Premier Kelso Hurdle

The Premier Kelso Hurdle is a Grade 2 race for novices over two and a quarter miles.

It takes place in late February or early March. In recent seasons the trend has been for Kelso Hurdle winners to miss Cheltenham in favour of Aintree.

Notable past winners include Marello (1997), Master Tern (2000), Knockara Beau (2009) and Clever Cookie (2014).

Find out more also the Kelso Hurdle:

Premier Kelso Hurdle

In Britain, horses must be four years of age or older to compete in the Grade 2 Premier Kelso Hurdle, a National Hunt hurdle race.

There are 10 hurdles to clear during the race, which is raced at Kelso over a distance of around 2 miles and 2 furlongs (2 miles, 2 furlongs, and 25 yards, or 3,644 metres).

The novice hurdlers’ race is slated to take place in late February or early March each year.

Premier Kelso Hurdle Odds

The Premier Kelso Hurdle odds are listed below:

2.25 Kelso (Race 3) - BOG
  • Date: Saturday 4th of March 2023
  • Time: 14:25
  • Details: 9 Runners Hurdle Hurdle 2m 2f 25y
9 Nemean Lion
4 Colonel Harry
5 Feronily
3 Carcaci Castle
10 Snake Roll
7 Hoe Joly Smoke
8 Lookaway
6 General Officer
11 The Wounded Knee

Premier Kelso Hurdle Tips

The Premier Kelso Hurdle tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Premier Kelso Hurdle horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

If you are looking for more racing tips for events taking place at Kelso Racecourse then check out our Kelso racing tips page.

Premier Kelso Hurdle Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
1990Ambuscade4Mark DwyerGeorge Moore
1991Abbot of Furness7Neale DoughtyGordon W. Richards
1992Preoblakensky5Neale DoughtyGordon W. Richards
1993Majed5Peter NivenMary Reveley
1994Morceli6James MoffattHoward Johnson
1995Wills Telmar7Neale DoughtyHoward Johnson
1996Penny a Day6Peter NivenMary Reveley
1997Marello6Peter NivenMary Reveley
1998Leviticus4Jason CallaghanTom Tate
1999Crazy Horse6Robbie SuppleLen Lungo
2000Master Tern5Tony DobbinJonjo O'Neill
2003Covent Garden5Graham LeeHoward Johnson
2004Paddy the Piper7Tony DobbinLen Lungo
2005Mephisto6Warren MarstonHoward Johnson
2007Bywell Beau8Jan FaltejsekGeorge Charlton
2008Ignotus6Tom Greenall[a]Alan Swinbank
2009Knockara Beau6Jan FaltejsekGeorge Charlton
2010Bygones of Brid7Graham LeeKaren McLintock
2011Bold Sir Brian5Peter BuchananLucinda Russell
2012Tap Night5Peter BuchananLucinda Russell
2013Mwaleshi8Jonathan EnglandSue Smith
2014Clever Cookie6Wilson RenwickPeter Niven
2015Glingerburn7Brian HardingNicky Richards
2016Le Prezien5Sam Twiston-DaviesPaul Nicholls
2017Mount Mews6Brian HughesMalcolm Jefferson
2019Rouge Vif5Gavin SheehanHarry Whittington
2020Clondaw Caitlin5Brian HughesRuth Jefferson
2021My Drogo6Harry SkeltonDan Skelton
2022Nells Son7Sean O'KeeffeNicky Richards
2023Nemean Lion6Richard PatrickKerry Lee

Premier Kelso Hurdle 2022 Result

Famous Premier Kelso Hurdle Winners

The Premier Kelso Hurdle was first run in 1990 with victory going to Ambuscade, trained by George Moore and ridden by Mark Dwyer. High quality staying novices to win in the 1990’s include Morceli, trained by Howard Johnson, and Mary Reveley’s prolific winners Penny A Day (1996) and Marello (1997).

Jonjo O’Neill and Tony Dobbin teamed up to win with Master Tern in 2000. He landed a gamble in the County Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival next time out, returning the 9-2 favourite. Knockara Beau won in 2009 and would go on to become a stable stalwart for George Charlton. He famously won the Cleeve Hurdle at Cheltenham in 2014 at the age of eleven.

Clever Cookie (2014) was a consistent dual purpose horse trained by Peter Niven. He won 11 of his 42 races under rules including the Group 2 Yorkshire Cup in 2016. He had earlier finished runner-up in the Group 2 British Champions Long Distance Cup at Ascot.

Key Premier Kelso Hurdle Trials

Nearly half of the last eleven winners had won at least once at Kelso previously. Seven of the last eleven winners had won on their previous outing, although they came from a variety of novice races across Great Britain.

Four of the last eleven Premier Kelso Hurdle winners ran in the Mersey Novices Hurdle at Aintree. My Drogo won both races for Dan and Harry Skelton in 2021. Three winners ran in the Top Novices Hurdle at the Grand National meeting but only one of them managed a place.

Premier Kelso Hurdle Betting Trends

Four of the last eleven winners returned favourite; Clever Cookie (2014), Le Prezien (2016), Mount Mews (2017) and My Drogo (2021). There have also been three shock winners, the longest priced winner in recent times being Bold Sir Brian at 20-1 in 2011. Mwaleshi (2013) and Nells Son (2022) both returned at 16-1 when winning this event.

Horses aged five and six have the best recent record in this race, accounting for 8 of the last 11 winners. The last four-year-old to win was Leviticus in 1998, trained by Tom Tate and ridden by Jason Callaghan.

Premier Kelso Hurdle – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Howard Johnson trained the winner of this race on four occasions; Morceli (1994), Wills Telmar (1995), Covent Garden (2003) and Mephisto (2005). Mary Reveley won it three times in a five-year spell from 1993 to 1997 while Nicky Richards has won it twice, emulating his father Gordon. Neale Doughty and Peter Niven both rode the winner three times.

Betting on the Premier Kelso Hurdle

The Premier Kelso Hurdle has produced some high class winners over the years, several of them going on to succeed over fences. The race is unlikely to provide clues for the Cheltenham Festival but the winner is usually worth noting for the future.

Premier Kelso Hurdle Facts

  • The Premier Kelso Hurdle is a National Hunt hurdle race in Great Britain which is open to horses aged four years or older.
  • The race is run on Kelso Racecourse’s left-handed course over a distance of 2 miles and 2 furlongs (3,621 metres), and during its running, there are ten hurdles to be jumped.
  • The Premier Kelso Hurdle is a Grade 2 race, and it is currently sponsored by Premier Inn.

Summary of the Premier Kelso Hurdle

Thank you for reading our Premier Kelso Hurdle guide.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.