Hungerford Stakes

The Hungerford Stakes is a Group 2 flat event for horses aged three and up annually in the United Kingdom. Every year in August, it takes place at Newbury over a distance of 7 furlongs.

The Hungerford Stakes is held on Saturday 19th August 2023.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 2 horse races.

Find out more about the Hungerford Stakes:

Hungerford Stakes

Hungerford Stakes Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Hungerford Stakes in 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Hungerford Stakes Tips 2023

Here are some tips for Hungerford Stakes in 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the Hungerford Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Hungerford Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1979Skyliner4Geoff BaxterPaul Cole
1980Kampala4Pat EdderyPeter Walwyn
1981Dalsaan4Walter SwinburnMichael Stoute
1982Pas de Seul3Pat EdderyDavid O'Brien
1983Salieri3Lester PiggottHenry Cecil
1984Prego4Pat EdderyBarry Hills
1985Ever Genial3Steve CauthenHenry Cecil
1986Hadeer4Steve CauthenClive Brittain1:28.80
1987Abuzz3Tony IvesClive Brittain1:29.54
1988Salse3Steve CauthenHenry Cecil1:30.30
1989Distant Relative3Michael HillsBarry Hills1:31.14
1990Norwich3Michael HillsBarry Hills1:28.52
1991Only Yours3Michael RobertsRichard Hannon Sr.1:27.37
1992Mojave3Walter SwinburnMichael Stoute1:31.99
1993Inchinor3Frankie DettoriRoger Charlton1:26.28
1994(dh)Pollen CountYoung Ern54Frankie DettoriWillie RyanJohn GosdenSimon Dow1:31.07
1995Harayir3Willie CarsonDick Hern1:28.30
1996Bin Rosie4Frankie DettoriDavid Loder1:27.28
1997Decorated Hero5Frankie DettoriJohn Gosden1:27.56
1998Muhtathir3Richard HillsJohn Gosden1:26.86
1999Lend a Hand4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor1:28.09
2000Arkadian Hero5Jamie SpencerLuca Cumani1:26.36
2001Atavus4Jamie MackayGeorge Margarson1:27.01
2002Reel Buddy4Richard QuinnRichard Hannon Sr.1:23.61
2003With Reason5Richard HughesDavid Loder1:23.02
2004Chic4Kieren FallonSir Michael Stoute1:23.99
2005Sleeping Indian4Jimmy FortuneJohn Gosden1:24.68
2006Welsh Emperor7Jamie SpencerTom Tate1:26.76
2007Red Evie4Jamie SpencerMichael Bell1:26.09
2008Paco Boy3Ryan MooreRichard Hannon Sr.1:24.35
2009Balthazaar's Gift6Philip RobinsonClive Cox1:25.31
2010Shakespearean3Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor1:26.38
2011Excelebration3Adam KirbyMarco Botti1:24.72
2012Lethal Force3Adam KirbyClive Cox1:22.96
2013Gregorian4Robert HavlinJohn Gosden1:25.84
2014Breton Rock4Martin LaneDavid Simcock1:27.18
2015Adaay3Paul HanaganWilliam Haggas1:26.76
2016Richard Pankhurst4Robert HavlinJohn Gosden1:24.43
2017Massaat4Jim CrowleyOwen Burrows1:25.84
2018Sir Dancealot4Gérald MosséDavid Elsworth1:26.15
2019Glorious Journey4James DoyleCharlie Appleby1:27.30
2020Dream of Dreams6Oisin MurphySir Michael Stoute1:24.35
2021Sacred3Tom MarquandWilliam Haggas1:22.99
2022Jumby4William BuickEve Johnson Houghton1:22.50
2023Witch Hunter4Sean LeveyRichard Hannon Jr.1:25.24

Hungerford Stakes 2023 Result

Summary of Hungerford Stakes

Thank you for reading our Hungerford Stakes guide.

Popular Questions

Where is the Hungerford Stakes held?

The Hungerford Stakes is held at Newbury Racecourse.

Related August Articles


James Dooley is a UK entrepreneur who founded British Racecourses because of his love for horse racing. James owns 14 racehorses through Dooley Thoroughbreds, so he understands all aspects of horse racing, from wagering bets, and booking jockeys to sourcing the best horse racing trainers. James Dooley's connections give him inside information on horse racing tips and best chances of a winner.