King Charles II Stakes

The King Charles II Stakes is a Listed race for three-year-olds over seven furlongs.

It is now held on the opening day of the Guineas Festival in late April/early May having previously taken place later in the month.

Notable past winners include In Excess (1990), Ali-Royal (1996), Trade Fair (2003), Jeremy (2006) and Aljamaaheer (2012).

Find out more about the King Charles II Stakes:

King Charles II Stakes

Race Overview – King Charles II Stakes

The King Charles II Stakes is a listed racing event held on the first day of the 2022 Guineas Festival, for horses aged three.

It takes place every year in May at Newmarket over a distance of 7 furlongs.

King Charles II Stakes Tips

We will publish our King Charles II Stakes tips closer to the event. Make sure to keep checking, you won’t want to miss them!

King Charles II Stakes 2022 Odds

The King Charles II Stakes odds have not yet been released although we will keep you updated.

King Charles II Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2011 Codemaster Dane O’Neill Henry Candy
2012 Aljamaaheer Paul Hanagan Roger Varian
2013 Dundonnell Martin Harley Roger Charlton
2014 Coulsty Sean Levey Richard Hannon Jr.
2015 Tupi Cam Hardie Richard Hannon Jr.
2016 Thikriyaat Ted Durcan Michael Stoute
2017 Taamol Jim Crowley Michael Stoute
2018 Purser Robert Havlin John Gosden
2019 Jash Dane O’Neill Simon Crisford
2020 Surf Dancer[b] Ryan Moore William Haggas
2021 Bellosa Richard Kingscote Jane Chapple-Hyam

King Charles II Stakes 2022 Result

Famous King Charles II Stakes Winners

One of the most talented King Charles II Stakes winners was Henry Cecil’s Ali-Royal, successful in 1996 under Willie Ryan. He also won the Ben Marshall Stakes but reached his peak in 1997 with victories in the Earl of Sefton Stakes and the Group 1 Sussex Stakes. He was rated 127 by Timeform after that success.

Trade Fair was a son of 2000 Guineas winner Zafonic and finished third in the Dewhurst Stakes as a juvenile. He won this race by two and a half lengths under Richard Hughes in 2003 and followed up in the Group 3 Criterion Stakes. He was beaten favourite in the Sussex Stakes later in the season and never quite fulfilled his potential.

2006 winner Jeremy won the Jersey Stakes at Royal Ascot next time and the Group 2 Betfred Mile at Sandown in 2007. He failed by only a short-head to win the Group 1 Queen Anne Stakes later that year.

Key King Charles II Stakes Trials

It is difficult to pinpoint any particular trials for this race, although previous form at Newmarket is a definite plus. More than half of the last twenty winners of this race had previous form at this venue. Only three of the last twenty King Charles II Stakes winners managed to win next time out.

King Charles II Stakes Betting Trends

Favourites have a good record in the King Charles II Stakes, winning ten of the last twenty renewals. This includes five of the last six; Thikriyaat (2016), Taamol (2017), Bear Slam (2018), Jash (2019) and Bellosa (2021). There has been the occasional turn-up including Richard Hannon’s Coulsty at 16-1 in 2014. The longest priced winner in the history of the race was Field Of Dream at 33-1 in 2010.

King Charles II Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Sir Michael Stoute is the leading trainer in the history of the King Charles II Stakes with four winners; Magical Strike (1989), Jeremy (2006), Thikriyaat (2016) and Taamol (2017). Richard Hannon Jnr also won this race in successive seasons with Coulsty (2014) and Tupi (2015).

No jockey has managed to win this race more than three times, that record currently held by Ray Cochrane who won it for the last time on Eurolink Thunder in 1993.

Betting on the King Charles II Stakes

The King Charles II Stakes invariably seems to follow the form book. It is worth looking out for a three-year-old with progressive form which could possibly make its mark in Group races as the season progresses.


Thank you for reading our King Charles II Stakes guide.

Popular Questions

Where is the King Charles II Stakes held?

The King Charles II Stakes is held at Newmarket Racecourse.


Guineas Festival Related Posts

Here are all the related articles to the Guineas Festival 2022:

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.