Kingmaker Novices’ Chase

Horses five years old or older may compete in the Grade 2 National Hunt steeplechase known as the Kingmaker Novices’ Chase in Great Britain.

There are twelve fences to leap during the race, which is held at Warwick over a distance of around 1 mile and 7 and a half furlongs (1 mile 7 furlongs and 119 yards, or 3,126 metres).

The novice chasers’ race will occur on Saturday 11th February 2023. This race is a big race in February 2023.

Kingmaker Novices’ Chase

Kingmaker Novices’ Chase 2023 Odds

The Kingmaker Novices’ Chase odds are listed below:

The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Kingmaker Novices’ Chase Tips

The Kingmaker Novices’ Chase tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Kingmaker Novices’ Chase horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

If you are looking for more racing tips for events taking place at Warwick Racecourse then check out our Warwick betting tips page.

Kingmaker Novices’ Chase Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
1991Anti Matter6Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1992Milford Quay9Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1993Flashthecash7Adrian MaguireToby Balding
1994Boscean Chieftain10Richard DunwoodyJackie Retter
1995no race 1995
1996Arctic Kinsman8Carl LlewellynNigel Twiston-Davies
1997Mulligan7Adrian MaguireDavid Nicholson
1998Lake Kariba7Richard JohnsonPaul Nicholls
1999Flagship Uberalles5Robert ThorntonPaul Nicholls
2000Cenkos6Jimmy McCarthyOliver Sherwood
2001Whitenzo5Joe TizzardPaul Nicholls
2002Armaturk5Timmy MurphyPaul Nicholls
2005Kadount [a]7Robert ThorntonAlan King
2006Voy Por Ustedes [a]5Robert ThorntonAlan King
2007Ursis [a]6Dominic ElsworthSteve Gollings
2008Kruguyrova5Jimmy McCarthyCharles Egerton
2009Gauvain [b]7Noel FehilyCharlie Mann
2010Long Run5Sam Waley-Cohen[c]Nicky Henderson
2011Finian's Rainbow8Andrew TinklerNicky Henderson
2012no race 2012 [d]
2013Majala7Jason MaguireTom George
2014Balder Succes6Wayne HutchinsonAlan King
2015Vibrato Valtat6Sam Twiston-DaviesPaul Nicholls
2016Violet Dancer6Jamie MooreGary Moore
2017Flying Angel6Willy Twiston-DaviesNigel Twiston-Davies
2018Saint Calvados5Aidan ColemanHarry Whittington
2019Glen Forsa[e]7Jonathan BurkeMick Channon
2020Rouge Vif6Gavin SheehanHarry Whittington
2021Allmankind5Harry SkeltonDan Skelton
2022Edwardstone8Tom CannonAlan King
2023Jonbon7Aidan ColemanNicky Henderson

Kingmaker Novices’ Chase 2022 Result

Facts about the Kingmaker Novices’ Chase

  • The Kingmaker Novices’ Chase is a Grade 2 National Hunt chase in Great Britain which is open to horses aged five years or older.
  • The race is run on the New Course at Warwick over a distance of 1 mile and 1 and a half furlongs, and during its running there are 12 fences to be jumped.
  • The Kingmaker Novices’ Chase is scheduled to take place each year in late February.
  • The race was first to run in 1991.
  • The Kingmaker Novices’ Chase is named after the racehorse Kingmaker, who was undefeated in fourteen races during his career.

Summary of the Kingmaker Novices’ Chase

Thank you for checking out our Kingmaker Novices Chase guide.

Related February Horse Racing Posts

Here are all of February’s horse racing related posts:


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.