Relkeel Hurdle

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Relkeel Hurdle is a Grade 2 race for five-year-olds and upwards over two and a half miles at Cheltenham Racecourse on New Year’s Day.

The race is held on the 1st of January, making it one of the first horse racing events of the year.

This timing adds to its uniqueness and excitement, marking a significant event on the New Year’s Day racing calendar.

Find out more about the Relkeel Hurdle:

Relkeel Hurdle

Why is it called the Relkeel Hurdle?

The horse race is called the Relkeel Hurdle after a popular grey who won the International Hurdle at the course in 1997, 1998 and 1999.

The race is named after Relkeel, a famous racehorse known for his achievements in hurdle racing. Naming the event after a legendary horse adds to its historical and sentimental value.

Relkeel Hurdle Previous Result

Race Overview – The Relkeel Hurdle

Here is the key information for the Dornan Engineering Relkeel Hurdle:

  • Horses five years old and older may enter the horse racing competition
  • The Grade 2 Relkeel Hurdle is a National Hunt hurdle race
  • The Distance is over 2m 4f 56y
  • 2023 winning time was 5m 5.12s
  • The 2023 winning horse was Marie’s Rock (IRE) at 11/2 betting odds
  • The 2023 time of race was 14:30 Cheltenham
  • There are 10 hurdles to clear during the race on the New Course at Cheltenham

Here are the most important relkeel hurdle trends:

  • Many racehorses go on to run well in the Stayers Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival
  • Three of the last twelve winners of the Relkeel Hurdle ran in the Ascot Hurdle last time out
  • Relkeel Hurdle winners ran in the Cleeve Hurdle next time, but all were beaten.
  • The Relkeel Hurdle is a high-class contest and often provides a live contender for the season’s top-staying events.

Who sponsors the Relkeel Hurdle?

The main Relkeel Hurdle race sponsor is Dornan Engineering.

The name of the race is called Careers At Relkeel Hurdle after the Dornan Engineering sponsorship.

Summary of the Relkeel Hurdle

Relkeel was one of our favourite horses and was a tremendous hurdler – even more so striking as a grey horse. This race named after him has produced some amazing performances by top-class horses.

Check out more UK National hunt hurdle races.

There are more races in January that you might enjoy, so make sure you check them out.

Check out our Cheltenham tips page if you enjoy watching races at Cheltenham Racecourse.

Here are all of January’s horse racing-related posts: