City Walls Stakes

The City Walls Stakes is a Listed flat horse event held in the United Kingdom for horses aged three and up.

The City Walls Stakes takes place on Saturday 15th July 2023.

It is held every year in July in York over a distance of 5 furlongs (1,006 metres).

Find out more about the City Walls Stakes:

City Walls Stakes 2023 Odds

The City Walls Stakes odds are listed below:

  • These odds have not yet been released.

City Walls Stakes Tips

Our City Walls Stakes tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Horses in the City Walls Stakes will run in other races later in the year. Look out for the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager.

What Happened In The Previous City Walls Stakes

City Walls Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1993Stack Rock6Kieren FallonEric Alston1:03.41
1994Ya Malak3Alan MunroJames Payne1:01.17
1995Ziggy's Dancer4S D WilliamsEric Alston1:01.86
1996Lucky Parkes6John CarrollJack Berry0:59.93
1997Tedburrow5D GriffithsEric Alston0:59.93
1998Tedburrow6Willie SuppleEric Alston0:59.56
1999Tedburrow7John EganEric Alston1:00.13
2000Indian Spark6Tony CulhaneJim Goldie1:00.72
2001Danehurst3Seb SandersSir Mark Prescott0:59.86
2002Bishops Court8Joe FanningLynda Ramsden0:59.42
2003Bishops Court9P FesseyLynda Ramsden0:59.84
2004Fire Up The Band5Adrian NichollsDavid Nicholls0:59.74
2005Tournedos3S WhitworthJohn Akehurst0:59.24
2006Tournedos4Tony CulhaneRoger Charlton1:00.61
2007Our Little Secret5Liam KeniryAlan Berry1:02.53
2008Green Manalishi7Eddie AhernKevin Ryan1:00.87
2009Borderlescott7Pat CosgraveRobin Bastiman1:00.30
2010Blue Jack5Richard KingscoteTom Dascombe1:00.21
2011Masamah5Philip MakinKevin Ryan0:58.37
2012Hamish McGonagall7David AllanTim Easterby0:59.41
2013Jwala4Steve DrowneRobert Cowell0:58.12
2014Take Cover7Andrea AtzeniDavid Griffiths0:56.35
2015Out Do6Phillip MakinDavid O'Meara0:58.00
2016Marsha3Luke MorrisSir Mark Prescott0:56.35
2017Take Cover10David AllanDavid Griffiths0:57.26
2018Mr Lupton5Jack GarrittyRichard Fahey0:57.54
2019Copper Knight5David AllanTim Easterby0:58.16
2020Moss Gill4Daniel TudhopeJames Bethell0:58.12
2021Winter Power3David AllanTim Easterby0:58.12
2022Royal Aclaim3Andrea AtzeniJames Tate0:57.72

Summary of the City Walls Stakes

Thank you for reading our City Walls Stakes guide.

Check out our other listed horse races.

Popular Questions

Where is the City Walls Stakes held?

The City Walls Stakes is held at York Racecourse.

Related July Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.