Dipper Novices’ Chase

In Great Britain, horses must be five years old or older to compete in the Grade 2 Dipper Novices’ Chase.

There are seventeen obstacles to be jumped during the race, which is run on the New Course at Cheltenham over a distance of around 2 miles and 412 furlongs (2 miles 4 furlongs and 127 yards or 4,175 metres).

The Novice Chasers’ race is slated to take place on New Year’s Day each year.

Find out more about the Dipper Novices’ Chase:

Dipper Novices’ Chase

Dipper Novices’ Chase 2022 Odds

The Dipper Novices’ Chase 2022 odds are below:

  • The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Dipper Novices’ Chase Tips

Our Dipper Novices’ Chase tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

There are horses from the Dipper Novices’ Chase that will also run in other races through the year so stay updated on them and place ante-post bets.

Dipper Novices’ Chase Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2014 Oscar Whisky 9 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2015 Ptit Zig 6 Sam Twiston-Davies Paul Nicholls
2016 Seeyouatmidnight 8 Brian Hughes Sandy Thomson
2017 Whisper 9 Davy Russell Nicky Henderson
2018 Yanworth 8 Barry Geraghty Alan King
2019 Lostintranslation 7 Robbie Power Colin Tizzard
2020 Midnight Shadow 7 Danny Cook Sue Smith
2021 Messire Des Obeaux[d] 9 Daryl Jacob Alan King
2022 L’Homme Presse 7 Charlie Deutsch Venetia Williams

What Happened In The 2022 Dipper Novices’ Chase

Summary of the Dipper Novices’ Chase

Thank you for reading our Dipper Novices’ Chase guide.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.