Phoenix Sprint Stakes

The Phoenix Sprint Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse race for thoroughbreds aged three and up that takes place in Ireland. Every year in August, it is held at the Curragh over a course of 6 furlongs.

The Phoenix Sprint Stakes takes place on Saturday 12th August 2023.

Check out our guides to all the other Irish Group 3 horse races.

Find out more about the Phoenix Sprint Stakes:

Phoenix Sprint Stakes

Phoenix Sprint Stakes Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Phoenix Sprint Stakes in August 2023:

Phoenix Sprint Stakes Tips 2023

Here are some tips for Phoenix Sprint Stakes in August 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

The Phoenix Sprint Stakes will have runners racing in other events throughout the year. Stay updated on the horses and place your ante-post bets.

Phoenix Sprint Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1978Ballad Rock4George McGrathSeamus McGrath1:09.10
1979Miami Springs3Tony MurrayMick O'Toole1:07.80
1980God's Mark4Dermot HoganChristy Grassick1:10.50
1981Runnett4Wally SwinburnJohn Dunlop1:10.90
1982Bruckner3Pat ShanahanCon Collins1:13.10
1983Jester4Michael KinaneTony Redmond1:11.50
1984Princess Tracy3Raymond CarrollMichael Cunningham1:07.50
1985Rangoon Ruby [a]3Kevin MosesNoel Meade1:10.10
1986Acushla3Cash AsmussenVincent O'Brien1:09.20
1987Acushla4Cash AsmussenVincent O'Brien1:11.30
1988Ingabelle4Donal ManningTom Lacy1:11.30
1989Point of Light4John ReidGeoff Lewis1:11.10
1990Northern Goddess3Michael KinaneIan Balding1:10.10
1991Amigo Menor5Chris RutterDavid Murray Smith1:13.20
1992Park Dream3Christy RocheJim Bolger1:13.30
1993Tropical3Michael KinaneDermot Weld1:12.80
1994Surprise Offer4Walter SwinburnRichard Hannon Sr.1:13.00
1995Desert Style3Kevin ManningJim Bolger1:14.00
1996Daring Destiny5Richard HughesKarl Burke1:13.50
1997Cretan Gift6Jason WeaverNick Littmoden1:12.20
1998March Star4Pat EdderyJames Toller1:10.20
1999Gorse4Gary CarterHenry Candy1:15.20
2000Eastern Purple5Basil MarcusKevin Ryan1:12.50
2001Bahamian Pirate6Johnny MurtaghDavid Nicholls1:13.50
2002One Won One8Seamie HeffernanJoanna Morgan1:14.80
2003Bonus3Richard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.1:12.40
2004One Cool Cat3Jamie SpencerAidan O'Brien1:12.70
2005Osterhase6Fran BerryJohn Mulhern1:13.20
2006Moss Vale5Kieren FallonDavid Nicholls1:11.00
2007Al Qasi4Kerrin McEvoyPeter Chapple-Hyam1:17.39
2008Snaefell4Rory ClearyMichael Halford1:18.25
2009Girouette4Pat ShanahanTracey Collins1:15.28
2010Snaefell6Shane FoleyMichael Halford1:10.80
2011Deacon Blues4Johnny MurtaghJames Fanshawe1:10.60
2012Fire Lily3Wayne LordanDavid Wachman1:17.54
2013Slade Power4Wayne LordanEdward Lynam1:09.33
2014Scream Blue Murder4Pat SmullenTommy Stack1:13.61
2015Mattmu3David AllanTim Easterby1:10.62
2016Toscanini4James DoyleMichael Halford1:10.17
2017Washington DC4Ryan MooreAidan O'Brien1:11.77
2018Speak In Colours3Donnacha O'BrienJoseph O'Brien1:10.63
2019Gustavus Weston3Gary CarrollJoseph G. Murphy1:15.42
2020Glen Shiel6Oisin OrrArchie Watson1:12.69
2021Gustavus Weston5Gary CarrollJoseph G. Murphy1:11.64
2022Go Bears Go3Rossa RyanDavid Loughnanne1:11.28

Phoenix Sprint Stakes Previous Result

Summary of Phoenix Sprint Stakes

Thank you for reading our Phoenix Sprint Stakes guide.

Popular Questions

Where is the Phoenix Sprint Stakes held?

The Phoenix Sprint Stakes is held at the Curragh Racecourse.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.