St Hugh’s Stakes

The St Hugh’s Stakes is a Listed flat horse event for two-year-old fillies held in Great Britain. It is planned to take place every year in August at Newbury over a distance of 5 furlongs and 34 yards (1,037 metres).

The St Hugh’s Stakes takes place on Friday 18th August 2023.

Check out other listed UK races.

Find out more about the St Hugh’s Stakes:

St Hugh’s Stakes 2023 Odds

The odds for the St Hugh’s Stakes are listed below:

3.10 Newbury (Race 4) - BOG
  • Date: Friday 24th of March 2023
  • Time: 15:10
  • Details: 9 Runners Handicap Hurdle Hurdle 3m 0f 52y
14 Good News
3 Knowsley Road
1 Zanza
11 Loup De Maulde
13 Miss Fairfax
4 Brinkley
6 Hurricane Harvey
12 Skandiburg
2 On The Blind Side

St Hugh’s Stakes Tips 2023

The St Hugh’s Stakes tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many St Hugh’s Stakes horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

St Hugh’s Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
1988Bocas RoseBrian RouseRichard Hannon Sr.1:4.28
1989Polar BirdMichael HillsBarry Hills1:2.66
1990DominioRay CochranePeter Walwyn1:3.27
1991Mamma's TooRichard QuinnJack Berry1:3.20
1992Palacegate EpisodeGary CarterJack Berry1:3.28
1993PetulaMichael HillsMichael Bell1:0.61
1994Easy OptionRichard QuinnWilliam Jarvis1:1.40
1995Amazing BayWillie RyanIan Balding1:2.76
1996Head Over HeelsFrankie DettoriJohn Gosden1:2.07
1997AurignySeb SandersSimon Dow1:1.72
1998Amazing DreamDane O'NeillRichard Hannon Sr.1:3.14
1999ElaflaakRichard HillsMarcus Tregoning1:1.82
2000Strange DestinyJohn ReidAlan Berry1:1.42
2001Swiss LakeKevin DarleyGerard Butler1:1.60
2002Speed CopMartin DwyerIan Balding1:0.81
2003Needles And PinsKieren FallonMichael Bell1:00.88
2004SumoraJimmy FortuneGerard Butler1:01.30
2005StrutSteve DrowneRoger Charlton1:01.84
2006Abby RoadFrankie DettoriBrian Meehan1:02.13
2007CakePat DobbsRichard Hannon Sr.1:02.32
2008Madame Trop ViteNeil CallanKevin Ryan1:03.70
2009Sand VixenFrankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor1:01.62
2010Electric WavesRichard MullenEd McMahon1:03.02
2011KohalaJimmy FortuneDavid Barron1:01.09
2012Rosdhu QueenRyan MooreWilliam Haggas1:01.20
2013Wind FireRyan MooreDavid Brown1:01.67
2014Bronze MaquetteShane KellyGary Moore1:02.76
2015WhatdoiwantthatforPat DobbsRichard Hannon Jr.1:04.63
2016Mrs DanversRichard KingscoteJonathan Portman1:01.30
2017EireneRobert WinstonDean Ivory1:03.31
2018ShumookhiOisin MurphyArchie Watson1:02.03
2019OrlaithPaul MulrennanIain Jardine1:02.69
2020ZoeticOisin MurphyJames Ferguson1:02.00
2021TardisOisin MurphyMichael Bell1:01.62
2022Cuban MistressRoss CoakleyRod Millman1:00.24

What Happened In The Previous St Hugh’s Stakes

Summary of the St Hugh’s Stales

Thank you for reading our St Hugh’s Stakes guide.

Popular Questions

Where is the St Hugh's Stakes held?

The St Hugh’s Stakes is held at Newbury Racecourse.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.