Berkshire Racecourses

Berkshire is a stunning county and boasts some magnificent racecourses. We take a look at them all in our Berkshire racing guide and give you all the information you need if planning a visit. 

Berkshire is home to two of the most famous racecourses in the world – Ascot and Royal Windsor – which hold many race days that attract huge crowds 12 months of the year.

Our Berkshire racecourses guide explains all the leading racecourses in and around Berkshire county.

Find out more about Berkshire Racecourses:

Berkshire Racecourses

Berkshire Racecourses List

Here is the full list of racecourses in and around the Berkshire area:

  • Ascot
  • Windsor
  • Newbury

Ascot

Ascot is one of the more popular racecourses in the UK and is home to the world-famous Royal Ascot racing event, Britain’s most valuable race meeting.

Ascot is a terrific race course that attracts hundreds of thousands of viewers every single year, with its excellent hospitality, venue and most importantly, race events.

The course itself at Ascot is flat, designed for national hunt races throughout the year.

Founded in 1711 by Queen Anne, Ascot racecourse has a prestigious history that dates back centuries. During that time, there have been some historic moments taking place at this famous racing event, and it’s no surprise it’s so popular here in the UK.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Ascot Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Windsor

Windsor racecourse, also known as Royal Windsor, is another of the great race courses situated in the Berkshire area.

This particular racecourse is one of only two figure-of-eight courses in the United Kingdom, the other being Fontwell Park.

Windsor’s most notable races take place throughout the middle of the year, beginning in May with The Royal Windsor Stakes, and ending in August with The Winter Hill Stakes.

The first race at Windsor took place back in 1866, and since then, Windsor races has only grown in popularity as a racing event to attend in the UK.

Interestingly, this racecourse has also been the location for some famous films and TV shows, including the likes of Last Orders and Midsomer Murders.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Windsor Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Newbury

Newbury is the third and final racecourse in and around the Berkshire area, offering excellent facilities and a brilliant day out for race-goers.

The first race at Newbury took place back in 1805, with the first annual race at Newbury taking place exactly 100 years later in 1905.

This venue has been home to some amazing races over the years, and some amazing entertainment too, with artists such as Westlife, Olly Murs, Craig David and more performing at this venue.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Newbury Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Horse Races In Berkshire 2023

Here is the horse racing calendar for all horse racing events in Berkshire in 2023:

Date Weekday Course Type
18/1/2023 Wednesday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
21/1/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
11/2/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
18/2/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
19/2/2023 Sunday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
3/3/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
4/3/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
24/3/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
25/3/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
2/4/2023 Sunday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
17/4/2023 Monday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/4/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
22/4/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
24/4/2023 Monday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/5/2023 Monday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
3/5/2023 Wednesday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
8/5/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
12/5/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
13/5/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
15/5/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
19/5/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
20/5/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
22/5/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
29/5/2023 Monday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
5/6/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
7/6/2023 Wednesday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
12/6/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
15/6/2023 Thursday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
19/6/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
20/6/2023 Tuesday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/6/2023 Wednesday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
22/6/2023 Thursday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/6/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
24/6/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
26/6/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
27/6/2023 Tuesday Newbury Evening – Flat – Turf
1/7/2023 Saturday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
2/7/2023 Sunday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
3/7/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
6/7/2023 Thursday Newbury Evening – Flat – Turf
13/7/2023 Thursday Newbury Evening – Flat – Turf
14/7/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
15/7/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
17/7/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
21/7/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
22/7/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
24/7/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
27/7/2023 Thursday Newbury Evening – Flat – Turf
28/7/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
29/7/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
29/7/2023 Saturday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
7/8/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
12/8/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
13/8/2023 Sunday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
14/8/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
18/8/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
19/8/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/8/2023 Monday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
26/8/2023 Saturday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
29/8/2023 Tuesday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
7/9/2023 Thursday Windsor Evening – Flat – Turf
8/9/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
9/9/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
22/9/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/9/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
6/10/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
7/10/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
9/10/2023 Monday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
16/10/2023 Monday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/10/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/10/2023 Monday Windsor Afternoon – Flat – Turf
27/10/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/10/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Flat – Turf
4/11/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
9/11/2023 Thursday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
24/11/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
25/11/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
1/12/2023 Friday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
2/12/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
20/12/2023 Wednesday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf
22/12/2023 Friday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
23/12/2023 Saturday Ascot Afternoon – Jump – Turf
30/12/2023 Saturday Newbury Afternoon – Jump – Turf

Check out our guide for the full list of BHA horse race meetings throughout the UK.

Why Watch Horse Racing In Berkshire?

Berkshire is a great location to watch horse racing and there are some great options of racecourses to choose from. But not only that, Berkshire is a beautiful, picturesque area of the United Kingdom, so many choose to make a full weekend of it when visiting Berkshire for the races.

And finally, with its close proximity to London, those who either live in the capital or are simply visiting on holiday can easily make their way to many of the Berkshire racecourses via public transport, with transportation to and from London very easy.

Which Racecourse In Berkshire Is The Best?

Ascot is the most popular racecourse in Berkshire for those looking for the biggest races to view, however that doesn’t necessarily make it the best racecourse to visit in Berkshire.

Factors such as the convenience of location, atmosphere, ticket availability and more all play a part in which racecourse will be best for you.

As a result, we’d always recommend taking a look at each of the racecourses in Berkshire to make up your own mind on which location suits you best.

Berkshire Racecousres Facts

  • Berkshire is home to some of the UK’s most prestigious racecourses, including Ascot, Windsor and Newbury.
  • The first recorded race meeting in Berkshire took place in 1711 at Newbury racecourse.
  • Ascot racecourse is the most famous in Berkshire and is known for its royal connection and annual Royal Ascot meeting.
  • Windsor racecourse is the oldest in Berkshire, having been founded in 1879.
  • Newbury racecourse is the largest in Berkshire, and hosts both flat and national hunt racing.
  • Lambourn is known as the ‘Valley of the Racehorse’ and is home to many of the county’s top trainers and stables.
  • Berkshire is also home to the Royal Berkshire Polo Club, which was founded in 1874.
  • The largest racecourse is Ascot, which covers 420 acres.

Popular Questions

Is horse racing popular in Berkshire?

Berkshire is a very popular county for horse racing.

How many horse racecourses are there in Berkshire?

There are three racecourses in Berkshire.

The 3 Berkshire racecourse names include Ascot, Newbury and Royal Windsor.

Who organises horse racing at Berkshire racecourses?

Newbury Racecourse PLC is a group that oversees many horse racing events in Berkshire.

The horseracing site, Newbury Racecourse, boasts the largest conference and events centre in Berkshire, with over 3,800 sq.

How much do jockeys get paid per race in Berkshire?

In most cases, a jockey in a Berkshire race will earn 8% of the winning prize money.

It doesn’t matter the speed at which they crossed the finish line, just that they were first.

What sights are near Berkshire racecourses?

You can find the following sights near Berkshire racecourses, such as Ascot Racecourse.

  • Reading Museum.
  • Basildon Park estate.
  • Beale Park.
  • Bucklebury Farm Park.
  • California Country Park.
  • Dinton Pastures Country Park.
  • The Herb Farm.
  • Legoland.
  • River Thames.
  • Windsor Castle.

 

Final Thoughts – Berkshire Racing

Berkshire is blessed with 3 great racecourses, all of which offer something different but are all popular and brilliant.

If you have never attended a horse racing venue near Berkshire, we strongly recommend visiting the 2022 Royal Ascot Festival. You will get to experience the excitement and energy of the competition; you can mingle with owners and horses!

Searches Associated With Berkshire Racecourses

  • Horse racing in Berkshire
  • List of Berkshire racecourses
  • Race courses in Berkshire

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.