Dubai Turf

The Dubai Turf is a group one flat race held on Dubai World Cup Night which is the single richest day of Thoroughbred racing in the world.

Dubai Turf race is a 1m 1f thoroughbred horse race held at Meydan Racecourse, Dubai, United Arab Emirates on 25th March 2023.

Meydan’s Dubai Turf race is run on the turf for thoroughbreds who are four-year-old and above.

The Dubai Duty-Free Stakes name of the race is taken from its sponsor, Dubai Duty Free and when DP World Signs a sponsorship with Meydan Group, the race name was renamed to Dubai Turf.

The G1 Dubai Turf is the second leg of the four-race Asian Mile Challenge.

The Dubai Turf currently offers a purse of US$5 million, which places it and The Dubai Sheema Classic among the richest races on turf in the world.

In our 2023 Dubai Turf guide, we provide all the information about the group 1 race over the 1m 1f furlongs trip.

Dubai Turf Betting Odds

Here are the betting odds for the Dubai Turf race.

  • Serifos – 5/2
  • Do Deuce – 4/1
  • Panthalassa – 9/2
  • Lord North – 5/1
  • Valiant Prince – 7/1
  • Nations Pride – 10/1

Dubai Turf Betting Tips

Here are the betting tips for the 2023 Dubai Turf.

  • Serifos to WIN

The best odds on our selection currently are with the following bookmakers who are all offering a free bet promotion:

Dubai Turf Previous Winners

Here are the previous winners of the Dubai Turf.

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Owner Time
1996Key of Luck5Gary StevensKiaran McLaughlinSaeed bin Maktoum Al Maktoum2:03.77
1997Tamayaz5Frankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing2:02.20
1998Annus Mirabilis6Gary StevensSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing2:04.32
1999Altibr4Richard HillsSaeed bin SuroorHamdan Al Maktoum2:00.79
2000Rhythm Band4Ted DurcanSaeed bin SuroorRashid Al Maktoum1:48.60
2001Jim And Tonic7Gerald MosseFrançois DoumenJohn D. Martin & Roger Barby1:47.83
2002Terre a Terre5Christophe SoumillonEric LibaudMmes H. Devin & B. Ashbrooke1:48.75
2003Ipi Tombe4Kevin SheaMike de KockTeam Valor et al.1:47.61
2004Right Approach (dh)Paolini (dh)57Weichong MarwingEduard PedrozaMike de KockAndreas WöhlerBernard Kantor et al.Carde Ostermann-Richter1:49.36
2005Elvstroem5Nash RawillerTony VasilElvstroem Syndicate1:50.54
2006David Junior4Jamie SpencerBrian J. MeehanRoldvale Ltd & Gold Group Int'l1:49.65
2007Admire Moon4Yutaka TakeHiroyoshi MatsudaRiichi Kondo1:47.94
2008Jay Peg5Anton MarcusHerman BrownM. Shirtliff et al.1:46:20
2009Gladiatorus4Ahmed AjtebiMubarak bin ShafyaMansoor Al Maktoum1:46.92
2010Al Shemali6Royston FfrenchAli Rashid Al RaiheMansoor Al Maktoum1:50.84
2011Presvis7Ryan MooreLuca CumaniLeonidas Marinopoulous1:50.21
2012Cityscape6James DoyleRoger CharltonKhalid Abdullah1:48.65
2013Sajjhaa6Silvestre de SousaSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin1:47.93
2014Just A Way5Yuichi FukunagaNaosuke SugaiAkatsuki Yamatoya1:45.52
2015Solow5Maxime GuyonFreddy HeadWertheimer et Frère1:47.76
2016Real Steel4Ryan MooreYoshito YahagiSunday Racing Co Ltd1:47.13
2017Vivlos4João MoreiraYasuo TomomichiKazuhiro Sasaki1:50.20
2018Benbatl4Oisin MurphySaeed Bin SuroorGodolphin1:46.08
2019Almond Eye4Christophe LemaireSakae KuniedaSilk Racing1:46.78
2021Lord North5Frankie DettoriJohn GosdenZayed bin Mohammed1:46.46
2022Lord North (dh)Panthalassa (dh)65Frankie DettoriYutaka YoshidaJohn & Thady GosdenYoshito YahagiZayed bin MohammedHiroo Race Co Ltd1:45.77
2023Lord North7Frankie DettoriJohn & Thady GosdenZayed bin Mohammed1:47.39

Dubai Turf Trainer Statistics

Here are the leading horse racing trainers in the Dubai Turf:

Saeed bin Suroor14-2-2-1.00-5.40
Yoshito Yahagi3-2-3+15.00+10.10
John & Thady Gosden3-2-2+7.33+4.00
John Gosden4-1-1-1.62-2.17
Yasuo Tomomichi3-1-3+12.00+10.60
Naosuke Sugai1-1-1+3.00+1.80
F Head1-1-1+2.25+1.35
Sakae Kunieda1-1-1+1.20+0.72
M F De Kock11-0-2-11.00-8.50
A P O'Brien7-0-0-7.00-7.00

Dubai Turf Jockey Statistics

Here are the leading horse racing jockeys on Dubai’s Turf:

Frankie Dettori8-3-5+4.71+5.73
Ryan Moore8-1-3+1.00-0.45
Joao Moreira6-1-2+9.00+4.70
Oisin Murphy6-1-2-1.00+1.20
Silvestre De Sousa5-1-1+3.00+0.20
Maxime Guyon4-1-2-0.75-0.45
Christophe-Patrice Lemaire3-1-2-0.80+1.22
Yutaka Yoshida1-1-1+8.00+4.80
Yuichi Fukunaga1-1-1+3.00+1.80
Christophe Soumillon8-0-2-8.00-5.50


The 2023 Dubai Turf is a Group one race that is run over a trip of 1m 1f on the turf course.

Here are all related posts to

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.