Lonsdale Cup

The Lonsdale Cup is a Group two flat horse race held at York Racecourse over a distance of 2 miles and 56 yards on the third day of the 2023 Ebor Festival.

The Lonsdale Cup takes place on Friday 25th August 2023.

In our Lonsdale Cup 2023 guide, we provide the latest odds, betting tips and betting offers for the group three horse racing event.

Find out more about the Lonsdale Cup:

Lonsdale Cup

Lonsdale Cup Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Lonsdale Cup in August 2023:

Lonsdale Cup
  • Date: Friday 19th of August 2022
  • Time: 14:25
  • Details: 9 Runners
Mostly Cloudy
Nate The Great

Lonsdale Cup Tips 2023

Here are some tips for Lonsdale Cup in August 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the Lonsdale Cup will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Lonsdale Cup Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1980Heighlin4Richard FoxDavid Elsworth
1981Donegal Prince5Lester PiggottPaul Kelleway
1982Capricorn Line4Lester PiggottLuca Cumani
1983Crusader Castle4Pat EdderyIan Balding
1984Spicy Story3Pat EdderyIan Balding
1985Inde Pulse3Paul CookFrankie Durr
1986Valuable Witness6Pat EdderyJeremy Tree
1987Angel City3Willie CarsonJohn Dunlop
1988Dam Busters3Bryn CrossleyMaureen Piggott3:18.49
1989Weld3Bruce RaymondWilliam Jarvis3:23.15
1990Chelsea Girl4Willie CarsonMichael Jarvis3:24.40
1991Supreme Choice3Darryll HollandBarry Hills3:30.07
1992Further Flight6Michael HillsBarry Hills3:25.64
1993Further Flight7Michael HillsBarry Hills3:26.54
1994My Patriarch [a]4Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop3:20.85
1995Double Eclipse3Tyrone WilliamsMark Johnston3:22.78
1996Celeric4Willie CarsonDavid Morley3:20.33
1997Double Eclipse5Michael RobertsMark Johnston3:29.91
1998Persian Punch5Richard QuinnDavid Elsworth3:24.62
1999Celeric7Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop3:23.03
2000Royal Rebel4Michael KinaneMark Johnston3:28.21
2001Persian Punch8Richard QuinnDavid Elsworth3:23.47
2002Boreas7Jamie SpencerLuca Cumani3:23.08
2003Bollin Eric4Kevin DarleyTim Easterby3:23.25
2004First Charter5Kieren FallonSir Michael Stoute3:25.94
2005Millenary8Richard QuinnJohn Dunlop3:22.71
2006Sergeant Cecil7Frankie DettoriRod Millman3:28.47
2007Septimus4Johnny MurtaghAidan O'Brien3:38.82
2008no race 2008 [b]
2009Askar Tau4Ryan MooreMarcus Tregoning3:30.63
2010Opinion Poll4Frankie DettoriMichael Jarvis3:34.84
2011Opinion Poll5Frankie DettoriMahmood Al Zarooni3:32.48
2012Times Up6William BuickJohn Dunlop3:34.64
2013Ahzeemah4Silvestre de SousaSaeed bin Suroor3:34.75
2014Pale Mimosa5Pat SmullenDermot Weld3:31.52
2015Max Dynamite5Frankie DettoriWillie Mullins3:33.09
2016Quest For More6George BakerRoger Charlton3:32.57
2017Montaly6P. J. McDonaldAndrew Balding3:31.06
2018Stradivarius4Frankie DettoriJohn Gosden3:29.70
2019Stradivarius5Frankie DettoriJohn Gosden3:27.06
2020Enbihaar5Jim CrowleyJohn Gosden3:33.57
2021Stradivarius7Frankie DettoriJohn and Thady Gosden3:30.87
2022Quickthorn5Tom MarquandHughie Morrison3:28.20

Lonsdale Cup Previous Result

Popular Questions

Where is the Lonsdale Cup based?

The Lonsdale Cup is held at York.

Summary of Lonsdale Cup

Thank you for reading our Lonsdale Cup guide.

We hope you have found the race overview, betting odds and tips helpful!

2023 York Ebor Festival Posts

Here are all the related articles to the York Ebor Festival 2023:

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.