Lowther Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Lowther Stakes is a Group 2 flat horse race for two-year-old fillies over six furlongs and takes place during the 2024 Ebor Festival at York.

The Lowther Stakes takes place on the 22nd of August 2024.

It is one of the first major races for juvenile fillies which can have a bearing on the following season’s Classic races.

Notable past winners include subsequent 1000 Guineas winners Harayir (1994), Cape Verdi (1997) and Russian Rhythm (2002).

In our Lowther Stakes 2024 guide, we provide the latest odds, betting tips and betting offers for the group three horse racing event.

Find out more about the Lowther Stakes:

Lowther Stakes

Race Overview – The Lowther Stakes

The Lowther Stakes is a Group 2 flat horse race for two-year-old fillies in the United Kingdom. It takes place every year in August over a distance of 6 furlongs.

The 2024 Lowther Stakes takes place at York Racecourse on the second day of the Ebor Festival.

The other huge profile race on the 2nd day of the York Ebor Festival is the Yorkshire Oaks which horse racing fans love to watch.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 2 horse races.

Lowther Stakes Odds 2024

Here are the latest odds for the Lowther Stakes in 2024:

These odds have not yet been released.

Lowther Stakes Tips 2024

Here are some tips for Lowther Stakes in 2024:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Some of the horses in the Lowther Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Take a look at our horse racing tips page for York.

Our brilliant tippers for racing provide great tips for the events at York!

Lowther Stakes Previous Winners

2013Lucky KristaleTom QueallyGeorge Margarson
2014Tiggy WiggyRichard HughesRichard Hannon Jr.
2015BesharahPat CosgraveWilliam Haggas
2016Queen KindlyJamie SpencerRichard Fahey
2017ThreadingJames DoyleMark Johnston
2018FairylandRyan MooreAidan O’Brien
2019Living In The PastDaniel TudhopeKarl Burke
2020Miss AmuletJames DoyleKen Condon
2021Zain ClaudetteRay DawsonIsmail Mohammed
2022SwingalongClifford LeeKarl Burke
2023Relief RallyTom MarquandWilliam Haggas

Lowther Stakes Previous Result

Check out this result from York Racecourse:

Famous Lowther Stakes Winners

The Lowther Stakes at York was first run in 1946 and is named in honour of Hugh Lowther, the 5th Earl of Lonsdale.

It currently takes place on day 2 of York’s Ebor Festival and often produces contenders for the Group 1 Cheveley Park Stakes at Newmarket.

It has also produced its fair share of Classic winners. 1966 winner Pia finished runner-up in the Cheveley Park and fourth in the 1000 Guineas before claiming Classic glory in the Epsom Oaks. She was trained by Bill Elsey at Malton in North Yorkshire and ridden by Edward Hide.

Humble Duty became the next Classic winner to emerge from the Lowther Stakes in 1969. She won the Cheveley Park, the 1000 Guineas, Coronation Stakes and Sussex Stakes for the Lambourn stable of Peter Walwyn.

1977 winner Enstone Spark was a shock winner of the 1000 Guineas at Newmarket the following season. Her owner had intended to shop her to race in California but a late change of plan resulted in her winning at 33-1 for Trainer Barry Hills.

The high quality of winners was maintained with the likes of Devon Ditty (1978), Mrs Penny (1979), Circus Ring (1981) and Habibti (1982). The latter was trained by John Dunlop and became British horse of the year in 1983. Her sprint victories included the July Cup, William Hill Sprint Championship, Vernons Sprint Cup and Prix de l’Abbaye.

Al Bahathri won in 1984 and was beaten only a short-head by Oh So Sharp in the 1985 1000 Guineas. She gained handsome consolation in the Irish 1000 Guineas and later added the Coronation Stakes and the Child Stakes. Al Bahathri became a very successful broodmare with her offspring including the 2000 Guineas and Champion Stakes winner Haafhd.

Other Classic winners to emerge from the Lowther Stakes include Culture Vulture (1991), Cape Verdi (1997) and Russian Rhythm (1996). Culture Vulture became the first British-trained filly to win the French Guineas. Cape Verdi won the 1000 Guineas by five lengths and was supplemented for the Epsom Derby, finishing ninth behind High-Rise.

Key Lowther Stakes Trials

Three of the last twelve Lowther Stakes winners ran in the Princess Margaret Stakes at Ascot, two of them winning and one placed. Besharah (2015) and Zain Claudette (2021) won both races.

The Lowther Stakes is almost a free pass to the Cheveley Park Stakes at Newmarket. Ten of the last twelve winners have run in that race next time. Three of them won both races; Rosdhu Queen (2012), Tiggy Wiggy (2014) and Fairyland (2018). Besharah (2015) and Miss Amulet (2020) were both placed at Newmarket.

Only two outright favourites and one joint-favourite have won in the last twelve renewals of the Lowther Stakes.

Tiggy Wiggy started as 15-8 market leader in 2014 and Fairyland was a 6-4 winning favourite in 2018. Lucky Kristale (2013) started 5-2 joint-favourite when successful for George Margarson and Tom Queally.

There were also four winning second favourites and two third favourites so shock results are rare. The longest-priced winner during that period was 12-1 chance Living In The Past (2019), trained by Karl Burke and ridden by Daniel Tudhope.

Zain Claudette (2021) was the lowest officially rated winner in the past twelve seasons on a figure of 98.

The highest-rated winner during the same period was Tiggy Wiggy (117) in 2014.

Lowther Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Richard Hannon Snr is the leading trainer in the history of the Lowther Stakes with five winners; Enstone Spark (1977), Only Yours (1990), Niche (1992), Infamous Angel (2008) and Best Terms (2011).

Sir Michael Stoute has four winners in this race; Circus Ring (1981), Dance Sequence (1995), Enthused (2000) and Russian Rhythm (2002).

Aidan O’Brien’s only Lowther Stakes victory to date came with Fairyland in 2018.

Four jockeys currently share the honour of being leading riders in this race with three winners apiece; Harry Carr, Ron Hutchinson, Lester Piggott and Richard Hughes. The latter won the race three times in the space of four seasons with Best Terms (2011), Rosdhu Queen (2012) and Tiggy Wiggy (2014). James Doyle was won it twice in recent seasons with Threading (2017) and Miss Amulet (2020).

Best Lowther Stakes Betting Sites

The Lowther Stakes is definitely a race to note at York’s Ebor meeting with the potential to pinpoint top juvenile fillies and even Classic winners. Russian Rhythm (2002) was the last filly to go on to win the 1000 Guineas but there have been some high-class winners including Nahoodh (2007), Tiggy Wiggy (2014) and Fairyland (2018).

Popular Questions

How long is the Lowther Stakes?

The Lowther Stakes is 6 furlongs long.

Where is the Lowther Stakes held?

Lowther Stakes is held at York Racecourse.

Summary of Lowther Stakes

We hope you enjoyed our guide to the Lowther Stakes.

It is one of the top 2 year old fillies races of the whole season and often a new star of the future emerges.

We love the Lowther here at British Racecourses.

2024 York Ebor Festival Posts

Here are all the related articles to the York Ebor Festival 2024:

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.