Cambridgeshire Meeting

The Cambridgeshire Meeting is a three-day festival that takes place at Newmarket Racecourse on the Rowley Mile course. Featuring three different Group one races which include, the Cheverly Park Stakes, the Sun Chariot Stakes, and the Middle Park Stakes, and not forgetting the famous Cambridgeshire Handicap.
Open to horses three years old and above, the Cambridgeshire Handicap is run over a distance of one mile one furlong and is the second half of the Autumn double, the Cesarewitch being the other. The first-ever Cambridgeshire Handicap took place in 1839 and won by Lanercost.

Most Successful Horse

Seven horses share the honors of having won the race on two occasions. Hacklers Pride in 1903 and 1904 was followed five years later with Christmas Daisy in 1909 and 1910. Another two consecutive wins in 1948 and 1949 and 1969 and 1970 for Sterope and Prince de Galles, respectively.
The 12/1 shot Baronet, ridden by Brian Rouse and trained by John Benstead, took the crown in 1978 and completed the second two years later in 1980 under the same trainer jockey partnership. It was nine years later when Rambo’s Hall completed the first of his double. With Dean McKewon in the saddle, the Jeremy Glover trained horse chased the leaders over one furlong, running clear, eventually winning by six lengths from Clive Brittain’s horse, Dawn Success.
Rambo’s Hall chalked up his second Cambridgeshire win three years later in 1992. Going off the 9/2favourite, jockey Dean Mckeown got the horse in front a furlong from home and stayed there, winning by two and a half lengths from Montpelier Bay.
Bronze Angel gained his two victories in 2012 and 2014. With William Buick, onboard the Marcus Tregoning trained horse, getting up to second into the final furlong, and with a strong run, the horse quickened and led close home. Winning the 2012 Cambridgeshire Handicap by three-quarters of a length from Mull Of Killough,
There was a repeat of the success in 2014 when apprentice jockey Louis Steward took the reins on the 14/1 shot Bronze Angel. Getting bumped about in the large field didn’t stop Marcus Tregonings’ horse from passing the winning post two and a quarter lengths ahead of Velox and Niceofyoutotellme, who dead-heated for second.

Leading Jockey

We have to go back to the eighteen hundreds to find the leading jockeys of the Cambridgeshire Handicap. With four victories each, George Fordham in 1853, 1857, 1868 and 1871 and Nat Flatman successes coming in 1841, 1844, 1845 and 1854, they are the only jockeys to reach this milestone. Modern-day jockeys to go close by winning three Cambridgeshire’s include Dean McKewon, George Duffield, and Frankie Dettori.
Two of Dean McKewon’s winners came on Rambos Hall mentioned previously. Before those victories, Dean gained his first Cambridgeshire in 1987 on Balthus, trained by Jeremy Glover. The 50/1 outsider got up in the final strides to win by one and a half lengths from Pictograph.
George Duffield won the first of his three a year later in 1988, with his ride Quinlan Terry, trained by Sir Mark Prescott. The 11/1 shot led close to home to win by just a neck from Ile De Chypre. Next up for the English jockey came under another one of Prescott’s horses, Pasternak, one of two Mark Prescott’s charges in the race, got up to win by three-quarters of a length, from the trainers’ other horse, Rudimental. The third and last win came in 2003 on Chivarly, once again trained by Mark Prescott, and beating Adeimus by a short head.
Frankie Dettori made his first appearance in the winners’ enclosure in 1994 when racing to victory on John Gosden’s Halling. Two consecutive wins in 2018 and 2019 with two more Gosden horses, Wissahickon and Lord North respectively, bought his tally to three.

Leading Trainer

John Gosden has five Cambridgeshire winners to his name, three of which are mentioned above. His other two triumphs came courtesy of Pipedreamer in 2007, with Jimmy Fortune in the saddle. With good headway two furlongs out, the horse was soon clear, eventually winning by a length from Dockofthebay.
Tazeez came a year later in 2008 under the guidance of jockey Richard Hills. The 25/1 shot edged left two furlongs out, staying on to lead in the final seventy-five yards, beating American challenger, Nanton, by a length.

Other horse racing betting events

Our team has reviewed all the latest betting events for September 2020. Check out our other posts: