Phoenix Stakes

The Phoenix Stakes is a Group 1 flat race for two-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies held in Ireland. Every year in August, it is held at the Curragh over a course of 6 furlongs.

The Phoenix Stakes takes place on Saturday 12th August 2023.

Check out our guides to all the other Irish Group Ones.

Find Phoenix Stakes:

Phoenix Stakes

Phoenix Stakes Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Phoenix Stakes in August 2023:

4.15 Curragh (Race 6) - Good Heavens v Janoobi
  • Date: Saturday 27th of August 2022
  • Time: 16:15
  • Details: Flat

Phoenix Stakes Tips 2023

Here are some tips for Phoenix Stakes in August 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Horses taking part in the Phoenix Stakes can be found participating in other races throughout the year. Follow all races to see how the horses race or place your bets on ante-post betting.

Phoenix Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
1979Smokey LadyWally SwinburnDermot Weld
1980Swan PrincessTaffy ThomasBrian Swift
1981AchievedPat EdderyVincent O'BrienRobert Sangster0:57.70
1982Sweet EmmaGabriel CurranKevin PrendergastJackie Ward Ramos1:00.20
1983King PersianMichael KinaneLiam BrowneSeamus McAleer1:11.70
1984AvianceDeclan GillespieDavid O'BrienRobert Sangster1:08.60
1985Roaring RivaRay CochraneRay LaingBilly Gaff1:14.40
1986MinstrellaJohn ReidCharlie NelsonNed Evans1:13.20
1987DigamistPat EdderyJeremy TreeKhalid Abdullah1:11.40
1988SuperpowerWalter SwinburnBill O'GormanMrs Poh-Lian Yong1:11.95
1989Pharaoh's DelightRay CochranePeter HudsonAl-Deera Bloodstock Ltd1:11.60
1990Mac's ImpAlan MunroBill O'GormanTamdown Ltd1:09.90
1991Bradawn BreeverRodney GriffithsKevin PrendergastM. A. Murray1:13.30
1992Pips PrideFrankie DettoriRichard Hannon Sr.Mrs V. S. Grant1:13.00
1993Turtle IslandJohn ReidPeter Chapple-HyamRobert Sangster1:14.40
1994Eva LunaKevin ManningJim BolgerCatherine Shubotham1:14.00
1995Danehill DancerPat EdderyNeville CallaghanMichael Tabor1:14.60
1996MantovaniConor EverardJim BolgerJackie Bolger1:13.60
1997Princely HeirJason WeaverMark JohnstonMaktoum Al Maktoum1:11.80
1998LaveryWalter SwinburnAidan O'BrienTabor / Magnier1:11.10
1999FasliyevMichael KinaneAidan O'BrienTabor / Magnier1:17.10
2000MinardiMichael KinaneAidan O'BrienTabor / Magnier1:12.20
2001JohannesburgMichael KinaneAidan O'BrienTabor / Magnier1:13.20
2002SpartacusColm O'DonoghueAidan O'BrienSue Magnier1:15.10
2003One Cool CatMichael KinaneAidan O'BrienMagnier / Tabor1:11.40
2004DamsonKieren FallonDavid WachmanMagnier / Tabor1:13.20
2005George WashingtonKieren FallonAidan O'BrienMagnier / Tabor / Smith1:12.70
2006Holy Roman EmperorKieren FallonAidan O'BrienSue Magnier1:11.00
2007Saoirse AbuKevin ManningJim BolgerEnnistown Stud / Bolger1:18.89
2008MastercraftsmanJohnny MurtaghAidan O'BrienSmith / Magnier / Tabor1:13.30
2009Alfred NobelJohnny MurtaghAidan O'BrienSmith / Magnier / Tabor1:20.32
2010ZoffanyJohnny MurtaghAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:11.29
2011La CollinaDeclan McDonoghKevin PrendergastJoerg Vasicek1:13.30
2012Pedro the GreatSeamie HeffernanAidan O'BrienSmith / Magnier / Tabor1:19.05
2013SudirmanWayne LordanDavid WachmanMrs Fitri Hay & Sue Magnier1:09.35
2014Dick WhittingtonJoseph O'BrienAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:14.55
2015Air Force BlueJoseph O'BrienAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:11.88
2016CaravaggioSeamie HeffernanAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:11.79
2017Sioux NationRyan MooreAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:11.72
2018AdvertiseFrankie DettoriMartyn MeadePhoenix Thoroughbred Ltd 11:12.29
2019SiskinColin KeaneGer LyonsKhalid Abdullah1:17.14
2020Lucky VegaShane FoleyJessica HarringtonZhang Yuesheng1:13.35
2021Ebro RiverShane FoleyHugo PalmerAl Shaqab Racing1:12.16
2022Little Big BearRyan MooreAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier / Westerberg1:11.27

Phoenix Stakes Previous Result

Summary of Phoenix Stakes

Thank you for reading our Phoenix Stakes guide, we hope you enjoyed it.

Popular Questions

Where is the Phoenix Stakes held?

The Phoenix Stakes is held at the Curragh Racecourse.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.