Champion Hurdle

 Anyone who knows a thing or two about the biggest horse races on the UK and Irish calendar will have heard of the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle.

Are you looking for odds and markets for this year’s Cheltenham Champion Hurdle? You’ve come to the right place. Let’s take a closer look at the race, its history, and what you can expect.

Who Takes Part in the Champion Hurdle?

The Cheltenham Champion Hurdle is open to horses aged four years and older. The Cheltenham Champion Hurdle is regarded as a Grade 1 hurdle race, part of the National Hunt.  At the time of writing, it is sponsored by Unibet.

Details of the Race

  • The Cheltenham Champion Hurdle has taken place at Cheltenham Racecourse every year since 1927
  • The total prize money comes to £450,000 at last count, with 2019’s winner taking home £253,215
  • It’s quite a long race, at around two miles and a half furlong
  • Some of the biggest names in hurdling have won here and have races named after them – including Persian War and National Spirit

Betting on the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle

Looking into betting on the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle? Plenty of bookmakers and online betting sites offer markets and odds for the race as soon as they become available.  Some betters find it tempting to bet as soon as possible to take advantage of long odds.

However, others will prefer for details to firm up as close as possible to the actual day of the race.  In many ways, this is likely to be a good strategy if you want to come home a winner.

That being said, who’s to say who the champion of the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle will be from year to year?  The history is varied.  At least five horses have won the hurdle three times each!

Online Betting Tips

If you’re looking for online betting tips on the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle, make sure you choose advice wisely.  There are plenty of tipsters and tipping sites out there.  A good strategy will be to take an average of several tips if you can, or to focus on form. This goes for betting on any horse races throughout the year.

Many tipsters get the final placings spot-on.  But the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle is a notoriously difficult race to predict fully!  So do be careful to look at historic tips and wins, too.

History of the Champion Hurdle Race

The Cheltenham Champion Hurdle first ran back in 1927, and the winner took home the princely sum of £365!  The race has been around for so long, it was actually cancelled twice during World War II.

The hurdle has apparently given rise to some of the biggest names in hurdlers in the sport. So anyone likely to win big in other hurdle races will have done well here, too!

There have been a variety of winners here. Punters will likely look to the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle as a benchmark for other hurdle races and meetings elsewhere on the National Hunt calendar.


As the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle has been running for almost a century, you can imagine that there are plenty of winners!

Both Ruby Walsh and Tim Molony are the most-decorated jockeys here, with Nicky Henderson being the most successful trainer.  He’s trained at least seven of the winning horses here, from 1985 to 1987, then in 2009, 2010, and again in 2017 – 2018.

In fact, Buveur D’Air won the hurdle for Henderson the last two times – one of very few horses to win the race on consecutive occasions!

If you fancy having a bet on the Cheltenham Champion Hurdle in 2020, why not give it a go with one of the top brands?

All Horse Racing Betting Events