Coral Eclipse

Named after a former 18th-century racehorse Eclipse, the Coral-Eclipse takes place at Sandown Racecourse every year in July. The grade 1 race is run over a distance of one mile one furlong and is open to horses aged three years or older. The first-ever running of the race took place in 1886 and was won by Bendigo, ridden by Tom Cannon Sr, and trained by Charles Jousiffe.
With a prize fund of £10,000, which was donated by Leopold De Rothschild, it was the most precious horse in Britain at the time. The race has been sponsored by bookmakers Coral since 1976 and is now well known as the ‘Coral-Eclipse.’

Most Successful Horse

Five horse has won the race on two separate occasions, and we have to go back to the eighteen hundreds when Orme was the first horse to win it twice. He achieved it in consecutive years in 1892 and 1893, firstly under the jockeyship of George Barrett, and secondly, Morny Cannon, with John Porter, the trainer on both occasions.
The other four horses to win it twice did so in consecutive years. Buchan in 1919 and 1920. Polyphonies 1924 and 1925. With Michael Roberts on board, Mtoto, trained by Alec Stewart, took on Derby winner Reference Point in the 1987 Coral-Eclipse. Both horses were locked in battle going to the winning post, but the older horse Mtoto just had enough to grab the spoils. Another excellent finish in 1988 saw Mtoto get up on the line to just pip Shady Heights for his second victory in two years.
Halling took the honors in 1995 and 1996. Ridden by Walter Swinburn and trained by Saeed Bin Suroor both times, he saw off a strong challenge in the final 100 yards from Singspiel, to win the 1995 race. A thrilling finish a year later saw Bijou d’ Inde get in front of Halling in the final fifty yards only for Walter Swinburn to pull out all the stops, and regain the lead, just getting up on the line for Hollings second consecutive Coral-Eclipse triumph.

Leading Jockey

Chat about horse racing, and at some point, the name Lester Piggot will enter the conversation. Talk about the Coral-Eclipse, and its a certainty. With his seven wins in the event, the late master is the leading jockey in the race. His first Eclipse was won in 1951 on Mystery XI, trained by Percy Carter. Four years later, Lester was on the Harry Wraggs trained horse Darius, and duly notched up his second Eclipse.
Two years on and Arctic Explorer, trained by Noel Murless, gave the jockey his hat-trick of wins in the race. On to 1961 and Mr. Piggot was on another Noel Murless horse, this time St Paddy, the winner of the 1960 Derby and St Ledger, and gave the jockey his fourth Eclipse. Pieces of Eight in 1966, Wolver Hollow in 1969, and Artaius in 1977 bought Lester Piggott’s total to seven Coral-Eclipse victories.

Leading Trainer

Sir Michael Stoute, with his six Coral-Eclipse successes, is the modern-day leading trainer in the race. Opera house, who was ridden by Michael Kinane, got Michael off the mark, winning from Frankie Detorris mount, Missile, in the 1993 running of the race. The following year in 1994, the double was up when Walter Swinburn was on board Irish horse Ezzoud, who won by half a length from fellow Irish horse, Bobs Return.
It was Michael Kinane again who took to the saddle on Sir Michaels’s next winner in 1996 when Pilsudski the 11/2 shot beat American horse, Benny, the Dip by one and a quarter lengths. Four years later, in 2001 and Michael Stoute chalked up his fourth win in the Coral-Eclipse. Medicean, ridden by Kieren Fallon, beat James Fanshawe’s horse, Grandera, into second.
Going off at 7/1, Notnowcato under the jockeyship of Ryan Moore was driven out one furlong from home, eventually beating the odds on favorite, Authorized, ridden by Frankie Dettori, by one and a half lengths. The knighted trainers’ final winner in the race to date came in 2017 with Ulysses. The 8/1 shot was almost caught on the line by second-placed Barney Boy, winning by the finest of margins, a nose.

Other horse racing betting events

Our team has reviewed all the latest betting events for September 2020. Check out our other posts: