UAE Derby

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The UAE Derby is a group two flat race held on Dubai World Cup Night which is the single richest day of Thoroughbred racing in the world.

UAE Derby race is a 1m 3f thoroughbred horse race held at Meydan Racecourse, Dubai, United Arab Emirates on 25th March 2024.

The UAE Derby currently offers a purse of US$2.5 million.

In 2013, the race receives Kentucky Derby points and is now considered a major preparatory race for the Kentucky Derby.

Meydan’s UAE Derby race is run on the turf for both Northern and Southern Hemisphere three-year-old thoroughbreds.

In our 2024 UAE Derby guide, we provide all the information about the group 1 race over the 1m 3f furlongs trip.

UAE Derby Betting Odds

Here are the betting odds for the UAE Derby race.

  • Cairo – 4/1
  • Worcester – 5/1
  • Goraiko – 11/2
  • Tall Boy – 7/1
  • Dura Erede – 9/1
  • Victoria Road – 10/1

UAE Derby Betting Tips

Here are the betting tips for the 2024 UAE Derby.

  • Cairo to WIN

The best odds on our selection currently are with the following bookmakers who are all offering a free bet promotion:

UAE Derby Previous Winners

Here are the previous winners of the UAE Derby.

2023Derma SotogakeChristophe LemaireHidetaka OtonashiHiroyuki Asanuma1:55.81
2022Crown PrideDamian LaneKoichi ShintaniTeruya Yoshida1:59.76
2021Rebel's RomanceWilliam BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin Racing1:56.28
2020Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2019Plus Que ParfaitJosé OrtizBrendan WalshImperial Racing1:58.41
2018MendelssohnRyan MooreAidan O'BrienDerrick Smith, Susan Magnier & Michael Tabor1:55.19
2017Thunder SnowChristophe SoumillonSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing1:57.76
2016LaniYutaka TakeMikio MatsunagaYoko Maeda1:58.41
2015MubtaahijChristophe SoumillonMike de KockMohammed bin Khalifa Al Maktoum1:58.35
2014Toast of New YorkJamie SpencerJamie OsborneMichael Buckley1:57.92
2013Lines of Battle*Ryan MooreAidan O'BrienMichael Tabor, John Magnier & Derrick Smith2:02.05
2012Daddy Long LegsColm O'DonoghueAidan O'BrienMichael Tabor, John Magnier & Derrick Smith1:58.35
2011KhawlahMickael BarzalonaSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing1:58.83
2010MusirChristophe SoumillonMike de KockMohammed bin Khalifa Al Maktoum1:57.44
2009Regal RansomAlan GarciaSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing1:50.00
2008Honour DevilJohnny MurtaghMike de KockSheikh M. bin Khalifa1:48.60
2007Asiatic BoyWeichong MarwingMike de KockSheikh M. bin Khalifa1:48.82
2006Discreet CatFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing1:48.59
2005Blues and RoyalsKerrin McEvoySaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing1:50.05
2004Lundy's LiabilityWeichong MarwingMike de KockStud TNT & Mary Slack1:50.83
2003Victory MoonWayne SmithMike de KockMad Syndicate2:02.45
2002Essence of DubaiFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing2:02.90
2001Express TourDavid R. FloresSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing1:47.04
2000China VisitRichard HillsSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing1:49.50

UAE Derby Trainer Statistics

Here are the leading horse racing trainers in the UAE Derby:

TrainerR W PWinEW
A P O'Brien10-2-2+1.25-2.45
Saeed bin Suroor10-1-5-6.25-2.95
Charlie Appleby7-1-1+2.00-1.20
M F De Kock6-1-1-2.75-3.65
Koichi Shintani2-1-1+11.00+5.00
Brendan P Walsh1-1-1+25.00+15.00
Mikio Matsunaga1-1-1+12.00+7.50
Jamie Osborne1-1-1+11.00+6.60
Hidetaka Otonashi1-1-1+4.50+2.70
Doug Watson8-0-2-8.00-6.27

UAE Derby Jockey Statistics

Here are the leading horse racing jockeys on UAE Derby:

JockeyR W PWinEW
Ryan Moore8-2-3+3.25+0.27
Christophe Soumillon4-2-2+3.00+0.73
William Buick9-1-1+0.00-3.20
Christophe-Patrice Lemaire5-1-2+0.50-0.80
Yutaka Take2-1-1+11.00+6.50
Jose L Ortiz1-1-1+25.00+15.00
Damian Lane1-1-1+12.00+6.00
Jamie Spencer1-1-1+11.00+6.60
Pat Dobbs6-0-2-6.00-4.27
Mickael Barzalona6-0-2-6.00-4.55


The 2024 UAE Derby is a Group two race that is run over a trip of 1m 3f on the turf course.

Here are all related posts to