Lennox Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Lennox Stakes is a Group 2 race over seven furlongs at Glorious Goodwood in late July/early August.

The Lennox Stakes takes place on the 30th of July 2024.

There have been two dual winners; Nayyir (2002, 2003) and Sir Dancealot (2018, 2019). Other high-class winners include Observatory (2000), Paco Boy (2008) and Space Blues (2020).

Find out more about the Lennox Stakes:


Lennox Stakes

Race Overview – The Lennox Stakes

The Lennox Stakes is a Group 2 flat event held on day one of the Glorious Goodwood Festival.

It takes place at Goodwood Racecourse over a distance of seven furlongs on the 1st day which is held on Tuesday 26th July 2024.

The Lennox Stakes is one of the top seven-furlong Group Two races of the season.

In our Lennox Stakes guide, we provide information on the betting odds, tips and history of the famous horse racing event.

Lennox Stakes Tips 2024

Here are some tips for Lennox Stakes in 2024:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Check out our comprehensive guide for more betting tips on the 1st day of Glorious Goodwood.

Some of the horses in the Lennox Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Take a look at our horse racing tips page for Goodwood Racecourse.

Our brilliant tipsters for horse racing provide the most profitable tips for the events at Goodwood races!

Lennox Stakes Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners of this race:

2013Garswood3Ryan MooreRichard Fahey
2014Es Que Love5Adam KirbyClive Cox
2015Toormore4James DoyleRichard Hannon Jr.
2016Dutch Connection4James McDonaldCharles Hills
2017Breton Rock7Andrea AtzeniDavid Simcock
2018Sir Dancealot4Gerald MosseDavid Elsworth
2019Sir Dancealot5Gerald MosseDavid Elsworth
2020Space Blues4William BuickCharlie Appleby
2021Kinross4Rossa RyanRalph Beckett
2022Sandrine3David ProbertAndrew Balding
2023Kinross6Frankie DettoriRalph Beckett

Lennox Stakes Previous Result

Check out this result from the Goodwood Racecourse:

Famous Lennox Stakes Winners

The Lennox Stakes was first run in 2000, named after the Duke of Lennox, a dukedom of Goodwood racecourse owner, the Duke of Richmond. The inaugural running was won by Observatory, a top-class three-year-old trained by John Gosden and ridden by Kevin Darley. He went on to win the Group 1 Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot.

Initially classed as a Group 3, the Lennox Stakes was given Group 2 status in 2003 when Nayyir claimed his second successive victory.

Court Masterpiece won in 2005, trained by Ed Dunlop and ridden by Philip Robinson. He won the Prix de la Foret that season and the Group 1 Sussex Stakes the following year.

2008 winner Paco Boy would win over £1million in prize money during his racing career. He was trained by Richard Hannon Senior and his biggest victories include the Queen Anne Stakes at Royal Ascot 2009 and the Lockinge Stakes at Newbury in 2010.

Hannon won the race for a second time with Strong Suit in 2011 while Hannon Junior added his name to the roll of honour with Toormore in 2015.

Sir Dancealot became the second dual winner of the race when successful for David Elsworth and Gerald Mosse in 2018 and 2019.

Space Blues was another high-class winner in 2020 for Charlie Appleby and William Buick.

Kinross won for Ralph Beckett in 2021 and came close to making it back-to-back victories when just held by Sandrine in 2022.

Key Lennox Stakes Trials

Sir Dancealot had run creditably in the July Cup prior to his first victory in 2018. He ran in the Ganton Stakes at York the following season before repeating his Goodwood victory.

Kinross won the Group 3 John of Gaunt Stakes at Haydock on his previous start in 2021 and was third in the same race before finishing second in 2022. Sandrine contested the 1000 Guineas, Coronation Stakes and Falmouth Stakes before her victory in 2022.

Although the winners come from a wide variety of races, it is clear that proven Group horses do best here.

Ten of the last twelve winners had previously won at least once in Group 1 to Group 3 races.

Possible future targets for Lennox Stakes winners include the Prix Jacques Le Marois at Deauville and the Hungerford Stakes at Newbury.

There have been five winning favourites in the Lennox Stakes in the past twelve seasons.

Strong Suit (2011), Chachamaidee (2012) and Garswood (2013) completed a hat-trick of winning favourites.

Dutch Connection was a well-backed market leader in 2016 and Space Blues returned a solid 2-1 favourite in 2020.

All but three of the winners in the same period were in the first three in the betting. The exceptions were Kinross at 6-1 in 2021, Sandrine at 12-1 in 2022 and Breton Rock at 50-1 in 2017. Breton Rock would not win in 16 races after his stunning victory here, although he did finish a creditable third in this race in 2019. Besides being the longest-priced winner of this race, he was also the oldest at the age of seven.

Sandrine was the first three-year-old to win this race since Garswood in 2013.

Four-year-olds have the best recent record with five victories in the past eight seasons.

An official rating of 110 or higher is usually required to win this race. Es Que Love won off that rating in 2014 while the highest officially rated winner was Toormore (219) in 2015.

Lennox Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

No trainer has managed to dominate this race with six trainers responsible for two winners apiece.

These include Gerard Butler with Nayyir (2002 and 2003) and David Elsworth with Sir Dancealot (2018 and 2019).

Marcus Tregoning trained Fath to win in 2001 and Finjaan in 2009.

Other trainers to win the Lennox Stakes twice are Saeed bin Suroor, Richard Hannon Snr and Sir Henry Cecil.

Five jockeys currently share the honour of top rider in the race with two victories; Eddie Ahern, Kerrin McEvoy, Richard Hughes, Tom Queally and Gerald Mosse.

Betting on the Lennox Stakes

The Lennox Stakes is one of the most prestigious seven furlongs in Europe and always provides a thrilling contest at Goodwood.

Despite being a very competitive race, it rarely produces a shock result.

Definitely one of the highlights of the Glorious Goodwood festival.

Popular Questions

What distance is the Lennox Stakes?

The Lennox Stakes is 7 furlongs long.

Summary of Lennox Stakes

We hope you liked reading our guide the Lennox Stakes.

It is one of the high-lights of the summer flat racing season and is often won by a high-class horse.

If you have enjoyed this Glorious Goodwood race, here are some other articles related to Glorious Goodwood betting you may also like: