National Stakes

In Great Britain, the National Stakes is a listed flat horse event for two-year-old horses.

Each year towards the end of May, it is scheduled to be run at Sandown Park over a distance of 5 furlongs and 10 yards (1,015 metres).

Find out more about the National Stakes:

National Stakes

National Stakes 2023 Odds

The National Stakes odds are listed below:

These odds have not yet been released.

Here is the full list of betting odds at Sandown Park Races today.

National Stakes Tips

The National Stakes tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Many National Stakes horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

National Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
1975Super CavalierPaul CookGavin Hunter
1976Piney RidgeLester PiggottMick Kauntze
1977NoiritzaPat EdderyMick O'Toole
1978Schweppeshire LadGreville StarkeyMichael Stoute
1979RollaheadJoe MercerJeremy Hindley
1980PenmarricGreville StarkeyGavin Hunter
1981no race
1982KrayyanGreville StarkeyGavin Hunter
1983PrecociousLester PiggottHenry Cecil
1984Primo DominieJohn ReidBrian Swift
1985Moonlight LadyPat EdderyPaul Kelleway1:04.37
1986Risk MePat EdderyPaul Kelleway1:02.75
1987Tricky NoteMichael HillsWilliam Haggas1:01.18
1988SuperpowerTony IvesBill O'Gorman1:03.22
1989Princess TaufanRay CochraneDr Jon Scargill1:00.47
1990BalwaWillie CarsonAlex Scott1:02.15
1991MarlingGary CarterGeoff Wragg1:01.59
1992Lyric FantasyMichael RobertsRichard Hannon Sr.0:59.62
1993RedoubtableRichard QuinnRichard Hannon Sr.1:00.95
1994SignsPat EdderyRichard Hannon Sr.1:03.14
1995Amaretto BayMick KinaneBrian Meehan1:03.54
1996Deadly DudleyMick KinaneRichard Hannon Sr.1:01.83
1997Pool MusicRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:00.72
1998Bint AllaylFrankie DettoriMick Channon1:02.36
1999RowaasiFrankie DettoriMick Channon0:59.95
2000Taras EmperorJimmy FortuneJohn Quinn1:05.89
2001ShinyPhilip RobinsonClive Brittain1:02.72
2002Presto VentoDane O'NeillRichard Hannon Sr.1:02.00
2003Russian ValourKevin DarleyMark Johnston1:00.65
2004Polly PerkinsKevin DarleyNick Littmoden1:01.65
2005Salut d'AmourKieren FallonJeremy Noseda1:02.33
2006Excellent ArtFrankie DettoriNeville Callaghan1:06.49
2007SweepstakeRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:02.72
2008IcesolatorRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:04.89
2009Monsieur ChevalierRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:00.83
2010Dinkum DiamondDane O'NeillHenry Candy1:01.88
2011Pyman's TheoryRichard KingscoteTom Dascombe1:02.55
2012Sir PrancealotRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:01.85
2013RizeenaRyan MooreClive Brittain1:03.57
2014Tiggy WiggyRichard HughesRichard Hannon Jr.1:03.92
2015King Of RooksRichard HughesRichard Hannon Jr.1:01.30
2016Global ApplauseRyan MooreEd Dunlop1:01.17
2017Havana GreyP. J. McDonaldKarl Burke0:59.93
2018Vintage BrutDavid AllanTim Easterby1:02.50
2019Flippa The StrippaSilvestre de SousaCharles Hills1:00.85
2020UbettabelieveitOisin MurphyNigel Tinkler1:01.65
2021Ebro RiverJames DoyleHugo Palmer1:05.24
2022Maria BranwellDaniel TudhopeDavid O'Meara1:02.79
2023Elite StatusClifford LeeKarl Burke1:00.48

National Stakes Previous Result

Popular Questions

Where is the National Stakes held?

The National Stakes is held at Sandown Park.

Summary of the National Stakes

Thank you for reading our National Stakes guide.

Related May Articles


James Dooley is a UK entrepreneur who founded British Racecourses because of his love for horse racing. James owns 14 racehorses through Dooley Thoroughbreds, so he understands all aspects of horse racing, from wagering bets, and booking jockeys to sourcing the best horse racing trainers. James Dooley's connections give him inside information on horse racing tips and best chances of a winner.