.

Check out other listed UK horse races.

Chester Stakes 2023 Odds

The odds for the Chester Stakes are listed below:

These odds have not yet been released.

Chester Stakes Tips

The Chester Stakes tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Chester Stakes horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Chester Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Weight Jockey Trainer Time
1988Sudden Victory49-05Michael HillsBarry Hills3:5.25
1989Nemesia48-13Willie CarsonDick Hern2:54.00
1990Tarikhana38-01Paul EdderyMichael Stoute2:56.19
1991Arcadian Heights38-06Walter SwinburnGeoff Wragg2:49.84
1992Jahafil49-07Willie CarsonDick Hern2:53.63
1993Nassma38-03Willie RyanJames Fanshawe2:56.77
1994Sadler's Image38-07Paul EdderyMichael Stoute2:55.42
1995Source Of Light69-07David HarrisonRoger Charlton2:54.40
1996Royal Scimitar48-12Richard QuinnPaul Cole2:56.80
1997Further Flight119-01Michael HillsBarry Hills3:07.09
1998Invermark48-07Richard HughesJames Fanshawe3:00.90
1999Salmon Ladder78-10Kieren FallonPaul Cole2:57.34
2000Zaajer49-07Richard HillsEd Dunlop2:53.79
2001Flossy58-07Robert WinstonChris Thornton2:55.04
2002Supremacy38-06Kieren FallonMichael Stoute2:51.83
2003Compton Bolter69-09Eddie AhernGerard Butler2:48.98
2004Swift Tango49-00Paul HanaganEd Dunlop3:09.33
2005Jagger59-07Darryll HollandGerard Butler2:51.81
2006New Guinea38-00M HenryMichael Jarvis2:55.07
2007Bauer49-03Eddie AhernLuca Cumani2:52.71
2008Red Gala59-09R MullenMichael Stoute2:49.90
2009Munsef79-08Eddie AhernIan Williams2:51.70
2010Lady Eclair48-12Joe FanningMark Johnston3:01.81
2011Berling48-13Phillip MakinJohn Dunlop2:48.77
2012Tominator59-00Graham GibbonsReg Hollinshead2:54.34
2013Sun Central49-11Seb SandersWilliam Haggas2:54.75
2014Big Orange38-07Tom QueallyMichael Bell2:57.31
2015Gabrial's King69-01George ChalonerRichard Fahey2:50.20
2016Muntahaa39-00Graham LeeJohn Gosden2:50.89
2017My Reward59-05David AllanTim Easterby2:54.02

What Happened In The Previous Chester Stakes


Thank you for reading our Chester Stakes guide.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.