Hopeful Stakes

In Great Britain, horses must be three years old or older to compete in the Listed Hopeful Stakes flat horse race.

It is planned to take place every year in August over a distance of 6 furlongs (1,207 metres) on the July Course at Newmarket.

Find out more about the Hopeful Stakes:

Hopeful Stakes 2023 Odds

The odds for the Hopeful Stakes are listed below:

3.15 Newmarket (Race 4) - BOG
  • Date: Saturday 20th of May 2023
  • Time: 15:15
  • Details: 13 Runners Handicap Flat Flat 0m 7f 0y
3 Think Climate
2 Striking Star
4 Powerdress
5 Changing Colours
7 Signcastle City
12 Chartwell House
13 Golden Passport
14 Wall Game
8 Berkshire Phantom
9 Mile End
6 Jumbeau
10 Havana By The Sea
1 Burstow

Hopeful Stakes Tips

The Hopeful Stakes tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Hopeful Stakes horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Hopeful Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1988Point Of Light3Paul EdderyGeoff Lewis1:11.96
1989Alo Ez3Dean McKeownJeff Pearce1:13.04
1990Tadwin3Willie CarsonPeter Walwyn1:13.41
1991Montendre4Steve CauthenMatt McCormack1:19.09
1992Rose Indien3Frankie DettoriMohammed Moubarak1:12.60
1993Stack Rock6Kieren FallonEric Alston1:11.87
1994Rafferty's Rules3Kieren FallonLynda Ramsden1:10.98
1995Cheyenne Spirit3J StackBen Hanbury1:10.35
1996Carranita6Tim SprakeBryn Palling1:14.73
1997Elnadim3Michael KinaneJohn Dunlop1:11.04
1998Tipsy Creek4Richard HillsBen Hanbury1:10.90
1999Arkadian Hero4Gérald MosséLuca Cumani1:10.26
2000Vision Of Night4Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop1:12.96
2001Mugharreb3Kieren FallonBen Hanbury1:11.58
2002Three Points5Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor1:11.30
2003Fayr Jag4Willie SuppleTim Easterby1:11.62
2004Prince Aaron4Gary CarterConrad Allen1:14.02
2005Quito8Jamie SpencerDavid Chapman1:13.22
2006Appalachian Trail5Tom EavesIan Semple1:15.33
2007Beckermet5Chris CatlinRoger Fisher1:12.53
2008Edge Closer4Ryan MooreRichard Hannon Sr.1:10.32
2009Palace Moon4Steve DrowneHughie Morrison1:10.33
2010Doncaster Rover4Robert WinstonDavid Brown1:13.02
2011Swiss Dream3Nicky MackayDavid Elsworth1:11.24
2012Hitchens7Martin DwyerDavid Barron1:10.88
2013Tropics5Jim CrowleyDean Ivory1:13.30
2014Tropics6Robert WinstonDean Ivory1:09.84
2015Polybius4Ted DurcanDavid Lanigan1:11.26
2016Windfast5Richard KingscoteBrian Meehan1:12.52
2017Gifted Master4Pat SmullenHugo Palmer1:09.68
2018Limato6Martin HarleyHenry Candy1:11.79
2019Raucous6Alistair RawlinsonRobert Cowell1:11.75
2020Brad The Brief3Richard KingscoteTom Dascombe1:12.26
2021Summerghand7Martin HarleyDavid O'Meara1:11.67
2022Sam Maximus3P. J. McDonaldJames Horton1:12.16

Hopeful Stakes Previous Result

Hopeful Stakes Popular Questions

Where is the Hopeful Stakes held?

The Hopeful Stakes is held at Newmarket.

What distance is the Hopeful Stakes?

The Hopeful Stakes is 6 furlongs long.

Summary of the Hopeful Stakes

Thank you for reading our Hopeful Stakes guide.

Check out more UK listed races.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.