Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final takes place on the second day of Fairyhouse’s 2024 Easter Festival.

The Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final will run on the 14th of March 2024.

The Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final is a two-and-a-half-mile Grade 1 race for mares aged four years and upwards.

It takes place at Fairyhouse in late March or early April and has been dominated by Trainer Willie Mullins. His most notable winner was Annie Power in 2013 while Henry de Bromhead’s dual Champion Hurdler Honeysuckle won this race in 2019.

In our Fairyhouse Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final guide, we provide all the latest news, betting odds and Fairyhouse Horse Racing Tips from professional tipsters online.

Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final 1

Race Overview – Mares Novice Hurdle Championship

The Irish Stallion Farms Ebf Honeysuckle Mares Novice Hurdle is a Grade 1 national hunt race over the distance of 2m 4½f.

For all Fairyhouse races, our finest racing tipsters give free horse racing tips!

Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners for this race:

2013Annie Power5Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
2014Adriana Des Mottes4Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2015Bitofapuzzle7Noel FehilyHarry Fry
2016Jer’s Girl4Barry GeraghtyGavin Cromwell
2017Augusta Kate6David MullinsWillie Mullins
2018Laurina5Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2019Honeysuckle5Rachael BlackmoreHenry De Bromhead
no race 2020 [b]
2021Skyace6Jody McGarveyJohn Hanlon
2022Brandy Love6Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2023Ashroe Diamond6Paul TownendWillie Mullins

Mares Novice Hurdle 2023 Result

Here is the previous result for the Mares Novice Hurdle.

Famous Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final Winners

The Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final was first run in 1995 with victory going to Michael Hourigan’s Bless Me Sister. The race was awarded Grade 3 status in 2004 and the following year was won by Asian Maze, trained by Thomas Mullins and ridden by Paul Carberry. She also won the Grade 1 Sefton Novices’ Hurdle at the Aintree Grand National meeting. In 2006 she won the Grade 1 Aintree Hurdle.

2013 winner Annie Power went on to win the Champion Hurdle at Cheltenham in 2016. She had been trained as a stayer, winning the Ascot Hurdle in 2013 and the Mares Champion Hurdle over two and a half miles in 2014 and 2015. The World Hurdle was the planned objective in 2016 but an injury to stable companion Faugheen resulted in a change of plans. After being supplemented for the Champion Hurdle, Ruby Walsh sent her straight to the lead to exploit her stamina and she was never headed.

Honeysuckle added her name to the roll of honour in 2019, trained by Henry de Bromhead and ridden by Rachael Blackmore. She won here by 12 lengths and went on to a glittering career, winning the Champion Hurdle in 2021 and 2022 as well as three Irish Champion Hurdles and two David Nicholson Mares’ Hurdles. Connections decided to retire her after her fourth consecutive Cheltenham Festival victory in 2023.

Key Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final Trials

Three of the last eleven winners of this race ran in the Solerina Mares Novice Hurdle at Fairyhouse on their previous start. Two of them had won and the other had been placed. Five of those winners ran in the Mares Hurdle at Cheltenham the following season with only Honeysuckle winning while two opted for the longer Stayers Hurdle with one placing.

Favourites have a very good record in this event with seven winning outright favourites and one successful joint-favourite in the past eleven seasons. The shortest priced winners were the Willie Mullins-trained pair Annie Power (2013) and Laurina (2018), returning at 4-11 and 2-11 respectively. The longest priced winner during that time was Augusta Kate (2017) who won as the 8-1 co-second favourite by defeating odds-on stable companion Let’s Dance. Six-year-olds have the best recent record, winning four of the last six renewals.

Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Willie Mullins leads the training stats here with seven winners; Nobody Told Me (2003), Annie Power (2013), Adriana Des Mottes (2014), Augusta Kate (2017), Laurina (2018), Brandy Love (2022) and Ashroe Diamond (2023). Paul Townend was aboard the last four of those winners and leads the jockey standings.

Betting on the Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final

The Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final has been a great race for favourites and has largely been dominated by Willie Mullins. We can expect more of the same with every chance of this race producing further Cheltenham Festival winners.

Summary of the Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final

Thank you for reading our guide for the Mares Novies Hurdle Championship Final review.

We hope you got everything you needed from this guide, whether you are watching the race or placing a bet.

Here are all the related posts to Fairyhouse’s Easter Festival 2024.