Welsh Racecourses

We have all the best horse racing tracks if you are looking for which racecourses to visit in Wales.

Welsh racegoers have plenty of options with many horse racing venues.

If you are a horse racing fan, who likes attending the racecourse venues, check out our guides to all UK horse racing track guides or all Irish horse racing track guides.

Anyone interested in jockeys, horses, and stables, should go to the Welsh races; whether your chosen horse is a winner or second or third, you will still have fun.

Our Welsh Racecourses guide explains all the leading racecourses in Wales.

Welsh Racecourses List

Here is the full list of Welsh racecourses:

  • Bangor-on-Dee Racecourse
  • Chepstow Racecourse
  • Ffos Las Racecourse

Bangor-on-Dee Race Course

Bangor-on-Dee racecourse, located in Wrexham, is one of Wales’ few horse racing venues.

Opening back in 1859, this particular venue hosts national hunt racing throughout the year, and with racing taking place almost every year since the racecourse first opened.

This racecourse specialises in thoroughbred racing, and offers a family-friendly atmosphere that makes for a terrific day out.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Bangor-on-Dee Race course for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Chepstow Race Course

Chepstow racecourse, located in South Wales, is an excellent horseracing venue with great hospitality for the guests that attend.

Chepstow is one of two racecourses in south wales with Ffos Las being the other racecourse in south wales.

Chepstow racecourse is home to the most prestigious race in Welsh horse racing, The Welsh Grand National, which is held every December.

This racecourse, hosting both flat and national hunt racing, is also one of 16 racecourses to be owned by The Arena Racing Company.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Chepstow Race course for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Ffos Las Racecourse

And finally, there’s Ffos Las raceocourse. This Welsh horseracing venue is very new by modern standards, opening in June 2009.

Since then, this racecourse has grown significantly in popularity, and is now known for hosting the famous Welsh Champion Hurdle each October.

Ffos Las is one of two racecourses in south wales with Chepstow being the other racecourse in south wales.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Ffos Las racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Why Watch Horse Racing In Wales?

Wales is an excellent location for the horse racing, as it’s natural beauty, friendly locals and excellent venue options make it a brilliant day out for all.

Whilst there’s not as many racecourses in Wales as other locations, the few you do have to choose from are all brilliant in their own right, and definitely worth checking out.

So whether you’re local to Wales yourself or just going for a weekend break, the horse racing is definitely something you should consider.

Which Racecourse In Wales Is The Best?

With Wales only being the home to a few racecourses, there’s not too many to choose from. Despite this, our racecourse of choice in Wales would be Chepstow.

Chepstow racecourse offers brilliant hospitality for it’s guests, and has been the home to some tremendous races in the past.

You can almost guarantee you’ll have a good day out at Chepstow, whether attending as a keen horseracing fan, going out with mates or for a fun family day out.

Wales Horse Racing Fixtures 2023

Here is the horse racing calendar for Welsh Horse Races in 2023:

Date Weekday Course Type
5/1/2023 Thursday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
8/1/2023 Sunday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
12/1/2023 Thursday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
17/1/2023 Tuesday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
31/1/2023 Tuesday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
3/2/2023 Friday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
9/2/2023 Thursday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
10/2/2023 Friday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
25/2/2023 Saturday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
5/3/2023 Sunday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
19/3/2023 Sunday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
22/3/2023 Wednesday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
23/3/2023 Thursday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
25/3/2023 Saturday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
9/4/2023 Sunday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
10/4/2023 Monday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
15/4/2023 Saturday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
22/4/2023 Saturday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
25/4/2023 Tuesday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
28/4/2023 Friday Chepstow Evening – Jump – Turf
9/5/2023 Tuesday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
16/5/2023 Tuesday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
20/5/2023 Saturday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
22/5/2023 Monday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
27/5/2023 Saturday Ffos Las Evening – Jump – Turf
2/6/2023 Friday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
8/6/2023 Thursday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
10/6/2023 Saturday Chepstow Evening – Flat – Turf
10/6/2023 Saturday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
16/6/2023 Friday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
25/6/2023 Sunday Ffos Las Afternoon – Flat – Turf
26/6/2023 Monday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
4/7/2023 Tuesday Ffos Las Evening – Flat – Turf
10/7/2023 Monday Chepstow Evening – Flat – Turf
14/7/2023 Friday Chepstow Evening – Flat – Turf
20/7/2023 Thursday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/7/2023 Friday Chepstow Evening – Flat – Turf
31/7/2023 Monday Ffos Las Evening – Flat – Turf
4/8/2023 Friday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
8/8/2023 Tuesday Ffos Las Afternoon – Flat – Turf
16/8/2023 Wednesday Ffos Las Evening – Flat – Turf
21/8/2023 Monday Bangor-On-Dee Evening – Jump – Turf
24/8/2023 Thursday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
25/8/2023 Friday Ffos Las Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/8/2023 Monday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/9/2023 Friday Ffos Las Evening – Flat – Turf
4/9/2023 Monday Chepstow Afternoon – Flat – Turf
5/9/2023 Tuesday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
14/9/2023 Thursday Ffos Las Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/10/2023 Sunday Ffos Las Afternoon – Flat – Turf
4/10/2023 Wednesday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
13/10/2023 Friday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
14/10/2023 Saturday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
15/10/2023 Sunday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
31/10/2023 Tuesday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
31/10/2023 Tuesday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
8/11/2023 Wednesday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
12/11/2023 Sunday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
15/11/2023 Wednesday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
22/11/2023 Wednesday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
24/11/2023 Friday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
2/12/2023 Saturday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
9/12/2023 Saturday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf
15/12/2023 Friday Bangor-On-Dee Afternoon – Jump – Turf
21/12/2023 Thursday Ffos Las Afternoon – Jump – Turf
27/12/2023 Wednesday Chepstow Afternoon – Jump – Turf

Check out our guide for the full list of UK horse racing fixtures in 2023.

Final Thoughts

The biggest horse racing meetings attract massive crowds in Wales.

We strongly recommend visiting if you have never attended a horse racing venue in Wales.

Searches Associated With Welsh Racecourses

  • race courses in Wales
  • Welsh horse racing tracks
  • Horse racing venues in Wales

Popular Questions

Is Horse Racing Popular in Wales?

Wales is a very popular country for horse racing.

How many horse racecourses are there in Wales?

There are three racecourses in Wales.

The 3 Welsh racecourse names include Bangor-on-Dee Race course, Chepstow Race course and Ffos Las Race course.

What is the history of horse racing in Wales?

Welsh horse racing started with the gentry and aristocracy, and the earliest racing was point-to-point horse races.

By 1833 there were many international flat races across Wales, including Cowbridge, Haverfordwest, Conwy, Aberystwyth, Brecon and Wrexham.

What is the most popular type of horse racing in Wales?

One of the most popular forms of horse racing in Wales is harness racing; it has been a premier Welsh horse event for over 100 years.

Other events include steeplechase, flat racing, and the national hunt.

What is the prize money for the Welsh Grand National?

The owners of the horse that makes it to the finish line first will win a total of £150,000.

The £150k will be added to the purse which is split between the owner, jockey, trainer, and stable.

What are the consequences for a horse that is found to have been drugged before a race in Wales?

If the horse has been found to ingest performance-enhancing drugs, it will be expelled from the race, and the horse’s personnel may face criminal charges.

You can learn more about horse doping regulations by reading the Federation Equestre Internationale’s (FEI) equine anti-doping and controlled medication regulations (EADCMR).

What words are associated with horse racing in Wales?

You may find the following words if you search for Welsh horse racing:

  • Last
  • Gallop
  • Gate
  • Lap
  • Pace
  • Bangor-on-dee racecourse
  • Chepstow racecourse
  • Trainers
  • Racing fixtures
  • National hunt

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.