Ebor Festival

The Ebor festival event is a four-day racing event held in York, England, at the York Racecourse every august of every year running since the year 1843, where the first running was the Ebor Handicap. It is worth mentioning that since its inception, it has only failed to be held once, which is in 2008 due to water-logging at the York Racecourse. The event is named after The York, which was previously known as the Eboracum. This race was introduced by John Orton, a clerk of the course in York. Each of the four days has its events and competitions as follows:
• On the first day of the festival, which is a Wednesday (called The Juddmonte International day).It features the Acomb Stakes, Juddmonte International and the Great Voltigeur Stakes.
• On Thursday, it is famously known as the Ladies day, and the events include the Yorkshire Oaks and the Lowther Stakes.
• On Nunthorpe day, which is Friday, it includes the Nunthorpe Stakes, Strensall Stakes, and Gimcrack stakes.
• Saturday is named after the festival itself; that is the Ebor day, and it features the Lonsdale Cup and Ebor Handicap. The Ebor Handicap is the most decorated race of this festival, and it currently attracts a $1,000,000 winner’s prize.

The most successful horse

The Ebor festival has attracted some of the best horses in flat racing in the world, such as the Flying Dutchman and the Neutligeur. Still, according to history, Fint jack is considered the most successful racecourse horse ever at the Ebor Handicap. Flint jack remains the only horse ever to win the Ebor handicap twice that is in the years 1922 and 1923, respectively. The Chestnut colored Gelding foaled in 1917, and at his first race at the Ebor Handicap in 1921, he came in as a first runner up. He went on to win it in 1922 and 1923 and then came in third in the year 1926. Owned by H.W Norris and trained by G.S Davies was enviously adored by the Yorkshire crowds.

The leading jockey

Lester Piggott Keith made the Ebor handicap his own and was considered by many as the greatest flat racing jockeys of all time as he racked up a total of 4,493 career wins and five at the Ebor festival. Due to his tallness (1.73 meters, approximately five foot eight), he was nicknamed the “Long Fellow,” and at the time, many considered him too tall for a jockey. Lester racked up five wins at the Ebor Festival that is in 1958 where he rode Gladness to victory, in 1959 he led Primera to success, in 1961 the Diehard, in 1970 the Tintagel the second and finally in 1983 led the Clive Brittain trained Jupiter island to the Ebor handicap glory. Although in all these races, he never used his most preferred horse (Sir Ivor), which he termed as easy to ride, he still managed a record-breaking five wins with five different horses at the Ebor handicap.

The Leading Trainer

The leading trainer at the Ebor racecourse festival was undoubtedly Tom Dawson. Tom trained five Ebor handicap champions from 1843 to 1867. He was one of the pioneers of the Ebor Handicap. His first trained horse at the Ebor Racecourse was Godfrey, which won the handicap in the year 1844. In the year 1850, he trained Mark Tapley to victory, followed by Pax at the Ebor handicap in the year 1860. He then taught both Makeshift and Mandrake in 1862 and 1867, respectively, to the winner’s prize. Tom Dawson is considered the most accomplished trainer at the Ebor Handicap (the most revered handicap in the world).
The Ebor festival has attracted thousands of racers and fans over the years, as it provides not only entertainment but also a platform to showcase fashion at its best. Since its inaugural in the year 1843, there’s only one time where the race was a dead heat that is in 1930 hence joint winners. The Ebor festival has lead to the growth of York as a town and the area at large. This festival has boosted the hotel and catering industry in York hence improved economy, and finally, the fashion and clothing industry has greatly been enhanced by this festival.

Other horse racing betting events

Our team has reviewed all the latest betting events for July 2020. Check out our other posts: