Denford Stakes

In Great Britain, two-year-old horses can compete in the Listed Denford Stakes flat horse race. It is planned to take place every August at Newbury over a distance of 7 furlongs (1,408 metres).

The Denford Stakes takes place on Saturday 19th August 2023.

Check out other listed horse races here.

Find out more about the Denford Stakes:

Denford Stakes 2023 Odds

The odds for the Denford Stakes are listed below:

1.55 Newbury (Race 2) - BOG
  • Date: Saturday 13th of August 2022
  • Time: 13:55
  • Details: 5 Runners Flat Flat 0m 7f 0y
2 Victory Dance
5 Ferrari Queen
3 Candle Of Hope
1 Bluelight Bay
4 Cite D'Or

Denford Stakes Tips 2023

The Denford Stakes tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Denford Stakes horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Denford Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
1986Deputy GovernorTony IvesLester Piggott1:28.13
1987EmmsonWillie CarsonDick Hern1:29.43
1988Zalazl [a]Steve CauthenHenry Cecil1:30.29
1989Karinga BayBrian RouseDenys Smith1:30.57
1990Heart of DarknessSteve CauthenIan Balding1:30.41
1991Rodrigo de TrianoPaul EdderyPeter Chapple-Hyam1:26.59
1992TenbyPat EdderyHenry Cecil1:28.59
1993Colonel CollinsPat EdderyPeter Chapple-Hyam1:26.01
1994LammtarraWalter SwinburnAlex Scott1:28.26
1995MonsJason WeaverLuca Cumani1:26.87
1996State FairMichael HillsBarry Hills1:27.74
1997BahrMichael HillsBarry Hills1:24.81
1998Valentine GirlRichard HillsBarry Hills1:28.97
1999Mana-Mou BayRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:27.22
2000PrizemanRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:24.94
2001Funfair WaneSteve DrowneMick Channon1:25.50
2002MuqbilRichard HillsJohn Dunlop1:26.61
2003HaafhdRichard HillsBarry Hills1:23.04
2004Kings QuayRyan MooreRichard Hannon Sr.1:28.46
2005Innocent AirRichard HughesJohn Gosden1:25.47
2006Dubai's TouchJoe FanningMark Johnston1:28.34
2007Sharp NephewFrankie DettoriBrian Meehan1:26.53
2008Cry of FreedomFrankie DettoriMark Johnston1:27.67
2009AzmeelRyan MooreJohn Gosden1:25.90
2010JanoodFrankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor1:28.82
2011FencingWilliam BuickJohn Gosden1:26.44
2012Just The JudgeMichael HillsCharles Hills1:26.23
2013SomewhatGérald MosséMark Johnston1:25.57
2014BelardoAndrea AtzeniRoger Varian1:28.47
2015Epsom IconGraham LeeMick Channon1:30.68
2016EscobarFrankie DettoriHugo Palmer1:26.17
2017Hey GamanMartin HarleyJames Tate1:28.79
2018BoitronSilvestre de SousaRichard Hannon Jr.1:26.19
2019ThunderousFranny NortonMark Johnston1:30.07
2020Saint LawrenceAndrea AtzeniRoger Varian1:27.36
2021MasekelaWilliam BuickAndrew Balding1:26.57
2022Victory DanceWilliam BuickCharlie Appleby1:25.27

What Happened In The 2023 Denford Stakes

Summary of the Denford Stakes

Thank you for reading our Denford Stakes guide.

Popular Questions

Where is the Denford Stakes held?

The Denford Stakes is held at Newbury Racecourse.

Related August Articles


James Dooley is a UK entrepreneur who founded British Racecourses because of his love for horse racing. James owns 14 racehorses through Dooley Thoroughbreds, so he understands all aspects of horse racing, from wagering bets, and booking jockeys to sourcing the best horse racing trainers. James Dooley's connections give him inside information on horse racing tips and best chances of a winner.