Supreme Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Supreme Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds and upwards over seven furlongs at Goodwood. It takes place in late August or early September and has been won by some high-class horses in the past.

Sarab (1984, 1986) and Decorated Hero (1997, 1998) won the race twice. Other notable winners include Soviet Line (1994), Libranno (2011), Dutch Connection (2017) and Anna Nerium (2018).

Find out more about the Supreme Stakes:

Supreme Stakes

Race Overview

The Supreme Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse race for horses aged three and higher annually in the United Kingdom. It takes place every year in late August or early September at Goodwood over a distance of 7 furlongs.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races

For racing tips on more races at Goodwood, check out our tips guide.

Our excellent horse racing tippers provide awesome free horse event tips for today for all Goodwood racing events!

Supreme Stakes Previous Winners

2013Lockwood4Silvestre de SousaSaeed bin Suroor
2014Ansgar6James DoyleSabrina Harty
2015So Beloved5Danny TudhopeDavid O’Meara
2016Opal Tiara3Oisin MurphyMick Channon
2017Dutch Connection5Jim CrowleyCharles Hills
2018Anna Nerium3Tom MarquandRichard Hannon Jr.
2019Suedois8Daniel TudhopeDavid O’Meara
2020Happy Power4Silvestre De SousaAndrew Balding
2021Toro Strike4Ryan MooreRichard Fahey
2022Double Or Bubble5Jack MitchellChris Wall

Supreme Stakes Previous Result

Check out this result from the Goodwood Racecourse:

Famous Supreme Stakes Winners

The Supreme Stakes was first run in 1981 as the Harroways Stakes with victory going to Henry Cecil’s Belmont Bay. It was given its current name and upgraded to Group 3 status in 1987. Sarab became the first dual winner for Paul Cole and Richard Quinn in 1984 and 1986. Ireland won it for the first time when Vincent O’Brien’s Fair Judgement scored under John Reid in 1988.

Soviet Line was a high class winner for Sir Michael Stoute and Walter Swinburn in 1994. He won 16 of his 48 races and earned $1.45 million in prize money. His biggest victories included the Hong Kong International Bowl (1994) and Lockinge Stakes (1995). He raced successfully in North America towards the end of his career, winning the Maker’s Mark Mile Stakes in 1999.

Decorated Hero became the second dual winner in 1997 and 1998, trained by John Gosden. He was ridden by Olivier Peslier on the first occasion and added a second victory under Frankie Dettori. He had famously provided Dettori with one of his “Magnificent seven” at Ascot in September 1996.

The race was abandoned due to waterlogging in 1999 before Gosden won it for a third consecutive time with Mount Abu (2000), this time with Jimmy Fortune aboard. Saeed bin Suroor won it for the first time with Firebreak in 2002 and struck again in 2013 with Lockwood.

Ireland claimed a second Supreme Stakes victory in 2014 when Ansgar won for Sabrina Harty, ridden by James Doyle. He followed up in the Group 2 Park Stakes at Doncaster next time before finishing a creditable sixth in the Group 1 Prix de la Foret.

The three-year-old Anna Nerium won for Richard Hannon Jnr in 2018 before Suedois became the oldest winner in the history of the race. He won as an eight-year-old for David O’Meara and Daniel Tudhope.

Key Supreme Stakes Trials

The Group 2 Lennox Stakes over course and distance at the Glorious Goodwood Festival is a key trial for this race. Toro Strike (2021) finished a close sixth in that race before beating Double Or Bubble by 2 lengths. Happy Power had won at Salisbury in a Conditions race prior to his victory here in 2020. Suedois finished third in the Lennox Stakes behind Sir Dancealot before winning here in 2019.

Winners of the Supreme Stakes have usually been raised in class next time. The most popular targets have been the Park Stakes at Doncaster and the Challenge Stakes at Newmarket. Ansgar (2014) won the Park Stakes while Happy Power (2020) followed up successfully in the Challenge Stakes. They were the only two horses to win their next start during the last twelve seasons.

There have only been two winning favourites in the last twelve renewals of the Supreme Stakes. Dutch Connection (2017) returned 13-8 favourite and Happy Power (2020) was a winning 9-4 favourite. There have also been seven second or third favourites during the same period so the race usually goes to a form horse.

The three winners outside the market leaders were Ansgar (2014) at 14-1, Opal Tiara (2016) at 9-1 and Anna Nerium (2018) at 7-1. An official rating of 105 or higher is usually required to win this race. Opal Tiara (101) was the lowest rated winner while Libranno (2011) and Dutch Connection (2017) share the top rating of 112 in recent years.

Horses aged three and four tend to do best here, accounting for eight of the last twelve winners. Suedois (2019) bucked the trend when becoming the oldest winner of the race at the age of eight.

Supreme Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

John Gosden is the leading trainer in the history of the Supreme Stakes with five winners; Anshan (1990), Decorated Hero (1997, 1998), Mount Abu (2000) and Stronghold (2006). Sir Michael Stoute has won it three times, most recently with Arakan in 2005. David O’Meara has won it twice in recent seasons with So Beloved (2015) and Suedois (2019).

Three jockeys currently share the status of leading rider in the Supreme Stakes; Richard Quinn, Richard Hughes and Frankie Dettori. The latter is the only one still riding today and his most recent win in the race was With Reason back in 2003.

Best Supreme Stakes Betting Sites

The Supreme Stakes is a specialist seven-furlong event and has been won by some high-class performers. Horses that run well in the Lennox Stakes at Glorious Goodwood are certainly worth noting if returning to the Sussex track for this event. Shock results are rare so the form can be followed with confidence.

Here are the most popular free bets for Supreme Stakes betting.

Supreme Stakes Popular Questions

What distance is the Supreme Stakes?

The Supreme Stakes is 7 furlongs long.

Where is the Supreme Stakes held?

The Supreme Stakes is held at Goodwood Racecourse.

Summary of Supreme Stakes

We hope you have enjoyed our guide to the Supreme Stakes.