Geoffrey Freer Stakes

The Geoffrey Freer Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse race for horses aged three and up conducted in the United Kingdom. Every year in August, it is run over a distance of 1 mile, 5 furlongs, and 61 yards at Newbury.

The Geoffrey Freer Stakes is held on Saturday 19th August 2023.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races.

Find out more about the Geoffrey Freer Stakes:

Geoffrey Freer Stakes

Geoffrey Freer Stakes Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Geoffrey Freer Stakes in August 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Geoffrey Freer Stakes Tips 2023

Here are some tips for Geoffrey Freer Stakes in August 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the Geoffrey Freer Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Geoffrey Freer Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1979Niniski3Willie CarsonDick Hern2:53.35
1980Nicholas Bill5Philip WaldronHenry Candy3:01.60
1981Ardross5Lester PiggottHenry Cecil3:04.40
1982Ardross6Lester PiggottHenry Cecil2:54.20
1983Khairpour4John ReidFulke Johnson Houghton2:52.60
1984Baynoun3Steve CauthenFulke Johnson Houghton2:55.60
1985Shernazar4Walter SwinburnMichael Stoute
1986Bakharoff3Willie CarsonGuy Harwood2:50.82
1987Moon Madness4Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop2:47.16
1988Top Class3Michael RobertsClive Brittain2:54.57
1989Ibn Bey5Richard QuinnPaul Cole2:50.62
1990Charmer5Frankie DettoriClive Brittain2:55.24
1991Drum Taps5Frankie DettoriLord Huntingdon2:45.16
1992Shambo5Michael RobertsClive Brittain3:01.98
1993Azzilfi3Willie CarsonJohn Dunlop2:56.75
1994Red Route3Willie RyanHenry Cecil2:50.38
1995Presenting3John ReidJohn Gosden2:47.43
1996Phantom Gold4Frankie DettoriLord Huntingdon2:46.18
1997Dushyantor4Kieren FallonHenry Cecil2:55.33
1998Multicoloured5Willie RyanSir Michael Stoute2:49.61
1999Silver Patriarch5Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop2:50.62
2000Murghem5Darryll HollandMark Johnston2:50.24
2001Mr Combustible3Michael HillsBarry Hills2:46.36
2002Mubtaker5Richard HillsMarcus Tregoning2:45.46
2003Mubtaker6Richard HillsMarcus Tregoning2:47.76
2004Mubtaker7Richard HillsMarcus Tregoning2:50.69
2005Lochbuie4John EganGeoff Wragg2:51.97
2006Admiral's Cruise4Ryan MooreBrian Meehan2:52.42
2007Papal Bull4Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute2:53.89
2008Sixties Icon5Johnny MurtaghJeremy Noseda2:51.55
2009Kite Wood3Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor2:48.87
2010Sans Frontieres4Johnny MurtaghJeremy Noseda2:52.22
2011Census3Richard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.2:48.46
2012Mount Athos5Ryan MooreLuca Cumani2:49.20
2013Royal Empire4Kieren FallonSaeed bin Suroor2:50.43
2014Seismos6Martin HarleyMarco Botti2:54.77
2015Agent Murphy4Jimmy FortuneBrian Meehan2:54.39
2016Kings Fete5Pat SmullenSir Michael Stoute2:52.97
2017Defoe3Andrea AtzeniRoger Varian2:51.50
2018Hamada4James DoyleCharlie Appleby2:51.63
2019Technician3Rob HornbyMartyn Meade2:55.70
2020Hukum3Jim CrowleyOwen Burrows2:53.42
2021Hukum4Jim CrowleyOwen Burrows2:55.14
2022Zechariah3Tom MarquandFreddie & Martyn Meade2:36.99

Geoffrey Freer Stakes 2023 Result

Summary of Geoffrey Freer Stakes

Thank you for reading our Geoffrey Freer Stakes guide.

Popular Questions

Where is the Geoffrey Freer Stakes held?

The Geoffrey Freer Stakes is held at Newbury Racecourse.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.