Albany Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Albany Stakes is a Group 3 race for two-year-old fillies over six furlongs at Royal Ascot. It is currently the opening race on day 4 of the meeting.

The Albany Stakes has been won by some smart fillies in the past, notably Samitar (2011), Kiyoshi (2013), Cursory Glance (2014) and Brave Anna (2016).

Find out more about the Albany Stakes:

Albany Stakes

Race Overview – The Albany Stakes

The Albany Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse race for two-year-old fillies, it is run every year in June, at Ascot over a distance of 6 furlongs.

It has been won by some high-class fillies over the years and has produced some amazing finishes.

Albany Stakes 2024 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Albany Stakes in June 2024:

These odds have not yet been released.

Albany Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Albany Stakes in June 2024:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Some of the horses in the Albany Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them later in the season.

For all Ascot events, our best horse racing tipsters offer free racing tips!

For more tips on races at Ascot, take a look at our guide.

Albany Stakes Previous Winners

Take a look at the previous winners from the Albany Stakes:

2013KiyoshiJamie SpencerCharles Hills
2014Cursory GlanceAndrea AtzeniRoger Varian
2015IlluminateRichard HughesRichard Hannon Jr.
2016Brave AnnaSeamie HeffernanAidan O’Brien
2017Different LeagueAntoine HamelinMatthieu Palussiere
2018Main EditionJames DoyleMark Johnston
2019DaahyehDavid EganRoger Varian
2020DandallaBen CurtisKarl Burke
2021SandrineDavid ProbertAndrew Balding
2022MeditateRyan MooreAidan O’Brien
2023Porta FortunaFrankie DettoriDonnacha O’Brien

Albany Stakes Previous Result

Check out the latest result on the Ascot Racing Track:

Check out more Ascot Results if you enjoyed this one!

Famous Albany Stakes Winners

The Albany Stakes was introduced in 2002 as the Henry Carnarvon Stakes and was classed as a Listed race.

The inaugural running was won by Duty Paid, trained by David Elsworth and ridden by Richard Quinn. The name was changed the following season and the race was promoted to Group 3 status in 2005.

The 2006 renewal was won by Sander Camilio, trained by Jeremy Noseda and ridden by Frankie Dettori. She followed up with a brilliant five lengths victory in the Group 2 Cherry Hinton Stakes at Newmarket in July. Sander Camilio did not reappear until the Nell Gwyn Stakes the following April where she was sent off the 4-7 favourite. She weakened close home and was beaten a neck by Scarlet Runner and was retired after failing to reproduce her best form in three subsequent races.

2011 winner Samitar was trained by Mick Channon and ridden by Jamie Spencer. She was narrowly beaten in the Tattersalls Millions next time before being placed in the May Hill Stakes at Doncaster and the Group 1 Fillies’ Mile at Newmarket. Beaten only a head by Lyric of Light, she gained handsome consolation in the £300,000 Tattersalls Millions 2-y-o fillies’ trophy on her final start as a juvenile.

Samitar was well beaten in the French Guineas but bounced back to win the Irish 1000 Guineas in 2012. She continued her racing career for Chad Brown in America, gaining her biggest victory in the Grade 1 Garden Filly Stakes at Belmont Park.

The 2013 Albany Stakes was won in eye-catching style by Kiyoshi, trained by Charles Hills. She stormed clear, despite hanging badly to her right in the final stages. She finished third in the Moyglare Stud Stakes and the Cheveley Park Stakes, leaving her not far behind the best juvenile fillies in Europe. She never quite returned to her brilliant best as a three-year-old, although she did win the Group 3 Sceptre Stakes at Doncaster.

Brave Anna sprang a 16-1 surprise in this race for Aidan O’Brien in 2016 when beating Bletchley by a short-head. Punters preferred the claims of stable companion Cuff who could finish no closer than fifth. It was a similar story in the Group 1 Cheveley Park Stakes in September. This time she drifted out to 25-1 but denied another O’Brien runner in Roly Poly by a short-head.

Key Albany Stakes Trials

There are no clearly established trials for the Albany Stakes, although 11 of the last 12 winners had been successful last time out.

Speedy juvenile fillies usually target the five-furlong Queen Mary Stakes at Ascot so those chosen to run here have more potential to stay a mile later in the season.

Half of the last dozen Albany Stakes winners have gone on to contest the Cherry Hinton Stakes (now the Duchess of Cambridge Stakes) at Newmarket’s July Festival. Four of them were successful; Memory (2010), Illuminate (2015), Dandalla (2020) and Sandrine (2021). The same number went on to run in the Cheveley Park Stakes but only Brave Anna (2016) won that Group 1 race.

There have only been three successful favourites in the Albany Stakes in the last twelve seasons; Newfangled at 7-4 (2012), Illuminate at 4-1 (2015) and Daahyeh at the same price (2019). Only a further two winners were in the first three in the betting.

The longest priced winner during that period was Different League (2017) at 20-1 for Matthieu Palussiere and Antoine Hamelin. Samitar (2011), Brave Anna (2016) and Sandrine (2021) all returned at 16-1.

One eye-catching statistic is that 11 of the 12 were drawn in stall 12 or higher. The only horse drawn low to finish first was Sandrine.

All but one of them had at least one previous victory and nine of them had winning form over six furlongs.

Albany Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

The leading trainer in the history in the short history of the Albany Stakes is Mick Channon. He won three of the first ten renewals with Silca’s Gift (2003), Nijoom Dubai (2007) and Samitar (2011).

Jeremy Noseda won it in consecutive seasons with La Chunga (2005) and Sander Camilio (2006) and Richard Hannon was successful with Jewel In The Sand (2004) and Memory (2010).

In more recent seasons, Roger Varian saddled Cursory Glance (2014) and Daahyeh (2019).

Top jockey honours in this race rest with Jamie Spencer who has won it four times. He struck for the first time with La Chunga (2005) followed by victories on the Mick Channon duo Nijoom Dubai (2007) and Samitar (2011). His most recent success came aboard Kiyoshi (2013).

Richard Hughes won it three times aboard Jewel In The Sand (2004), Memory (2010) and Illuminate (2015).

Betting on the Albany Stakes

The Albany Stakes has proved tricky for punters with only three successful favourites in recent years.

Statistics suggest that a middle to high draw has a clear advantage in this race.

The winner could be worth following, certainly if aimed at the Duchess of Cambridge Stakes at the Newmarket July Festival.

Popular Questions

How long is the Albany Stakes?

The Albany Stakes is 6 furlongs long.

Where is the Albany Stakes held?

The Albany Stakes is held at Ascot Racecourse.

Summary of Albany Stakes

The Albany Stakes at Royal Ascot is a high-class fillies race often won by a decent filly.

Winners have gone on to have further success later in the season, typically the Cherry Hinton Stakes.

It is one of our favourite races of the Royal Ascot festival.

The Albany Stakes takes place on the same day as the following races listed below:

2024 Royal Ascot Festival Posts

Here are all the related articles to the Royal Ascot Festival 2024:

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.