Duke of York Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Duke of York Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds and upwards over six furlongs.

The Duke of York Stakes is run on the 15th of May 2024.

The race is a significant trial for the Diamond Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot and other top sprints.

Notable past winners include Handsome Sailor (1987, 1988), Lake Coniston (1995), Society Rock (2013) and Starman (2021).

Find out more about the Duke of York Stakes:

Duke of York Stakes

Overview – The Duke of York Stakes

The Duke of York Stakes is a Group 2 flat horse race that takes place in the United Kingdom and is open to horses aged three and up.

It is held at York in May and is run over a distance of six furlongs.

Duke of York Stakes 2024 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Duke of York Stakes in May 2024:

Duke of York Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Duke of York Stakes in May 2024:

The horses found in the Duke of York Stakes may be spotted in more races throughout the year. Keep your eyes on the horses to watch how they perform or place your bets on ante-post betting.

Here is a full list of tips at York Racecourse today from good shrewd punters who study essential information like the York Draw Bias.

Our group of horse race tipsters delivers free daily betting tips for all of today’s horse racing events.

Duke of York Stakes Previous Winners

2013Society Rock6Kieren FallonJames Fanshawe
2014Maarek7Declan McDonoghEvanna McCutcheon
2015Glass Office5Jim CrowleyDavid Simcock
2016Magical Memory4Frankie DettoriCharlie Hills
2017Tasleet4Jim CrowleyWilliam Haggas
2018Harry Angel4Adam KirbyClive Cox
2019Invincible Army4P. J. McDonaldJames Tate
no race 2020 [a]
2021Starman4Oisin MurphyEd Walker
2022Highfield Princess5Jason HartJohn Quinn
2023Azure Blue4Paul MulrennanMichael Dods

Famous Duke Of York Stakes Winners

The original Duke Of York Stakes dates back to 1895, a middle-distance event for three-year-olds. A sprint handicap race of the same title was established in 1950 with the title switched to a conditions race in 1968. It was awarded Group 3 status in 1971 and upgraded to Group 2 in 2003.

Leading owner Robert Sangster enjoyed great success in this race in the 70’s and 80’s. He won it with Noble Mark (1974), Thatching (1979), Flash n’ Thunder (1980), Jester (1982) and Handsome Sailor (1987 and 1988). The latter remains the only dual winner in the history of the Duke of York Stakes.

This race regularly features on the schedule of potential champion sprinters. The likes of Hamas (1993), Owington (1994) and Lake Coniston (1995) all went on to win at Group 1 level.

The high level of winners on the roll of honour has been maintained in recent years. Society Rock (2013) had previously won the Haydock Sprint Cup (2012) and the Golden Jubilee Stakes (2011). 2021 winner Starman went on to win the July Cup at Newmarket, a race which is high on the list of targets for Duke of York winners.

Key Duke Of York Stakes Trials

Three of the last eleven winners ran in the Champion Sprint Stakes at Ascot on their last start of the previous campaign. This is often the first start of the campaign for horses being aimed at Royal Ascot.

Seven of the last eleven winners ran in the Diamond/Platinum Jubilee Stakes at Ascot on their next start.

None of them won and only two were place.

Tiddliwinks (2012) won the Greenlands Stakes at the Curragh next time while Starman (2021) won the July Cup at Newmarket.

Three favourites and one joint-favourite have won this race in the last eleven renewals.

Delegator (2011), Magical Memory (2016) and Harry Angel (2018) were outright favourites while Invincible Army (2019) started joint-favourite.

There have also been a couple of major shocks in recent seasons. Tiddliwinks (2012) won at 25-1 and Glass Office (2015) sprang a 40-1 surprise for David Simcock and Jim Crowley.

Four-year-olds have the best recent record, winning five of the last six renewals.

Duke Of York Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Barry Hills is the leading trainer in the history of the Duke Of York Stakes with seven victories; Noble Mark (1974), Flash n’ Thunder (1980), Jester (1982), Handsome Sailor (1987, 1988), Royal Applause (1997), Prime Defender (2010).

Three jockeys share the honours as leading rider with four winners apiece; Lester Piggott, Steve Cauthen and Michael Hills.

Betting on the Duke Of York Stakes

The Duke Of York Stakes has an impressive roll of honour and is one of the top sprint races in the early part of the season.

It often provides clues to races at the Royal Ascot and Newmarket summer festivals, although it can also produce the odd upset.

Duke of York Stakes Previous Result

Popular Questions

What distance is the Duke of York Stakes?

The Duke of York Stakes is 6 furlongs long.

Where is the Duke of York Stakes run?

The Duke of York Stakes is run at York Racecourse.

Summary of Duke of York Stakes

Thank you for reading our Duke of York Stakes guide.

The Duke of York Stakes is now raced on the opening day of York’s 3-day Dante Festival meeting. It is held the day before the Dante Stakes.

It is one of the top sprints of this season and often works as a good pointer to top-class races later in the year.

Make sure you take a look at the Dante Festival Free Bets if you want to bet on the 2024 York Festival.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 2 horse races.

Here are all the related posts for the 2024 York Dante Festival.