Great Metropolitan Handicap

In Great Britain, horses must be at least four years old to compete in the Great Metropolitan Handicap, a flat handicapped race.

The Great Metropolitan Handicap takes place on Tuesday 25th April 2023 at 15:35.

It is run at Epsom in April as part of the Epsom Spring Meeting over a distance of 1 mile, 4 furlongs, and 6 yards (2,420 meters).

Find out more about the Great Metropolitan Handicap:

Great Metropolitan Handicap

Great Metropolitan Handicap 2023 Odds

3.35 Epsom Downs (Race 4) - BOG
  • Date: Tuesday 25th of April 2023
  • Time: 15:35
  • Details: 10 Runners Handicap Flat Flat 1m 4f 6y
14 Alpine Stroll
9 Neandra
3 Flyin' Solo
7 Open Champion
12 Saligo Bay
10 Madame Ambassador
13 The Conqueror
5 Tashi
2 Dark Pine
8 State Legend

Great Metropolitan Handicap 2023 Tips

Here are some tips for Great Metropolitan Handicap in April 2023:

  • 2 points to win for Neandra
  • 1 point each way for Flyin’ Solo

Some of the horses participating in the Great Metropolitan Handicap will be spotted in other races throughout the year. Make sure to keep an eye on the horses to see how they perform or place your bets on ante-post betting.

If you are looking for more horse racing tips for events held at Epsom Racecourse then check out our Epsom horse racing betting tips guide.

Great Metropolitan Handicap Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Weight Jockey Trainer Time
1988Empire Blue508-11Richard QuinnPaul Cole2:48.85
1989Empire Blue609-07Richard QuinnPaul Cole2:49.99
1990Empire Blue710-00Richard QuinnPaul Cole2:38.90
1991Army Of Stars[a]608-13Frankie DettoriClive Brittain2:35.00
1997Prince Kinsky409-02David HarrisonJim Old2:39.09
1998Assured Gamble409-00Pat EdderyClive Brittain2:49.35
1999Kinnescash608-09Ray CochranePeter Bowen2:44.43
2000Zilarator409-06Richard QuinnWilliam Haggas2:54.60
2001Spring Pursuit508-07Paul DoeRichard Price2:51.82
2002Salim Toto409-00Richard HughesHughie Morrison2:39.19
2003April Stock809-03Kieren FallonGerard Butler2:38.40
2004Cold Turkey408-12Simon WhitworthGary Moore2:53.93
2005Tender Falcon508-07Sam HitchcottRon Hodges2:43.18
2006Vengeance609-03Pat DobbsSimon Dow2:42.52
2007Lake Poet408-11Seb SandersClive Brittain2:40.31
2009Hatton Flight509-00William BuickAndrew Balding2:38.56
2010Coin Of The Realm509-01Ryan MooreGary Moore2:37.50
2011Sunny Game408-09Jamie SpencerMichael Bell2:39.15
2012Aiken409-03William BuickJohn Gosden2:52.66
2013Beyond Conceit408-13Jamie SpencerAndrew Balding2:37.54
2014Beacon Lady509-00Jack DuernWilliam Knight2:40.65
2015Lungarno Palace408-11Tom QueallyJohn Gallagher2:42.12
2016Barwick808-13Steve DrowneGeorge Baker2:49.52
2017Galapiat409-11Franny NortonMark Johnston2:41.79
2018Royal Line409-07James DoyleJohn Gosden2:40.36
2019Soto Sizzler408-09Oisin MurphyWilliam Knight2:35.89
no race 2020 [b]
2021Group One Power408-11Silvestre de SousaAndrew Balding2:43.58
2022Going Gone409-04Pat CosgraveJim Boyle2:42.67
2023Sir Rumi509-09William BuickRichard Hannon Jr.2:54.83

Great Metropolitan Handicap Previous Result

Best Great Metropolitan Handicap Betting Sites

Here are the most popular free bets for Great Metropolitan Handicap betting:

Related April Articles

Summary of Great Metropolitan Handicap

Thank you for reading our Great Metropolitan Handicap guide.

Check out our guides to all the other UK Premier Handicap horse races.

Popular Questions

Where is the Great Metropolitan Handicap held?

The Great Metropolitan Handicap is held at Epsom Racecourse.

When is the Great Metropolitan Handicap due to take place?

The Great Metropolitan Handicap is due to take place each year in April.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.