Meld Stakes

The Meld Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse race for thoroughbred horses aged three and upheld in Ireland.

Every year in July, it takes place at Leopardstown over a distance of 1 mile and 1 furlong.

Find out more about the Meld Stakes:

Meld Stakes

Meld Stakes 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Meld Stakes in July 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Meld Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Meld Stakes in July 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Horses that take part in the Meld Stakes can run in other races later in the year. Keep a look out for the horses and place ante-post bets.

Meld Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1982Miraflora3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien
1983Bay Empress3Pat GilsonTommy Burns, Sr.
1984Opale4Pat EdderyAlec Stewart
1985Ulterior Motive3Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop
1986I Want to Be4Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop
1987Three Tails3John ReidJohn Dunlop
1988Sailor's Mate3Willie CarsonDick Hern2:46.70
1989Slender Style3Michael KinaneDermot Weld2:38.20
1990Khalafiya3Ron QuintonJohn Oxx2:36.90
1991Sardaniya3Michael KinaneJohn Oxx2:38.10
1992Market Booster3Michael KinaneDermot Weld2:39.90
1993Lord of the Field6Billy NewnesJames Toller2:08.30
1994Cajarian3Johnny MurtaghJohn Oxx2:03.80
1995Needle Gun5Michael KinaneClive Brittain2:01.60
1996Idris6Kevin ManningJim Bolger2:02.60
1997Caiseal Ros3Pat SmullenJim Bolger2:06.20
1998Takarian3Johnny MurtaghJohn Oxx2:07.90
1999Make No Mistake4Pat SmullenDermot Weld2:02.20
2000Takali3Niall McCullaghJohn Oxx2:04.10
2001Muakaad4Pat SmullenDermot Weld2:01.60
2002Imperial Dancer4Chris CatlinMick Channon2:02.20
2003Mingun3Michael KinaneAidan O'Brien2:06.90
2004Latino Magic4Robert BurkeRobbie Osborne2:05.70
2005Tropical Lady5Kevin ManningJim Bolger2:06.30
2006Heliostatic3Kevin ManningJim Bolger2:06.50
2007Fracas5Wayne LordanDavid Wachman2:10.38
2008King of Rome3Johnny MurtaghAidan O'Brien2:04.05
2009She's Our Mark5Danny GrantPat Flynn2:08.74
2010Famous Name5Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:54.62
2011Famous Name6Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:56.71
2012Famous Name7Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:54.60
2013Scintillula3Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:52.64
2014Parish Hall5Kevin ManningJim Bolger2:13.77
2015Carla Bianca4Pat SmullenDermot Weld1:57.80
2016Decorated Knight4George BakerRoger Charlton1:55.93
2017Moonlight Magic4Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:58.80
2018Turret Rocks5Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:55.20
2019Mohawk3Donnacha O'BrienAidan O'Brien1:54.98
2020Patrick Sarsfield4Declan McDonoghJoseph O'Brien1:52.90
2021Japan5Ryan MooreAidan O'Brien1:52.99
2022Boundless Ocean3Kevin ManningJim Bolger2:00.49

What Happened In The Previous Meld Stakes

Summary of Meld Stakes

Thank you for checking out our Meld Stakes guide, we hope it was helpful.

Check out our guides to all the other Irish Group 3 horse races.

Popular Questions

Where is the Meld Stakes held?

The Meld Stakes is held at Leopardstown Racecourse.

Related July Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.