Dubai World Cup

Dubai World Cup horse race is an annual race held at the Meydan (means where people meet and compete in Arabic) Racecourse in Dubai, the United Arab Emirates, on the last Saturday of every March. The race is among many controlled by the Emirates Racing Authority (ERA), which is led by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the minister of presidential affairs in UAE. Dubai world cup horse racing consists of a total of nine races, one being the Purebred Arabian contest, and the other eight are mainly for Thoroughbred horse race contests. The race was started in 1996 by Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (The Prime Minister of United Arab Emirates), the owner of Godolphin Racing and Darley Stud breeding and racing operations. Dubai world cup racing event is considered the richest horse race on the planet with a whopping 12 million dollars. The first-ever winner of the Dubai World Cup horse race in 1996 was a thoroughbred owned by Allen Paulson called Cigar.

The Most Successful Horse

Thundersnow is the most decorated horse ever to grace the Dubai World Cup horse racing event. Thundersnow has won this cup twice, in the year 2018, setting a record on dirt while at it and in 2019. Thundersnow owned by Godolphin, one of the operations of the Ruler of Dubai. Sired by Helmet, the Colt was Irish-bred thoroughbred racehorse. Previous to Dubai World Cup double, he had won at the Criterium International in France, UAE 2000 Guineas and Kentucky Derby, United States. At four years old, trained by Saeed bin Suroor and rode by Christophe Soumillon, he conquered the Dubai world cup in 2018. In 2019 trained and toured by the same crew that won it in 2018, he went into history as the only horse to ever win the richest horse race on the planet, not once but twice.

The Leading Jockey

Jerry Bailey, a retired American Hall of Fame jockey and now an NBC sports analyst, holds have the most wins ever Dubai world cup. Born in Dallas and El Paso, he is considered by many as one of the best jockeys ever to grace the horse racing world. With a total of about 6000 wins, he seems to have won it all. Apart from being the leading jockey in Dubai World Cup with four wins, he has won other major horse races, including six wins at the Jaipur Stakes, 15 wins at the Breeders Cup, and six wins at the American Classics and many more. In 1996 he was the inaugural winner of the Dubai World Cup with the Cigar, followed by Singspiel in 1997. In 2001 he won the cup again with Captain Steve, a us-trained horse. And finally, in 2002, he won it with Street cry trained in by Saeed bin Suroor.

The Leading Trainer

Saeed bin Suroor is Dubai based horse trainer currently employed by Godolphin operations. Saeed has been crowned the British Champion Trainer of the year four times. He is the best trainer with the most winning horses ever in the Dubai World Cup horse race event. He has bagged a record-breaking total of nine wins in Dubai World Cup horse race, the most recent being a double in 2018 and 2019, where he trained Thundersnow to victory in 2019. In 2015 he taught Prince Bishop rode by William Buck to the world cup title. For four consecutive years starting in 1999 through to 2003, he trained Almutawakl, Dubai Millennium, Street Cry, and Moon Ballad to glory at the racehorse event. Finally, in 2006 and 2014, he trained The Electrocutionist and African Story to victory at the Mayden Racecourse.
Since its inaugural Dubai Millennium holds the record of the fastest horse ever in Dubai of 1:59:50, which he set at the Nad AL Sheba Racecourse in 2000, the leading owner with the highest number of wins is the Godolphin Racing ranging from 2000 to 2019. Dubai World Cup Horse race was the fast ever horse racing event to be aired live on national television in the United States in 2006. In 2019 Dubai World Cup horse race became the richest horse race in the world after overtaking Pegasus World Cup, which was the richest in 2017 and 2018.

Other horse racing betting events

Our team has reviewed all the latest betting events for July 2020. Check out our other posts: