Desmond Stakes

The Desmond Stakes is an Irish Group 3 flat horse race for three-year-old thoroughbreds.

It takes place every year in August at Leopardstown over a one-mile course.

Check out our guides to all the other Irish Group 3 horse races.

Find out more about the Desmond Stakes:

Desmond Stakes

Desmond Stakes Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Desmond Stakes in August 2023:

7.20 Leopardstown (Race 5) - BOG
  • Date: Thursday 14th of July 2022
  • Time: 19:20
  • Details: 6 Runners Flat Flat 1m 1f 0y
2 Georgeville
4 Boundless Ocean
6 Trevaunance
1 Bear Story
3 Patrick Sarsfield
5 Howth

Desmond Stakes Tips 2023

Here are some tips for Desmond Stakes in August 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Several horses in the Desmond Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Desmond Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1976Niebo3Lester PiggottVincent O'Brien
1977Be My Guest3Tommy MurphyVincent O'Brien1:40.80
1978More So3Christy RochePaddy Prendergast
1979Spence Bay4Tony MurraySeamus McGrath
1980My Hollow5Declan GillespieJim Bolger
1981Belted Earl3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien
1982Anfield3Christy RocheDavid O'Brien
1983Erins Hope4Declan GillespieJim Bolger
1984Teleprompter4Christy RocheBill Watts
1985Sunstart3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien
1986Wise Counsellor3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien1:40.70
1987Entitled3Cash AsmussenVincent O'Brien1:37.30
1988Totem3Christy RocheDavid O'Brien1:49.00
1989Llyn Gwynant4Declan GillespieJohn Dunlop1:34.30
1990Kostroma4Stephen CraineTommy Stack1:37.30
1991Star of Gdansk3Christy RocheJim Bolger1:36.30
1992Via Borghese3Willie CarsonVincent O'Brien1:41.00
1993Asema3Michael KinaneDermot Weld1:46.20
1994Bin Ajwaad [a]4Lester PiggottBen Hanbury1:36.40
1995Mr Martini [b]5Brett DoyleClive Brittain1:37.10
1996Idris6Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:38.40
1997Swift Gulliver3Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:38.80
1998Second Empire3Christy RocheAidan O'Brien1:35.60
1999Haami4John ReidJohn Dunlop1:40.40
2000Golden Silca4Johnny MurtaghMick Channon1:41.70
2001Hawkeye3Michael KinaneAidan O'Brien1:45.20
2002Dress to Thrill3Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:38.80
2003Refuse to Bend3Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:37.30
2004Ace3Jamie SpencerAidan O'Brien1:37.30
2005Caradak4Michael KinaneJohn Oxx1:38.30
2006King Jock5Pat ShanahanRobbie Osborne1:40.80
2007She's Our Mark3Danny GrantPat Flynn1:42.69
2008Carribean Sunset3Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:44.32
2009Famous Name4Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:42.79
2010Beethoven3Joseph O'BrienAidan O'Brien1:39.52
2011Future Generation3Keagan LathamGer Lyons1:39.91
2012Duntle3Wayne LordanDavid Wachman1:46.26
2013Gordon Lord Byron5Johnny MurtaghTom Hogan1:38.74
2014Custom Cut5Daniel TudhopeDavid O'Meara1:43.10
2015Cougar Mountain4Joseph O'BrienAidan O'Brien1:41.87
2016Tribal Beat3Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:41.90
2017Alexios Komnenos3Chris HayesFozzy Stack1:43.98
2018Pincheck4Colm O'DonoghueJessica Harrington1:41.36
2019Madhmoon3Chris HayesKevin Prendergast1:42.01
2020Royal Dornoch3Seamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien1:41.86
2021Create Belief3Shane KellyJohnny Murtagh1:43.92
2022Boundless Ocean3Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:42.14

Desmond Stakes 2023 Result

Summary of Desmond Stakes

Thank you for reading our Desmond Stakes guide, we hope you enjoyed it.

Popular Questions

Where is the Desmond Stakes held?

The Desmond Stakes is held at Leopardstown Racecourse.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.