Denman Chase

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Denman Chase is a Grade 2 race over three miles at Newbury in February. It is named after the 2008 Cheltenham Gold Cup winner who won two Hennessy Gold Cups at the Berkshire track.

Originally run as the Aon Chase in 2000, the race quickly became established as a leading trial for the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Notable past winners include Kauto Star (2007), Denman (2008), Long Run (2012), Coneygree (2015) and three-time winner Native River (2017, 2018 and 2020).

This 2:45 pm race is an important race of February 2024.

Find out more about Denman Chase:


Denman Chase

Race Overview – The Denman Chase

Horses five years old or older may compete in the Grade 2 National Hunt steeplechase, the Denman Chase.

There are 18 obstacles to jump during the race, which is held at Newbury over a distance of around 2 miles and 712 furlongs (2 miles 7 furlongs and 86 yards, or 4,706 metres).

Many Denman Chase horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

If you are looking for more racing tips for events taking place at Newbury Racecourse then check out our Newbury horse racing tips page.

For all Newbury races, our finest racing tipsters give free horse racing tips!

Famous Denman Chase Winners

The inaugural running in 2000 was won by See More Business, the winner of the 1999 Cheltenham Gold Cup and the King George VI chase in 1997 and 1999. He was in the care of Paul Nicholls who has a fine record in this race. He trained Shotgun Willy to win in 2001 and Valley Henry in 2003.

Nicholls won it for the fourth time with Kauto Star in 2007. He went on to become one of the greatest steeplechasers of all time, winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 2007 and 2009 and a remarkable five King George VI Chases. His record Kempton victories came in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011.

The 2008 renewal was won by Denman himself, known as The Tank because of his great stature. He defeated stable companion Kauto Star in an epic 2008 Gold Cup. Kauto Star then became the first horse in history to regain the Gold Cup after being defeated in the race.

2012 winner Long Run had won the Gold Cup in 2011 and won the King George VI Chase twice for Nicky Henderson.

Nicholls was back in the winner’s enclosure the following season with Silviniaco Conti, the King George winner in 2013 and 2014. He was unlucky not to win a Cheltenham Gold Cup but finished the 2014 season as the top-rated Anglo-Irish chaser.

In 2015 the race was won by the novice Coneygree. His seven lengths victory convinced connections to go for Gold rather than the RSA Chase with their stable star. They were rewarded with the first novice chaser to win chasing’s Blue Riband event since Captain Christy in 1974.

Colin Tizzard’s Native River added his name to the roll of honour in 2017. He repeated his victory in 2018 when also winning the Gold Cup before adding a record third win in the race in 2020. He had already won the Hennessy Gold Cup at Newbury and the Coral Welsh National at Chepstow in 2016.

Key Denman Chase Trials

There is no outstanding trial for the Denman Chase but it is on the radar of trainers of the leading Gold Cup contenders.

Five of the last twelve winners had won on their most recent outing and six of them had recorded at least one previous victory at Newbury.

Six of the last twelve winners ran in the Cheltenham Gold Cup that season. Coneygree (2015) and Native River (2018) won both races. Long Run (2012) and Native River (2017) also finished third in the Gold Cup after winning this race.

2022 winner Eldorado Allen ran in the Ryanair Chase instead where he finished third.

Denman Chase 2024 Result

Six of the last twelve favourites have been successful.

Long Run, Silviniaco Conti, Coneygree, Native River (2018 and 2020) and Clan Des Obeaux were the successful market leaders.

All but one of the twelve winners were in the first three in the betting. The exception was surprise 14-1 winner Secret Investor in 2021, trained by Paul Nicholls and ridden by Bryony Frost.

Shooting Light (2004) is the oldest winner in the history of the Denman Chase at the age of eleven.

Three ten-year-olds have won it; See More Business, Noland and Native River.

No horse younger than seven has managed to win it.

An official rating of 155 or higher is normally required to win this event.

Long Run (182) is the highest recent winner.

Denman Chase – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Paul Nicholls has an incredible record in the Denman Chase with ten victories; See More Business (2000), Shotgun Willy (2001), Valley Henry (2003), Kauto Star (2007), Denman (2008), Tricky Trickster (2010), Noland (2011), Silviniaco Conti (2013), Clan Des Obeaux (2019) and Secret Investor (2021).

Colin Tizzard has trained the winner on four occasions, three times with Native River and again with Eldorado Allen in 2022.

Richard Johnson is the leading rider in the history of the Denman Chase with four victories; Shooting Light (2004), Farmer Jack (2005), Coneygree (2016) and Native River (2018).

Ruby Walsh won it three times; Kauto Star (2007), Tricky Trickster (2010) and Silviniaco Conti (2013).

Betting on the Denman Chase

The Denman Chase is still a relatively new race but it already has a rich history featuring some of the best chasers of modern times.

Trainer Paul Nicholls has a superb record in this race so his entries must always be treated with the utmost respect.

It is one of the top Gold Cup trial and often provides a leading contender for the big race in March.

Summary of the Denman Chase

Thank you for checking out our Denman Chase guide.

We have looked at the history, previous winners, betting odds, tips and more, so you can make an informed decision when either watching the racing or placing a bet.

Check out our tips for races at Newbury if you enjoy watching races at this course.

Here are all of February’s horse racing related posts: