Bunbury Cup

The Bunbury Cup is a flat handicap horse event held in the United Kingdom for horses aged three and up. It takes place on the July Course at Newmarket over a distance of 7 furlongs (1,408 metres) and is held every year in July.

Check out our other handicap races.

Bunbury Cup 2023 Odds

The odds for the Bunbury Cup are listed below:

  • These odds have not yet been released.

Bunbury Cup Tips

Our tips for the Bunbury Cup are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Horses in the Bunbury Cup will run in other races later in the year. Look out for the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager.

What Happened In The 2022 Bunbury Cup

Bunbury Cup Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2013 Field of Dream 6 Adam Kirby Jamie Osborne
2014 Heaven’s Guest 4 Tony Hamilton Richard Fahey
2015 Rene Mathis 5 Paul Hanagan Richard Fahey
2016 Golden Steps 5 Frankie Dettori Marco Botti
2017 Above The Rest 6 Clifford Lee David Barron
2018 Burnt Sugar 6 Paul Hanagan Roger Fell
2019 Vale of Kent 4 Frankie Dettori Mark Johnston
2020 Motakhayyel 4 Jim Crowley Richard Hannon Jr.
2021 Motakhayyel 5 Frankie Dettori Richard Hannon Jr.
2022 Bless Him 8 Jamie Spencer David Simcock


Thank you for reading our Bunbury Cup guide.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.