March Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The March Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse event for three-year-old horses contested in the United Kingdom.

It takes place each year in late August at Goodwood over a distance of 1 mile and 6 furlongs.

Find out more about the March Stakes:


March Stakes

Some of the horses in the March Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

For racing tips on more races at Goodwood, check out our tips guide.

Our special horse racing tippers provide great free horse event tips for today for all Goodwood racing events!

March Stakes Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners below:

1965Vivat Rex3Johnny RoeWalter Wharton
1966Wrekin Rambler3T. StringerSir Gordon Richards
1967Dart Board3Scobie BreasleySir Gordon Richards
1968Deep Sapphire3S. SmithCecil Boyd-Rochfort
1969Ribofilio3Lester PiggottFulke Johnson Houghton
1970Hazy Idea3Lester PiggottDick Hern
1971Alderney3Geoff BaxterArthur Budgett
1972Scottish Rifle3Ron HutchinsonJohn Dunlop
1973Honey Crepe3Paul CookJack Watts
1974Crash Course3Tony KimberleyJeremy Hindley
1975Whip It Quick3Tony MurrayRyan Price
1976Marquis de Sade3Brian TaylorRyan Price
1977Sporting Yankee3Pat EdderyPeter Walwyn
1978Le Moss3Joe MercerHenry Cecil
1979Torus [a]3John ReidFulke Johnson Houghton
1980Water Mill3Willie CarsonDick Hern
1981Capstan3Joe MercerDick Hern
1982Santella Man3Greville StarkeyGuy Harwood
1983Band3Willie CarsonDick Hern
1984Commanche Run3Darrel McHargueLuca Cumani
1985no race 1985 [b]
1986Celestial Storm3Walter SwinburnLuca Cumani3:03.61
1987Ala Hounak3Billy NewnesFrankie Durr2:57.88
1988Zaffaran3Walter SwinburnMichael Stoute3:03.44
1989Michelozzo3Steve CauthenHenry Cecil3:00.77
1990River God3Steve CauthenHenry Cecil3:01.97
1991Jahafil3Willie CarsonDick Hern3:02.25
1992Rain Rider3Willie CarsonJohn Dunlop3:07.71
1993Shaiba3Michael RobertsMichael Stoute3:01.86
1994Midnight Legend3Frankie DettoriLuca Cumani3:04.07
1995Jellaby Askhir3Ray CochraneReg Akehurst3:03.40
1996Sharaf Kabeer3Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor3:06.57
1997Pentad3Frankie DettoriRoger Charlton3:06.39
1998Ta-Lim3Richard HillsSir Michael Stoute3:09.16
1999Yavana's Pace7Richard HughesMark Johnston3:04.70
2000Alva Glen3Pat EdderySir Michael Stoute3:05.13
2001Shamaiel4Jamie SpencerGerard Butler3:01.74
2002First Charter3Kieren FallonSir Michael Stoute3:01.00
2003First Charter4Kieren FallonSir Michael Stoute3:00.43
2004Orange Touch4Johnny MurtaghAmanda Perrett3:09.47
2005Mubtaker8Richard HillsMarcus Tregoning3:02.27
2006Jadalee3Dale GibsonMarcus Tregoning3:02.37
2007Tungsten Strike6Darryll HollandAmanda Perrett3:04.47
2008Tungsten Strike7Darryll HollandAmanda Perrett3:06.28
2009Mourilyan5Ryan MooreGary L. Moore3:00.71
2010Drunken Sailor5Kieren FallonLuca Cumani3:07.34
2011Motrice4Seb SandersSir Mark Prescott3:03.42
2012Quest for Peace4Richard HughesLuca Cumani3:07.99
2013Harris Tweed6George BakerWilliam Haggas3:04.87
2014Forever Now3William BuickJohn Gosden3:02.43
2015The Twisler3Frederik TylickiJane Chapple-Hyam3:05.07
2016Platitude3Andrea AtzeniSir Michael Stoute3:00.28
2017Call To Mind3Pat CosgraveWilliam Haggas3:05.23
2018Maid Up3Rob HornbyAndrew Balding3:02.76
2019Sir Ron Priestley3Franny NortonMark Johnston3:01.21
2020Subjectivist3Joe FanningMark Johnston3:11.09
2021Dancing King3Joe FanningMark Johnston3:01.62
2022Hoo Ya Mal3William BuickGeorge Boughey3:04.31

March Stakes Previous Result

Check out this result from the Goodwood Racecourse:

March Stakes Popular Questions

Where is the March Stakes held?

The March Stakes is held at Goodwood Racecourse.

When does the March Stakes take place?

Late August is when the March Stakes usually takes place.

Summary of March Stakes

Thank you for reading our March Stakes guide.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races.