Hackwood Stakes

The Hackwood Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse race for thoroughbreds aged three and above held in the UK.

Every year in July, it is held at Newbury over a distance of 6 furlongs.

Find out more about the Hackwood Stakes:

Hackwood Stakes

Hackwood Stakes Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Hackwood Stakes in July 2023:

bet365 Hackwood Stakes
  • Date: Saturday 16th of July 2022
  • Time: 14:56
  • Details: 10 Runners
Sense Of Duty
Go Bears Go
Diligent Harry
Run To Freedom
Dubawi Legend
Saint Lawrence
Sam Maximus
Tippy Toes

More odds for Newbury Racecourse can be found through our link.

Hackwood Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Hackwood Stakes in July 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the Hackwood Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Take a look at our tips guide for Newbury Horse Racing tips today.

Our best tipsters for horse racing events provide today’s horse racing event tips free for all Newbury racing events!

Hackwood Stakes Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners of this race:

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1986Gwydion3Steve CauthenHenry Cecil
1987Interval3Pat EdderyJeremy Tree1:12.73
1988Point of Light3Paul EdderyGeoff Lewis1:15.20
1989Green's Canaletto3Ray CochraneWilliam Jarvis1:11.65
1990La Grange Music3Ray CochraneJames Fanshawe1:12.26
1991Keen Hunter4Steve CauthenJohn Gosden1:14.77
1992Montendre5John ReidMatt McCormack1:17.20
1993Catrail3Michael RobertsJohn Gosden1:13.94
1994Lake Coniston3Pat EdderyGeoff Lewis1:13.14
1995Hard to Figure9Steve DrowneRon Hodges1:14.53
1996Jayannpee5Willie RyanIan Balding1:10.71
1997Hattab3Pat EdderyPeter Walwyn1:11.07
1998Grazia3Seb SandersSir Mark Prescott1:12.95
1999Arkadian Hero4Gérald MosséLuca Cumani1:10.78
2000Auenklang3John ReidSaeed bin Suroor1:09.81
2001Invincible Spirit4Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop1:12.34
2002Ashdown Express3Jimmy FortuneChris Wall1:12.10
2003Somnus3Kevin DarleyTim Easterby1:11.04
2004Pastoral Pursuits3Steve DrowneHughie Morrison1:12.91
2005Beckermet3Martin DwyerRoger Fisher1:10.65
2006Fayr Jag7David AllanTim Easterby1:12.41
2007Balthazaar's Gift [a]4Joe FanningLuca Cumani1:14.31
2008Intrepid Jack6George BakerHughie Morrison1:12.83
2009High Standing4Ryan MooreWilliam Haggas1:13.62
2010Regal Parade6Adrian NichollsDavid Nicholls1:14.33
2011Deacon Blues4Frankie DettoriJames Fanshawe1:13.51
2012Soul5Silvestre de SousaSaeed bin Suroor1:17.22
2013Heeraat4Paul HanaganWilliam Haggas1:10.48
2014Music Master4Fergus SweeneyHenry Candy1:11.38
2015Strath Burn3Jim CrowleyCharles Hills1:12.21
2016The Tin Man4Tom QueallyJames Fanshawe1:11.61
2017Magical Memory5Frankie DettoriCharles Hills1:15.86
2018Yafta3Jim CrowleyRichard Hannon Jr.1:11.19
2019Waldpfad5Andrea AtzeniDominik Moser1:15.83
2020Tabdeed5Jim CrowleyOwen Burrows1:11.09
2021Happy Romance3Sean LeveyRichard Hannon Jr.1:10.29
2022Minzaal4Jim CrowleyOwen Burrows1:10.37
2023Commanche Falls6Conor BeasleyMichael Dods1:12.57

What Happened In The Previous Hackwood Stakes

Check out this result from the Newbury Racecourse:

Check out different results from Newbury Racecourse.

Summary of Hackwood Stakes

Thank you for reading our Hackwood Stakes guide.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races.

Related July Articles


James Dooley is a UK entrepreneur who founded British Racecourses because of his love for horse racing. James owns 14 racehorses through Dooley Thoroughbreds, so he understands all aspects of horse racing, from wagering bets, and booking jockeys to sourcing the best horse racing trainers. James Dooley's connections give him inside information on horse racing tips and best chances of a winner.