Esher Cup

The Esher Cup is a three-year-old flat handicap horse event held in the United Kingdom. It is held each year in May at Sandown Park with a distance of 1 mile (1,609 metres).

Check out our guides to all the other UK Premier Handicap horse races.

Esher Cup Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Esher Cup in May 2022:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Esher Cup Tips

Here are some tips for Esher Cup in May 2022:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses participating in the Esher Cup will be spotted in other races throughout the year. Make sure to keep an eye on the horses to see how they perform or place your bets on ante-post betting.

2021 Preview

Naamoos (FR) made all to win in an eventful race.

Rifleman (IRE) went 2nd and switched left over 1f out, ridden and staying on the same pace when veered sharply left and unseated rider inside final furlong

Naamoos was left clear inside the final furlong after unseating the jockey Ryan Moore.

In 2021 there were 9 runners who competed on Good to Firm ground conditions.

The Bet365 Esher Cup Handicap (Class 2) is run on Turf for 3 years old.

The winner of the Bet365 Esher Cup Handicap collected £9,793.

Previous Winners

Here is a list of the previous winners of the Esher Cup flat handicap horse racing event:

  • 2010 Fallen Idol
  • 2011 Tazahum
  • 2012 Grey Mirage
  • 2013 Haafaguinea
  • 2014 What About Carlo
  • 2015 Mutarakez
  • 2016 Czabo
  • 2017 Atty Persse
  • 2018 Merlin Magic
  • 2019 Masaru
  • 2020 No Race
  • 2021 Naamoos

Esher Cup Previous Winners

Trainer Statistics

In the last two decades, John Gosden is the leading trainer as has won the Esher Cup twice.

The two John Gosden winners include Racketeer in 2009 and Fallen Idol in 2010.

  • John Gosden 2
  • Mark Johnston 1
  • Richard Hannon 1
  • Mick Channon 1
  • Roger Charlton 1
  • Clive Cox 1
  • David Elsworth 1
  • Sir Michael Stoute 1
  • Brian Meehan 1
  • J S Moore 1

Jockey Statistics

In the last two decades of the Esher Cup at Sandown Park Racecourse Silvestre De Sousa has won the horse racing event three times.

Ryan Moore is close behind on the jockey statistics with two wins of the Esher Cup.

  • Silvestre De Sousa 3
  • Ryan Moore 2
  • Martin Dwyer 1
  • William Buick 1
  • Frankie Dettori 1
  • James Doyle 1
  • Adam Kirby 1
  • Ben Curtis 1
  • Nicky Mackay 1

Summary of Esher Cup

The esher cup handicap class race is also known as the bet365 esher cup handicap race at Sandown in great britain.

Last year was eventful with the leading jockey inside final furlong left clear as the horse in second veered sharply left and unseated rider.

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.