Greatwood Gold Cup

Horses five years old and older may enter the Greatwood Gold Cup, a Grade 3 National Hunt steeplechase in Great Britain.

There are sixteen fences to jump during the race, which is held at Newbury over a distance of around 2 miles and 4 furlongs (2 miles, 3 furlongs, and 187 yards, or 3,993 metres).

It will take place each year in late February or early March and is a handicap race.

Greatwood Gold Cup

Greatwood Gold Cup 2022 Odds

The Greatwood Gold Cup odds are listed below:

The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Greatwood Gold Cup Tips

The Greatwood Gold Cup tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Greatwood Gold Cup horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Greatwood Gold Cup Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2013 Pacha Du Polder 6 Ryan Mahon Paul Nicholls
2014 Shangani 8 Tom Scudamore Venetia Williams
2015 Sound Investment 7 Sam Twiston-Davies Paul Nicholls
2016 Sametegal 7 Sam Twiston-Davies Paul Nicholls
2017 Thomas Crapper 10 Charlie Poste Robin Dickin
2018 Abandoned due to snow
2019 San Benedeto 8 Nick Scholfield Paul Nicholls
2020 No race[b][1]
2021 Umbrigado 7 David Noonan David Pipe
2022 Paint The Dream 8 Conor Brace Fergal O’Brien

Greatwood Gold Cup 2022 Result

Greatwood Gold Cup Facts

  • The Greatwood Gold Cup is a National Hunt steeplechase in England which is open to horses aged 5 years or older.
  • The race is run at Newbury over a distance of 2 miles and 4 furlongs, and during its running, there are sixteen fences to be jumped.
  • It is a Grade 3 race and it is scheduled to take place each year in late February or early March.

Summary of the Greatwood Gold Cup

Thank you for reading our Greatwood Gold Cup guide.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.