Glorious Goodwood

Glorious Goodwood is a world-famous flat horse racing event, which is also one of the annual highlights of the British horse-racing calendar. It is held every year in the glorious surrounds of Goodwood racecourse in Sussex, in late July or early August. Its fame has grown over the years, and now thousands of punters flock to the racetrack every summer to witness this incredible spectacle of racing talent and pageantry. Although it is almost universally as the ‘Glorious Goodwood’ meet, it is officially called the Qatar Goodwood Festival, as it sponsored by the nation of Qatar. The most prestigious race at the Glorious Goodwood festival is the Goodwood Cup. This famed race has been run every year since its inauguration in 1808 and has attracted some of the best flat racing horses, jockeys, and trainers from across the world.

Most Successful Horse

Over the three centuries that the Glorious Goodwood racing festival, there have been many notably successful horses, but undoubtedly the leading horse for this course must be ‘Kincsem’. She was a thoroughbred racehorse with a separate line of sires and grandsires. She holds the incredible record of having the longest unbeaten streak in all of horse racing. In her career in the 1870s, she competed for inn 54 races and won all 54! He was foaled and trained in Hungary (then part of the Austro-Hungarian empire), where even today, she is much remembered and revered. She is a national icon of this eastern European country!
In her career, she raced in the most critical meets all over Europe, claiming victory everywhere she traveled. This includes notable wins in Hungary, France, Germany, and of course, Britain. She won the much-coveted Goodwood cup at the Glorious Goodwood festival in 1878 as a four-year-old mare. She is described as having ‘won in a canter’ by two lengths. Her victory is still remembered. She went on to retire as a successful broodmare, with her modern descendants including winners of many English classics.

Leading Jockey

Many jockeys vie for this accolade, and five jockeys have won the Goodwood cup at Glorious Goodwood 5 times each. However, in recent times, no one has compared to the former Irish Jockey Pat Eddery, who has a remarkable record at this summer meetup.
Haling from Newbridge, County Kildare, it is no real surprise that he went on to have such a distinguished horse racing career, as he was born and raised just minutes from the famous Curragh racecourse, the home of the celebrated Irish Derby. Over his long career, he rode over 4600 winners in British flat races, a monumental achievement. He is also the co-holder for the record of most title championships and has won the much-coveted Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe 4 times between 1980 and 1987.
His successes at the Glorious Goodwood festival is no less impressive. While he was still very early in his career, he won the Goodwood Stakes in 1971, and this taste of victory would inspire him to much higher successes. He would also come back to the Glorious Goodwood festival to meet success as a trainer after his riding career was finished.

Leading Trainer

Mark Johnston is a very famous name in British racing circles. He is a Scottish born trainer who has gone on to achieve notable success and home and abroad, and nowhere has his horse training talents been better showcased than at the Glorious Goodwood festival. He has been the leading trainer at this festival on 13 separate occasions.
He has trained over 4000 flat horse winners in his long career, and in August 2018, he became the single most successful British flat trainer of all time when Frankie Dettori claimed victory aboard Poet’s Society at York. He has trained innumerable famous horses, but among the most noteworthy are Attraction, Shamardal, and Double Trigger, winner of the Ascot Gold Cup.
Mark is blessed with natural aptitude as a trainer, which is no doubt due in part to his intimate knowledge of horse he gained when training to be a vet. He is still training horses at his Yorkshire based center, and he hopes to have more winners at Glorious Goodwood in the future.

Other horse racing betting events

Our team has reviewed all the latest betting events for October 2020. Check out our other posts: