Scottish Champion Hurdle

Horses must be four years old or older to compete in the Grade 2 National Hunt hurdle race known as the Scottish Champion Hurdle in Britain.

The Scottish Champion Hurdle is due to take place on Sunday 9th April 2023.

There are nine hurdles to clear during the race, which is conducted in Ayr, South Ayrshire, over a distance of around 2 miles (3,219 metres).

It is a limited handicap race that is slated to happen in April each year.

Scottish Champion Hurdle

Scottish Champion Hurdle 2023 Odds

The Scottish Champion Hurdle odds are listed below:

The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Scottish Champion Hurdle Tips

The Scottish Champion Hurdle tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Scottish Champion Hurdle horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Check out our Ayr horse racing betting tips page if you are looking for more racing tips for events at Ayr Racecourse.

Scottish Champion Hurdle Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2013 Court Minstrel 6 Adam Wedge Evan Williams
2014 Cockney Sparrow 5 Dean Pratt John Quinn
2015 Cheltenian 9 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2016 Ch’Tibello 5 Harry Skelton Dan Skelton
2017 Chesterfield 7 Daniel Sansom Seamus Mullins
2018 Midnight Shadow 5 Danny Cook Sue Smith
2019 Verdana Blue 7 Connor Brace Nicky Henderson
no race 2020 [b]
2021 Milkwood 7 Sam Twiston-Davies Neil Mulholland
2022 Anna Bunina 6 Sean Bowen John C McConnell

Scottish Champion Hurdle 2022 Result

Scottish Champion Hurdle Facts

  • The Scottish Champion Hurdle is a Grade 2 National Hunt hurdle race in Britian which is open to horses aged four years or older.
  • The race is run on the second day of the three-day Ayr Gold Cup Festival at Ayr Racecourse over a distance of about 2 miles, and during its running there are nine hurdles to be jumped.
  • The race was first run in 1966.

Summary of the Scottish Champion Hurdle

Thank you for reading our Scottish Champion Hurdle guide.

Related April Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.