Kauto Star Novices’ Chase

Mark Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Kauto Star Novices’ Chase is a Grade 1 race over three miles at Kempton Park on Boxing Day.

This race, named in tribute to the legendary five-time King George VI Chase and dual Cheltenham Gold Cup winner, epitomises the excellence and emerging talent of National Hunt racing.

As a crucial trial for the Brown Advisory Novices’ Chase at the Cheltenham Festival in March, the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase holds immense importance. It not only promises exciting competition at Kempton Park but also serves as a stepping stone for contenders eyeing success at Cheltenham.

Explore the rich history of this prestigious chase, with notable past winners including Gloria Victis (1999), Long Run (2009), and Coneygree (2014) leaving an enduring mark on racing history. Join us in discovering the unique charm and competitive spirit that define the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase, a race that pays homage to its legendary namesake.

Stay tuned for a comprehensive guide, offering insights, betting tips, and essential information to enhance your experience of the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase, a standout event in the jump racing calendar.

Race Overview – Kauto Star Novices Chase

Kauto Star Novices’ Chase

Horses must be four years old or older to compete in the Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase, the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase.

There are 18 fences to jump during the race, which is raced over a distance of around 3 miles (4,828 metres) at the Kempton Park Racecourse.

This novice chase race is set to take place on Boxing Day as part of King George VI Chase meeting each year.

Kauto Star Novices’ Chase Previous Winners

2013Annacotty5Ian PophamMartin Keighley
2014Coneygree7Nico de BoinvilleMark Bradstock
2015Tea For Two6Lizzie KellyNick Williams
2016Royal Vacation6Paddy BrennanColin Tizzard
2017Black Corton6Bryony FrostPaul Nicholls
2018La Bague Au Roi7Richard JohnsonWarren Greatrex
2019Slate House7Robbie PowerColin Tizzard
2020Shan Blue6Harry SkeltonDan Skelton
2021Bravemansgame6Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls
2022Thyme Hill8Tom O’BrienPhilip Hobbs

Kauto Star Novices’ Chase Previous Result

Famous Kauto Star Novices’ Chase Winners

The race was originally run as the Feltham Novices’ Chase and was changed to honour Kauto Star in 2013. The Paul Nicholls-trained chaser became a Kempton Park legend with his astonishing five King George victories between 2006 and 2011.

The race has a history of producing top-class chasers, many of which have won Grade 1 races and competed in the Cheltenham Gold Cup. Top quality earlier winners of the race include Gallaher (1982), Twin Oaks (1987), See More Indians (1993), Gloria Victis (1999) and Bacchanal (2000).

Gloria Victis romped to an 18 lengths victory in this race for Martin Pipe and Tony McCoy. He was even more impressive when winning the Racing Post Chase by ten lengths next time and took his chance in the Gold Cup. Tragically he was fatally injured in that race.

Tea For Two was a famous winner of the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase in 2015 when ridden by Lizzie Kelly. She became the first female jockey to ride a Grade 1 winner over fences in Britain. Long Run (2009) and Coneygree (2014) both went on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Long Run won here as a four-year-old for Nicky Henderson and Sam Waley-Cohen. He went on to win the 2011 Cheltenham Gold Cup and the King George in 2010 (held in January 2011 after Christmas meeting lost to the weather) and 2012.

Coneygree became the first novice to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup in over forty years when taking the coveted prize in 2015. He was trained by Mark Bradstock and ridden by Nico de Boinville. The horse was plagued by injury after his Cheltenham win and never ran in the race again, eventually being retired in 2019.

Key Kauto Star Novices’ Chase Trials

The key trial for the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase is the Berkshire Novices’ Chase at Newbury. Three of the last eleven winners won that race before running at Kempton. The Cheltenham aim for winners of this race is the Brown Advisory Novices’ Chase, formerly known as the RSA Chase.

Five of the last eleven Kauto Star winners ran in the Brown Advisory, although all were well beaten.

Long Run won the Kingmaker Novices’ Chase at Warwick but was beaten into third place at Cheltenham.

Black Corton (2017) followed up his victory here by winning the Reynoldstown Novices’ Chase at Ascot.

Coneygree (2014) won the Denman Chase before going on to land the Cheltenham Gold Cup in the same season.

Six and seven-year-olds have the best recent record in the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase (formerly the Feltham Novices Chase), winning ten of the last eleven renewals. The exception was Annacotty who won as a five-year-old for Martin Keighley and Ian Popham in 2013.

Long Run (2009) is the youngest winner, scoring at the age of four.

There have only been three winning favourites in the past eleven years; Grand Crus (2011), Dynaste (2012) and Shan Blue (2020).

David Pipe trained Grands Crus (2011) and Dynaste (2012) who won at 6-5 and 8-13 respectively before a run of seven beaten favourites in this race.

Royal Vacation springing a 33-1 surprise in 2016 while Annacotty was a 12-1 winner in 2013.

Eight of the last eleven winners of the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase had won last time out.

All eleven had raced within the previous six weeks. An official rating of 146 or higher is usually required to win this race.

Annacotty (2013) was the lowest-rated recent winner with a rating of 130 in 2013 while Dynaste (2012) was the highest-rated recent winner on 161.

Kauto Star Novices’ Chase – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Nicky Henderson and Paul Nicholls share the honour of leading trainer in the Kauto Star with five winners each. Henderson first won the race with Sparkling Flame in 1990. His other successes came with Mutare (1991), Fiddling The Facts (1997), Bacchanal (2000) and Long Run (2009).

Paul Nicholls equalled the Henderson tally when Bravemansgame won here in 2021. His previous winners were See More Indians (1993), Strong Flow (2003), Breedsbreeze (2008) and Black Corton, (2017).

Three jockeys currently share the top riding honours with three winners apiece; Richard Dunwoody, Mick Fitzgerald and Tony McCoy.

Popular Questions

What are important facts about Kauto Star Novices’ Chase?

Here are some important facts about Kauto Star Novices’ Chase:

  • The Kauto Star Novices’ Chase is run at Kempton Park, Great Britain
  • The Kauto Star Novices’ Chase is for horses aged 4 plus
  • The Kauto Star Novices’ Chase is a National Hunt Steeplechase in Great Britain
  • The Kauto Star Novices’ Chase distance is about 3 miles

Summary of the Kauto Star Novices Chase

Thank you for reading our Kauto Star Novices’ Chase guide held at Kempton Park racecourse.

We have looked at previous winners of the race (formerly known as the Feltham Novices Chase), history, betting, tips and more, so you can find all the information you need whether you are placing a bet or just watching the race.

There are more races in December that you might enjoy, so make sure you check them out.

Check out our Kempton tips page if you enjoy watching races at Kempton Racecourse.

Boxing Day Horse Racing Information Articles