July Stakes

The July Stakes is a two-year-old colts and geldings Group 2 flat horse race.

The July Stakes takes place on Thursday 13th July 2023.

It is held every year in July on the July Course at Newmarket over a distance of 6 furlongs.

Find out more about the July Stakes:

July Stakes

July Stakes 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the July Stakes in July 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

July Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for July Stakes in July 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the July Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

What Happened In The Previous July Stakes

July Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2013 Anjaal Paul Hanagan Richard Hannon Sr.
2014 Ivawood Richard Hughes Richard Hannon Jr.
2015 Shalaa Robert Havlin John Gosden
2016 Mehmas Frankie Dettori Richard Hannon Jr.
2017 Cardsharp James Doyle Mark Johnston
2018 Advertise Frankie Dettori Martyn Meade
2019 Royal Lytham Wayne Lordan Aidan O’Brien
2020 Tactical William Buick Andrew Balding
2021 Lusail Pat Dobbs Richard Hannon Jr.
2022 Persian Force Rossa Ryan Richard Hannon Jr.

Popular Questions

How long is the July Stakes?

The July Stakes is over 6 furlongs long.

Who won the July Stakes in 2021?

The 2021 winner of the July Stakes was Lusail.

Summary of July Stakes

Thank you for checking out our guide for the July Stakes, we hope it was helpful.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 2 horse races.

Related July Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.