John Smith’s Cup

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The John Smith’s Cup is a flat handicap horse event hosted in the U.k for horses aged three and above.

The John Smith’s Cup takes place on Saturday 15th July 2023.

It is competed annually in July at York with a distance of 1 mile 2 furlongs and 56 yards.

Find out more about the John Smith’s Cup:

John Smith’s Cup

John Smith’s Cup 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the John Smith’s Cup in July 2023:

  • These odds have not yet been released.

John Smith’s Cup Tips

Here are some tips for John Smith’s Cup in July 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some horses participating in John Smith’s Cup will also be participating in other races throughout the year. Make sure you keep an eye on the horses in other races to see how they perform or place your bets on ante-post betting.

For racing tips on races at York Racecourse, check out our tips guide.

Our horse racing tipsters provide free horse racing advice for all York racing events!

John Smith’s Cup Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners below:

1960Fougalle37-00N McIntoshP Beasley
1961Proud Chieftain48-10Harry CarrDick Hern
1962Nortia38-04Frankie DurrDick Hern
1963Raccolto68-03J SimeSam Hall
1964Space King58-09Edward HideW Hide
1965Dark Court48-06Scobie BreasleyGordon Richards
1966David Jack37-06P. RobinsonE. Lambton
1967Copsale47-13L. G. BrownRon Smyth
1968Farm Walk68-13Johnny SeagraveP Beasley
1969My Swanee69-07Lester PiggottBill Marshall
1970Timon47-04G WelshDoug Smith
1971Prominent48-08Geoff BaxterArthur Budgett
1972Prominent59-04Geoff BaxterArthur Budgett
1973Peleid37-09Taffy ThomasBill Elsey
1974Take A Reef38-12Geoff BaxterBruce Hobbs
1975Jolly Good37-08Willie CarsonBruce Hobbs
1976Bold Pirate49-03Joe MercerDick Hern
1977Air Trooper49-06Taffy ThomasBill Wightman
1978Town And Country48-13Willie CarsonDick Hern
1979Tesoro Mio48-03Edward HideJ Etherington
1980Fine Sun37-08N HoweSally Hall
1981Amyndas38-05T LucasBruce Hobbs
1982Buzzard's Bay49-08Mark BirchHugh Collingridge
1983Bedtime37-09Willie CarsonDick Hern
1984Straight Man38-11Steve CauthenDick Hern
1985Chaumiere49-07Tony IvesRobert Williams
1986Chaumiere59-05Tony IvesRobert Williams
1987(dh)Brave DancerWolsey[a]338-088-06Greville StarkeyWillie RyanGuy HarwoodHenry Cecil
1988Bashful Boy38-02Dean McKeownWilliam Hastings-Bass1012 12/12:11.23
1989Icona39-08Tony IvesMichael Stoute1012 12/12:07.41
1990Eradicate59-04Billy NewnesPeter Calver1007.5 15/22:09.58
1991Halkopous57-03Franny NortonMark Tompkins1003.5 7/2 JF2:10.85
1992Mr Confusion48-03Ollie PearsSteve Norton1008 8/12:12.06
1993Baron Ferdinand38-09Ray CochraneRoger Charlton1004 4/1 JF2:08.50
1994Cezanne59-12Gary HindHilal Ibrahim1004.5 9/22:06.80
1995Naked Welcome38-04Darryll HollandMartin Fetherston-Godley1006 6/12:10.12
1996Wilcuma59-02Pat EdderyPeter Makin1010 10/12:08.53
1997Pasternak48-03George DuffieldSir Mark Prescott1006.5 13/22:08.80
1998Porto Foricos38-03Jimmy QuinnHenry Cecil1006 6/12:06.50
1999Achilles48-11Jason WeaverKarl Burke1025 25/12:07.58
2000Sobriety38-08John ReidFulke Johnson Houghton1020 20/12:10.00
2001Foreign Affairs38-06George DuffieldSir Mark Prescott1002.5 5/2 Fav2:10.15
2002Vintage Premium59-09Paul HanaganRichard Fahey1020 20/12:08.24
2003Far Lane49-04Michael HillsBarry Hills1007 7/12:06.57
2004Arcalis49-02Robert WinstonHoward Johnson1020 20/12:10.01
2005Mullins Bay49-07Kieren FallonAidan O'Brien1004 4/1 Fav2:09.46
2006Fairmile48-12Adam KirbyWalter Swinburn1006 6/1 JF2:07.66
2007Charlie Tokyo [b]48-09Jamie MoriartyRichard Fahey1011 11/11:56.61
2008Flying Clarets58-12Frederik TylickiRichard Fahey1012 12/12:17.61
2009Sirvino48-08Neil BrownDavid Barron1016 16/12:07.18
2010Wigmore Hall38-02Martin LaneMichael Bell1005 5/12:08.65
2011Green Destiny48-10Adam BeschizzaWilliam Haggas1006 6/12:09.74
2012King's Warrior58-09Robert HavlinPeter Chapple-Hyam1033 33/12:08.28
2013Danchai48-11Andrea AtzeniWilliam Haggas1010 10/12:07.79
2014Farraaj59-11Andrea AtzeniRoger Varian1006 6/12:07.96
2015Master Carpenter49-04Philip MakinRod Millman1014 14/12:08.28
2016Educate79-08Thomas BrownIsmail Mohammed1018 18/12:07.34
2017Ballet Concerto49-03James DoyleMichael Stoute1008 8/12:10.16
2018Euchen Glen59-03Alistair RawlinsonJim Goldie1020 20/12:09.50
2019Pivoine59-08Rob HornbyAndrew Balding1014 14/12:10.38
2020Sinjaari48-11Stevie DonohoeWilliam Haggas1011 11/12:09.48
2021Johnny Drama68-13Joshua BryanAndrew Balding1022 22/12:11.82
2022Anmaat49-08Kevin StottOwen Burrows1005 5/1 JF2:08.37
2023Pride of America69-05Frederick LarsonAmy Murphy1018 18/12:09.18

John Smith’s Cup 2022 Result

Check out this result from the York Racecourse:

Summary of John Smith’s Cup

Thank you for reading our John Smith’s Cup guide, we hope it was helpful.

Check out our guides to all the other UK Premier Handicap horse races.

Popular Questions

Where is the John Smith’s Cup held?

The John Smith’s Cup is held at York Racecourse.