Racing Post Trophy

The Racing Post Trophy (Vertum Futurity Trophy since 2018) takes place at Doncaster Racecourse yearly in late October. The Group One flat race is run over a mile and is open to two-year-old colts and fillies. The first running of the race took place in 1961 when it was known as the Timeform Cup and duly won by Miraglo.
The race has been sponsored by some big names over the years, including the Observer newspaper, William Hill, Timeform, The racing Post, and current sponsor, Vertem Asset Management.
The race is the only ever group one event to take place on an artificial surface, when in 2019, due to a waterlogged surface at Doncaster, the race was switched to Newcastle.

Most Successful Horse

Five horses have won the Racing Post Trophy then gone on to win the Epsom Derby as a three-year-old. Reference Point took the honors in 1986, winning the Racing Post Trophy beating Bengal Fire, in what was an impressive victory. One and a half furlongs from home, the Henry Cecil trained horse, ridden by Pat Eddery, pulled clear and easily won by five lengths.
Another horse to go on to win the Derby after victory in the Racing Post Trophy was High Chaparral, who won the Racing Post Trophy in 2001. In a thrilling finish jockey, Kevin Darley got his mount just in front at the line winning by a head from favorite Castle Gandolfo. Three years later in 2004, Motivator, ridden by Kieran Fallon and trained by Michael Bell, the 6/4 favorite ran on strongly to beat Albert Hall by two and a half lengths,
Frankie Dettori rode his first Racing Post Trophy winner in 2006 on Authorized, trained by Peter Chapple-Hyam. The horse beat Charlie Farnsbarns into second place and went on to win the Derby a year later. The last horse to win both the Racing Post Trophy and the Derby was Camelot in 2011. The odds on favorite sat at the back two furlongs from home. Once jockey Joseph O’Brien made his move, there was never any doubt. The Aiden O’Brien trained horse swiftly moved to the front and accelerated away from the rest of the field, winning easily by two and a quarter lengths from Zip Top.

Leading Jockey

Lester Piggot and Pat Eddery both have five wins to their names and share the title of the top jockey. Lester Piggot rode his first winner in the race in 1966 on the Fulke Johnson Houghton horse, Riboco. Back to back wins in 1972 and 1973 on Noble Decree and Apalachee, respectively, were followed by victory on the Henry Cecil trained horse, Dunbeath. The jockey won his final Racing Post Trophy in 1984 on Lanfranco, again trained by Henry Cecil.
Pat Eddery gained his first success in 1976 on the Peter Walwyn trained horse, Sporting Yankee. The double came the following year, winning on Dactylographer, trained once again by Peter Walwyn. Beldale Flutter in 1980. bought up the hat-trick, when beating Shergar into second by half a length. His biggest win came in 1986 on Reference Point, trained by Henry Cecil, the horse went on to win the Epsom Derby the following year. Another Henry Cecil charge, Armiger, was Pat Edderys’ final winner in the race in 1992 when beating the Steve Cauthen mount Invanka by five lengths.

Leading Trainer

With ten triumphs between 1969 and 1993, Henry Cecil is the clear leader as far as successes in the Racing Post Trophy are concerned. It all started with Approval, ridden by Duncan Keith, in 1969 and was followed five years later in 1975 with Take Your Place, the mount of Gianfranco Dettori. Hello, Gorgeous in 1972 and Dunbeath in 1982, saw Henry Cecil chalk up his third and fourth victories in the race, with Joe Mercer and Lester Piggot on board.
Lanfranco, in 1984 and Reference point in 1986, were followed by two back to backs. Be My Chief in 1989, ridden by Steve Cauthen, was swiftly followed the year when Steve Cauthen once again took the reins, guiding Peter Davies to victory. Pat Eddery was on board Henrys’ ninth winner in 1992 when Armiger ended up in the winning enclosure. Sir Henry Cecil closed his account the following year, with his final victory in the race, with the Willie Ryan mount, Kings Theatre.

Other horse racing betting events

Our team has reviewed all the latest betting events for September 2020. Check out our other posts: