Ascot Champions Day

British Champion’s Day is a horse race at Ascot Racecourse, which is conveniently located in Ascot, Berkshire, England. Ascot Champions day was only added to the racing calendar in 2011, and it now acts as the premiere conclusion to the season for racehorse enthusiasts where you get to see the big champions race! The big race showcases the total five divisions of the Champions Series combined with a one-mile handicap. It is also the biggest payday in British thoroughbred horse racing. In 2016, for example, in 2016, over £4 million was dished out.
Ascot Champions Day brought many season-ending historic races in both Ascot and Newmarket and consolidated them into one meeting of races in Ascot. The two Newmarket races that became consolidated at Ascot were the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes and the Champion Stakes. They kept their original names despite the move to Ascot. They also became the finals for the Mile distance and Middle distance race divisions. The existing Diadem Stakes, Jockey Club Cup, and Pride Stakes were re-named the British Champions Sprint, the British Champions Long Distance Cup, and the British Champions Fillies’ and Mare’s Stakes respectively.

Most Successful Horse

Frankel is the most successful horse of the Ascot Champions Day races winning the Queen Elizabeth II stakes in 2011 and then winning the Champions Stakes with a historic crowd size of 32,000. The world Thoroughbred Racehorse Rankings Committee rate Frankel as the best racehorse since it was inception in 1977. Frankel was unbeaten in his fourteen-year career.
Khalid bin Abdullah Al Saud owns Frankel, and if the last name sounds familiar, it is more than likely because he is a member of the House of Saud. His father is Abdullah bin Abdul-Rahman who, in turn, is the younger half-brother of Kind Abdulaziz.

Leading Jockey

Since the Ascot Champions day is the culmination of many existing races that date back well beyond 2011, we only measure the jockeys that have the most wins in the five ancient races since 2011, and that is Frankie Dettori. Dettori is an Italian jockey who has been Champion Jockey a total of 3 times and has won more than 500 group races. The legendary Lester Piggott once described Frankie Dettori as the best jockey currently riding. Frankie Dettori’s father is a well known Sardinian Jockey named Gianfranco Dettori and who was a prolific winner of many Italian horse races.
Dettorie was the stable jockey for Godolphin Racing, and it was there that he won the bulk of his race victories. In 2012 he became a freelance jockey and split with Godolphin Racing after being found guilty of taking a banned substance, which to this day is widely believed to be cocaine. Dettorie has also bee on the UK version of the hit reality series Celebrity Big Brother. He also became the face of “Jockey Yogurt” in 2007 sold throughout Europe.
It should be mentioned that the leading Champion Jockey of each season is the jockey who has rode the most winning horses in a given season, which is distinct from the number of Ascot Champion’s Day victories. Nevertheless, worth mentioning. Since the addition of the Ascot Champions Day race to the schedule in 2011, two jockeys have managed to win three seasons each: Irish born Richard Hughes and Brazilian born Silvestre de Sousa. Richard Hughes, however, leads in a total number of winning horses ridden with 541 to Silvestre de Sousa’s 435.

Leading Trainer

The Ascot Champions Day leading trainer is none other than the legendary thoroughbred racehorse trainer Aiden O’Brien. O’Brien was one of six children born in County Wexford, Ireland, in 1969. He was the Irish National Hunt champion trainer in the 1993/4 season and held the title for the following consecutive five seasons. Since the Ascot Champions day came into being in 2011, he has won 10 races at the trainer, giving him the most wins of any trainer.
The Ascot Champions Day races are poised to continue to showcase the best and most thrilling to watch, horses, jockeys, and trainers in flat racing and will continue to be at the top of the prize pools for British horse racing.

Other horse racing betting events

Our team has reviewed all the latest betting events for September 2020. Check out our other posts: