Lillie Langtry Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Lillie Langtry Stakes is a Group 2 race for fillies and mares over a mile and three-quarters at Glorious Goodwood in late July/early August.

The Lillie Langtry Stakes takes place on the 3rd of August 2024.

There have been three dual winners; Tartouche (2005 and 2006),  Wild Coco (2012 and 2013) and Enbihaar (2019, 2020).

Other notable winners include subsequent St Leger winner Simple Verse in 2015.

Find out more about the Lillie Langtry Stakes:

Lillie Langtry Stakes

Race Overview – Lillie Langtry

The Lillie Langtry Stakes is a Group 2 flat race for three-year-old fillies and mares. It takes place every year in late July or early August at Goodwood over a distance of 1 mile and 6 furlongs.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 2 horse races.

Lillie Langtry Stakes Odds 2024

Here are the latest odds for the Lillie Langtry Stakes in 2024:

These odds have not yet been released.

Lillie Langtry Stakes Tips 2024

Here are some tips for Lillie Langtry Stakes in 2024:

  • 2 points to win on TBC
  • 1 point each way on TBC

Some of the horses in the Lillie Langtry Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Please take a look at our racing tips guide for Goodwood.

Our best tipsters for racing provide the most helpful tips for the races at Goodwood!

Lillie Langtry Stakes Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners of this race:

2013Wild Coco5Tom QueallyLady Cecil
2014Missunited7Jim CrowleyMichael Winters
2015Simple Verse3Harry BentleyRalph Beckett
2016California4Robert HavlinJohn Gosden
2017Endless Time5William BuickCharlie Appleby
2018Pilaster3David EganRoger Varian
2019Enbihaar4Jim CrowleyJohn Gosden
2020Enbihaar5Jim CrowleyJohn Gosden
2021Wonderful Tonight4William BuickDavid Menuisier
2022Sea La Rosa4Tom MarquandWilliam Haggas
2023Sumo Sam3Tom MarquandPaul & Oliver Cole

Lillie Langtry Stakes Previous Result

Check out this result from the Goodwood Racecourse:

Famous Lillie Langtry Stakes Winners

The Lillie Langtry Stakes was first run in 2003 as the Gladness Stakes, named after the 1958 Goodwood Cup winner.

The inaugural winner was Moments of Joy, trained by Rae Guest and ridden by Seb Sanders. The race was renamed the following season and promoted to Group 3 status.

Tartouche won the Lillie Langtry Stakes in successive seasons in 2005 and 2006 for Lady Herries. Her achievement was matched by Wild Coco, trained by Sir Henry Cecil in 2012 and by Lady Cecil in 2013. Wild Coco followed up her second victory by chasing home dual Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe winner Treve in the Group 1 Prix Vermeille.

Simple Verse won this race in 2015 for Ralph Beckett and Harry Bentley. She went on to feature in the most controversial finish to the St Leger in racing history. She beat Aidan O’Brien’s Bondi Beach by a head but was disqualified by the on-course stewards for causing interference. The decision was reversed on appeal with Simple Verse being re-instated, the first filly to win the St Leger since User Friendly in 1992.

Endless Time was another high-class winner for Godolphin in 2017. She had shown her best form on soft ground, notably when runner-up to Vazirabad in the 2016 Prix Royal-Oak. Heavy rain eased the going to soft at Goodwood and William Buick drove her out to beat Dubka by a neck.

David Menuisier trained Wonderful Tonight to win here in 2021, the winner of two Group 1 races the previous season including the British Champions Fillies & Mares at Ascot.

Key Lillie Langtry Stakes Trials

The winners of the Lillie Langtry Stakes in recent seasons have often been contesting Group 1 races previously.

Missunited (2014) started favourite on the strength of a fine run in the Ascot Gold Cup when runner-up to Leading Light.

Meeznah, runner-up but later disqualified in the 2010 Epsom Oaks, was winning her first race for over a year when successful here in 2011. She ran in the Aphrodite Stakes on her previous start. Wonderful Tonight won the Group 2 Hardwicke Stakes at Royal Ascot last time out.

California (2016) had won a handicap at Ascot prior to her victory for John Gosden. Simple Verse also took the handicap route, winning the Bibury Cup at Salisbury when rated only 82.

The Park Hill Stakes, otherwise known as the fillies’ St Leger, is often the target for Lillie Langtry Stakes winners. Hi Calypso (2007), Wild Coco (2102) and Enbihaar (2019) were all successful in that race.

Only two three-year-olds have won the Lillie Langtry Stakes in the past 12 seasons; Simple Verse (2015) and Pilaster (2018). Simple Verse (11-1) was the only winner in the past twelve years not to have been in the first three in the Lillie Langtry Stakes odds.

There have been five winning market leaders during the same period; Wild Coco (2013), Missunited (2014), Endless Time (2017), Enbihaar (2020) and Wonderful Tonight (2021).

Shock results are rare in this event. Eastern Aria returned at 16-1 in the Lillie Langtry Stakes in 2010. Simple Verse (2015) returned at 11-1 but all of the remaining winners have been 6-1 or shorter.

Seven of the last twelve winners had been successful on their most recent outing. Most winners here had raced within the six weeks prior to Glorious Goodwood. Wild Coco was an exception, winning in 2012 and 2013 after an absence in excess of 300 days on both occasions.

Previous course form can be a useful guide when assessing your Lillie Langtry Stakes tip. Five of the last twelve winners had previously won at Goodwood.

An official rating of 95 or higher is usually required to win this race.

Lillie Langtry Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Missunited (2014) remains the only Irish-trained winner of the race to date, trained by Michael Winters.

John Gosden is the leading trainer with three winners; California (2016) and Enbihaar (2019, 2020).

Henry Cecil and Lady Herries each won the race twice.

Three jockeys currently share top riding honours in the Lillie Langtry with three winners; Seb Sanders, Tom Queally and Jim Crowley. The latter rode Missunited to victory in 2014 and was on board Enbihaar in 2019 and 2020.

William Buick has two victories with Endless Time (2017) and Wonderful Tonight (2021).

Betting on the Lillie Langtry Stakes

The first three in the betting have dominated the Lillie Langtry Stakes and it is a race in which to follow the form horses.

The Lillie Langtry Stakes has attracted 7 or fewer runners in four of the last six seasons with horses with previous Group 1 or Group 2 form often taking the prize.

Summary of Lillie Langtry Stakes

We hope you have enjoyed our guide to the Lillie Langtry Stakes.

It is one of the season highlights and has been won by some top-class fillies over the years.

Popular Questions

Where is the Lillie Langtry Stakes held?

The Lillie Langtry Stakes is held at Goodwood Racecourse.

If you have enjoyed this Glorious Goodwood race, here are some other articles related to Glorious Goodwood betting you may also like: